The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 17. Records of the Public Works Committees



Table of Contents

Records of the Committees Relating to Public Works (1815-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter.
Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure (1995-)
Committee on Public Works and Transportation (1974-94)
Committee on Public Works (1969-74)

17.76 The records of the Committee on Public Works and Transportation generally consist of records retired by the full committee. The bulk of these records is usually divided between bill files and executive communications, but also includes the petitions and memorials and Presidential Messages that were referred to the committee; copies of printed committee hearings, reports, and prints; and small correspondence files. Minutes of full committee and subcommittee meetings, and transcripts of executive session meetings and hearings are sometimes retired with the other records at the end of each Congraess, but a large collection (minutes from 1951-72, and executive transcripts from 1965-72) were retired as a distinct series in the records of the 92d Congress.

17.77 Survey Resolution files for the period from 1947 through 1980 (18 ft.) are included in the 95th Congress committee records. Survey Resolution files were generated by the Subcommittee on Rivers and Harbors, the Subcommittee on Flood Control, and, more recently, the Subcommittee on Water Resources, in response to resolutions to study the feasibility of public works project proposals that are usually prepared by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

This Web version is updated from time to time to include records processed since 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.