The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 22. Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives



Table of Contents

Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives (1789-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter:

Select Committee on Government Research (1963-65)

Select Committee on:VolumeCongress (dates)
Government Research46 feet88th (1963-64)

22.194 By FY 1965, the Federal Government was spending approximately $15 billion annually on research and development, a sum accounting for over 15 percent of the total Federal budget. The authorizations and appropriations for the research and development programs had fallen under the jurisdiction of a number of standing committees, which led to the perceived need for an overview of the interrelations of the research and development programs of the various Federal departments and agencies. On September 11, 1963, the House authorized a select committee to undertake the task. Carl Elliott of Alabama served as chairman for the committee, which was known as the Select Committee on Government Research (88 GR).

22.195 The committee began its work by establishing working relationships with the 9 Federal departments and 12 agencies that conducted research and development. In addition, the committee established a group of specialists from education, industry, and government to serve as a general advisory committee. The committee held hearings from November 1963 to January 1964 at which 55 scientists and administrators testified and 25 others submitted written statements. The committee then prepared studies of 10 specific aspects of the topic, including grants administration, manpower, Federal facilities, documentation and dissemination of results, student assistance, program impact, contract policies and procedures, interagency coordination, and national goals and priorities. To accomplish this task, the committee sent questionnaires and forms to the appropriate governmental and nongovernmental entities and established an advisory panel for each of the studies.

22.196 Records of the committee include minutes, correspondence, memorandums, papers of the general advisory committee, transcripts of hearings, press releases, and personnel and other administrative records. Also included are computer punch cards and printouts, copies of committee publications, and numerous pamphlets regarding commercial and governmental activities. There are memorandums, correspondence, printed materials, trip reports, and notes relating to committee field trips. Records regarding Federal departments and agencies include annual reports and other publications, memorandums of meetings, newspaper clippings, correspondence, prepared statements offered by governmental officials at committee hearings, and work papers. There is extensive material collected during the various studies undertaken by the committee.

Return to Select Committees List


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.