The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 22. Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives



Table of Contents

Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives (1789-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter:

Select Committee on Export Control (1961-62)

Select Committee on:VolumeCongress (dates)
Export Control 5 feet87th (1961-62)

22.191 The Export Control Act of 1949 (Public Law 86-464) declared it to be U.S. policy to use export controls to protect the domestic economy from scarcity and inflation, to further U.S. foreign policy, and to protect national security. Concern over the large number of licenses granted for exporting goods to Communist countries prompted the House, on September 7, 1961, to establish the Select Committee on Export Control to inquire into the administration, operation, and enforcement of the Export Control Act of 1949 and related acts.

22.192 As a result of its study, the select committee declared that it had "found glaring instances where we have economically strengthened countries in the Soviet bloc" and offered suggestions and recommendations to tighten the export control program (H. Rept. 1753, 87th Cong., 2d sess., Serial 12430).

22.193 Records of the committee include correspondence regarding the administration of the committee, correspondence with Federal departments, transcripts of hearings, memorandums, mailing lists, speeches, press releases, and vouchers. Copies of the committee report and legislative material on the Export Control Act of 1949 also are included.

Return to Select Committees List


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.