The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 22. Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives



Table of Contents

Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives (1789-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter:

Select Committee to Investigate Educational, Training, and Loan Guaranty Programs under the G.I. Bill (1950-52)

Select Committee to:VolumeCongress (dates)
Investigate Education, Training and Loan Guaranty Programs Under the G.I. Bill25 feet81st-82d (1950-52)

22.163 As World War II drew to a close, Congress recognized the need to establish benefit programs for the Nation's returning veterans. The Vocational Rehabilitation Act of 1943 (Public Law 78-16) instituted a rehabilitation program for disabled veterans. In the following year, on June 22, 1944, the Servicemen's Readjustment Act became law (Public Law 78-346). The 1944 Act, frequently referred to as the G.I. Bill of Rights, or simply the G.I. Bill, provided, among other things, for guaranteed loans to veterans and for payment of educational and living expenses to veterans who wished to pursue educational and vocational training goals.

22.164 Participation in the veterans programs was overwhelming, but both veterans and educational institutions quickly criticized management of the educational program by the Veterans Administration (VA), charging ineptitude, waste, abuse, and even corruption. In response to these allegations, in August 1950, the House established the Select Committee to Investigate the Educational and Training Programs Under the G.I. Bill. Olin E. Teague of Texas was appointed chairman.

22.165 The select committee's initial investigations considered the management of the education and training program, policies regarding the issuance of supplies to the students and trainees, contract procedures concerning educational institutions, and the on-the-job training program. When the committee was revived in 1951 at the beginning of the 82d Congress, its powers were increased to include an investigation of the loan guaranty program, and the committee title was expanded to reflect the change. The committee held hearings between December 1950 and June 1952 in California, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, and the District of Columbia. It presented its findings to the House in two reports before concluding its work in September 1952.

22.166 Records of the committee include documents concerning the committee's organization and operation, as well as reference service reports from the Legislative Reference Service of the Library of Congress. Among the records are reports received from the State and territorial agencies discussing their programs to approve schools for participation in the G.I. Bill programs and from insurance companies and agencies regarding their on-the-job training programs. Other records include replies to a letter sent by the committee to each VA regional office for the purpose of compiling a list of VA personnel involved in irregularities connected with the education program.

22.167 Correspondence, investigative reports, staff memorandums, and newspaper clippings are available concerning committee hearings on several subjects. These include the operations of Pennsylvania's Department of Public Instruction in approving schools to participate in the G.I. Bill programs, abuses in administration of the loan guaranty program by the San Diego regional office, the General Accounting Office survey of the education and training program, and payments to the University of Maryland under the Servicemen's Readjustment Act. Staff memorandums, correspondence, affidavits, photographs and other exhibits received by the committee, and informational materials document the committee's investigations of the Tri-State Training Institute of Wheeling, WV; housing bought by veterans in the Washington metropolitan area; private trade schools in Tennessee; and VA policies and practices for furnishing educational supplies and equipment to students.

22.168 There are case files relating to 258 unnamed educational institutions mentioned in Appendix D of a 1950 VA report to the Senate Committee on Labor and Public Welfare. The appendix had detailed the types of problems that existed between the VA and educational institutions, outlining cases involving the 258 schools. The select committee obtained the names of the schools and undertook a study of all the charges against them.

22.169 There is a finding aid to the records of the committee.

Return to Select Committees List


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.