The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 17. Records of the Public Works Committees



Table of Contents

Records of the Committees Relating to Public Works (1815-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter.
Records of the Committee on the Mississippi Levees (1875-77)

History and Jurisdiction

17.16 The committee was established during the 44th Congress on December 10, 1875, at the prompting of Representative Randall Gibson of Louisiana, to inquire into building and repairing levees on the Mississippi River. On November 7, 1877, the committee's name was changed to the Committee on Levees and Improvements of the Mississippi River.

Records of the Committee on the Mississippi Levees, 44th Congress (1875-77)

Record TypeVolumeCongresses (Dates)
Docket Books1 vol.44th (1876-77)
Committee Papers<1 in.44th (1876)
TOTAL:<1 in. and 1 vol. (1 in.) 
Committee Records Summary Table

17.17 Very few records of the committee survive. The single docket book contains only six brief entries between January, 1876 and February, 1877. A slender envelope of committee papers (44A-F22.1) includes an 1876 resolution of the Louisiana General Assembly favoring construction of levees on the Mississippi and an 1876 House resolution to authorize a trip by a subcommittee to inspect the levees on the Mississippi with the stipulation that the trip would not be at public expense.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.