The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)

Appendix D. Bibliography

Table of Contents


The books listed below have been selected to provide historical and procedural background that may be helpful to researchers using the records of Congress. They include general histories of Congress and of the House of Representatives, histories of the growth of the committee system, and discussions of the development of the procedures, rules, and precedents that govern the House or the Congress.

Since this Guide was published in 1988 there has been a substantial increase in scholarly research on legislative subjects, and a corresponding increase in the published research materials available. Numerous books, journal articles, and two specialized encyclopedias on the subject have been published. The Encyclopedia of the United States Congress, edited by Bacon, Davidson and Keller, (Simon and Schuster, New York, 1995), and The Encyclopedia of the American Legislative System, edited by Joel Sibley, (Charles Scribner's Sons, New York, 1994) contain hundreds of essays on legislative subjects by the most qualified scholars in the field.

Perhaps the most basic legislative studies research tool for all levels of student is Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress, 5th edition, (CQ Press, Washington, DC, 2000) which provides a broad discussion of the history, powers, procedures, and other information about Congress and its members. It also has an excellent up to date bibliography.

1. Alexander, DeAlva. History and Procedures of the House of Representatives. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1938.

2. Bates, Ernest S. The Story of Congress, 1789-1935. New York: Harper & Brothers Publishers, 1936.

3. Chiu, Chang-Wei. The Speaker of the House of Representatives Since 1896. New York: Columbia University Press, 1928.

4. Congressional Quarterly, Inc. Origins and Development of Congress, 2d edition. Washington: Congressional Quarterly, Inc., 1982.

5. Lowenberg, Gerhard, Samuel C. Patterson, and Malcolm E. Jewell, eds. Handbook of Legislative Research. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1985.

6. Cooper, Joseph. The Origins of the Standing Committees and the Development of the Modern House. Rice University Studies, Vol. 56, No. 3. Houston: Rice University Press, 1970.

7. Currie, James T. The United States House of Representatives. Malabar, Fl: Robert E. Krieger Publishing Co., 1988.

8. Follett, Mary P. The Speaker of the House of Representatives. New York: Longmans, Green, 1896; reprint ed., New York: Burt Franklin Reprints, 1974.

9. Galloway, George B. History of the House of Representatives. Revised ed. by Sidney Wise. New York: Thomas Y. Crowell Co., 1976.

10. Galloway, George B. The Legislative Process in Congress. New York: Thomas Y. Crowell Co., 1953.

11. Galloway, George B. Congress at the Crossroads. New York: Thomas Y. Crowell Co., 1946.

12. Harlow, Ralph V. The History of Legislative Methods in the Period Before 1825. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1917.

13. Josephy, Alvin M. On the Hill: A History of the American Congress. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1980.

14. Luce, Robert. Legislative Procedure: Parliamentary Practices and the Course of Business in the Framing of Statutes. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1922; reprint, New York: Da Capo Press, 1972.

15. McConachie, Lauros G. Congressional Committees: A Study of the Origins and Development of Our National and Local Legislative Methods. New York: Crowell, 1898; reprint New York: Burt Franklin Reprints, 1973.

16. MacNeil, Neil. The Forge of Democracy: The House of Representatives. New York: David McKay Co., 1963.

17. Oleszek, Walter J. Congressional Procedures and the Policy Process. Washington: CQ Press, 1996.

18. Riddick, Floyd M. The United States Congress: Organization and Procedure. Manassas, Va: National Capitol Publishers, 1949.

19. Sill, Ted and Alan Weil. Ruling Congress: How the House and Senate Rules Govern the Legislative Process. New York: Grossman, 1975.

20. Sundquist, James L. The Decline and Resurgence of Congress. Washington: Brookings Institution, 1981.

21. U.S. Congress, House, Select Committee on Committees. Monographs on the Committees of the House of Representatives. Committee Print (93d Cong., 2d sess., 1974). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1974.

22. Wilson, Woodrow. Congressional Government. 1885; reprint Baltimore: The Johns Hopkins University Press, 1981.

23. Young, James S. The Washington Community, 1800-1828. New York: Columbia University Press, 1966.

24. Goehlert, Robert U. and John R. Sayre, The United States Congress: A Bibliography. New York: The Free Press, 1982.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

 

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.