The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 11. Records of the Government Operations Committee and Its Predecessors



Table of Contents

Records of the Government Operations Committee and Its Predecessors, 1814-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committees discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on Expenditures in the Navy Department (1816-1927)

11.33 The earliest records of this committee are from the 16th Congress (1819-21).

Records of the Committee on Expenditures in the Navy Department, 14th-69th Congresses (1816-1927)

Record TypeVolumeDates (Congresses)
Minute Books3 volumes1891-93 (52nd), 1907-11 (60th-61st)
Docket Books1 volume1907-09 (60th)
Petitions and Memorials1 inch1865-67 (39th)
Committee Papers1 foot1819-21 (16th), 1829-35 (21st-23d), 1943-45 (28th), 1959-61 (36th), 1875-77 (44th), 1887-89 (50th), 1893-95 (53rd), 1907-09 (60th), 1919-21 (66th)
Total volume1 foot and 4 volumes (4 in.) 
Committee Records Summary Table

11.34 Few petitions and memorials exist for this committee. One that has been preserved is a January 1867 petition by employees of the Washington Navy Yard requesting an increase their pay (39A-H9.1).

11.35 Most of the committee papers concern accounting for the contingency expenditures in the Navy Department; investigating contracting practices (28A-D8.1, 36A-D7.1, 44A-F11.1); and reviewing pay and allowances (16A-D7.1, 66A-F12.2). Records relating to President Theodore Roosevelt's communication to Congress of February 25, 1909, concerning the needs of the Navy are included in this series (60A-F16.1).

Table of Contents


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.