The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 14. Records of the Judiciary Committee and Related Committees



Table of Contents

Records of the Judiciary Committee and Related Committees from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee Records discussed in this chapter:
Committee on Revisal and Unfinished Business (1795-1868)

Jurisdiction and History

14.33 The Committee on Revisal and Unfinished Business monitored the business of Congress during its early years when unfinished business was terminated at the end of each session, and it recommended procedures to accomplish the work of Congress leaving as little unfinished business as possible. The committee continued to exist long after its function had become obsolete. In 1868 the duties relating to revision of laws were transferred to the Committee on Revision of Laws, where they remained until that committee was incorporated into the Judiciary Committee in 1947. In 1975 the House Office of the Law Revision Counsel was created to work in close cooperation with the Judiciary Committee.

Records of the Committee on Revisal and Unfinished Business, 4th-40th Congresses (1795-1868)

Record TypeVolumeCongresses (Dates)
Petitions and Memorials<1 in.26th (1839-41)
Committee Papers<1 in.17th (1821-23), 26th (1839-41)
TOTAL:<2 in. 

14.34 The committee papers contain two manuscript reports (17A- C24) listing the business remaining at the end of the 1st and 2d sessions of the 17th Congress, and a report from the 2d session of the 26th Congress (1839-41) that comments on the usefulness of extending the session in order to finish certain business (26A-D24). The petitions and memorials contain a petition from "old soldiers and soldiers wives and children," complaining that their claims have not been acted upon for several sessions of Congress and asking that the present session of Congress be extended a few days to deal with claims (26A- G20.1).

Related Records

14.35 Related records are filed as committee papers of Select Committees on the Business of the House of Representatives between 1809 and 1825 (11A-C9.1, 12A-C11.1, 13A-D15.1, 14A-C17.1, 15A-D16.1, 18A-C20.2). The records of several of these select committees include documents of joint committee, such as an April 9, 1816, report from the "Joint Committee appointed to inquire into the Expediency of certain alterations of the mode of transacting the business of Congress" (14A-C17.1).


Table of Contents


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.