The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 22. Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives



Table of Contents

Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives (1789-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter:
Records of Select and Special Committees and Commissions of the House, 91st-100th Congresses (1969-1988)

22.209 The National Archives holds records for the select and special committees and commissions listed below. Like the recent records of the standing committees, the measurements of these records are tentative because more records from these committees may eventually be retired, and non-record material may be removed from the records that are now in the custody of the National Archives.

Name of Committee or CommissionVolumeCongresses
Select Committee on Small Business5 ft.91st-92d
Select Committee on Crime3 ft.91st-92d
Select Committee on the House Restaurant1 in.91st
Special Comm. to Invest. Campaign Expenditures14 ft.92d
Select Committee on Committees25 ft. 93d
Ad Hoc Committee on the Outer Continental Shelf84 ft.94th-95th
Select Committee on the Outer Continental Shelf30 ft.96th
Select Committee on Aging165 ft.94th-99th
Committee on Missing Persons in South East Asia9 ft.94th
Select Committee on Professional Sports13 ft.94th
House Commission on Information and Facilities20 ft.94th
Commission on Administrative Review16 ft.94th
Select Committee on Assassinations419 ft.95th
Select Committee on Narcotics Abuse and Control21 ft.95th-96th
Ad Hoc Committee on Energy4 ft.95th
Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence5 ft.95th-99th
Select Committee on Congressional Operations17 ft.95th-96th
Select Committee on Population52 ft.95th-96th
Select Committee on Committees16 ft.96th
Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe6 ft.97th
Select Committee on Hunger9 ft.98th-99th
Commission on Congressional Mailing Standards9 ft.98th
Select Committee on Iran Contra156 ft.100th
TOTAL:1,098 ft. 
Committee Records Summary Table

Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.