The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 12. Records of the Administration Committee and Its Predecessors



Table of Contents

Records of the House Administration Committee and Its Predecessors from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committees discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on Memorials (1929-1946)

History and Jurisdiction

12.42 The Committee on Memorials was established to make arrangements for the observance of a memorial day by the House of Representatives in memory of the Members of the House and Senate who had died during the preceding session, and to arrange for the publication of the proceedings thereof. Before the establishment of the committee it was the custom to hold a separate memorial service in honor of each Member who died during the session or the recess preceding it.

12.43 The records generated by the committee consist of printed collections of memorial messages in the Congressional Serial Set.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.