Washington, DC Genealogy Fair

Webcast Instructions
National Archives Virtual Genealogy Fair

September 3 & 4, 2013

The National Archives will make this event available via webcast on UStream. The webcast includes closed captioning and an American Sign Language Interpreter.

Webcast will run:

Tuesday, September 3

10 a.m.-4 p.m. Eastern

  9 a.m.-3 p.m. Central

  8 a.m.-2 p.m. Mountain

  7 a.m.-1 p.m. Pacific

Wednesday, September 4

10 a.m.-5 p.m. Eastern

  9 a.m.-4 p.m. Central

  8 a.m.-3 p.m. Mountain

  7 a.m.-2 p.m. Pacific


UStream Video Viewing

To open the video, go to:  http://www.ustream.tv/usnationalarchives

Example of UStream Video Screen:
UStream screenshot
NOTE:  Google Chrome is the preferred web browser to use.
System requirements for Chrome.

UStream Chat

We recommend that you take these steps before the event if you plan to ask questions.

  1. Set up a (free) account on ustream.tv
    To open an account, go to:  www.ustream.tv/new

  2. Join the webcast
    1. Go to:  www.ustream.tv/usnationalarchives
    2. Log in to your UStream account
    3. Click on the "join crowd" button
    4. Click "Check-in & chat" button. Click "skip" option.
    5. Within a few seconds, you should be able to hear and see the webcast. If you log in early, you will see a black screen with the words "off air" under the screen.
  3. Ask questions during the webcast
    To ask a question during the webcast, enter your question in the text box under the "social stream" tab. It would be helpful if you prefaced your question with your name in parenthesis. Staff will monitor the questions, and will read them aloud for the presenters to answer during the event.

Twitter Chat

We will also monitor questions from Twitter. If you would like to ask a question or make a comment through Twitter, please use the #genfair2013 hashtag. If we are experiencing any technical difficulties, we will put an announcement on the Virtual Genealogy Fair twitter feed (www.twitter.com/genfair2013).

Viewing Recommendations

Many factors (including permissions, bandwidth, hardware, software, etc.) can impact whether you will be able to view the webcast. As the majority of these factors are beyond our control, we will not be able to provide technical support.

If your computer blocks ustream.tv, you may wish to work with your computer support before the event to unblock the channel for this webcast. Or, you may wish to make arrangements to view the webcast from an alternate computer or site.

Washington, DC Genealogy Fair >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.