The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 22. Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives



Table of Contents

Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives (1789-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter:

Select Committee to Investigate the Seizure of Montgomery Ward and Company (1944)

Select Committee to Investigate:VolumeCongress (dates)
Seizure of Montgomery Ward & Co. 1 foot78th Congress (1944)

22.122 On April 26, 1944, the United States Government seized the Chicago properties of Montgomery Ward and Company under an Executive order issued because the corporation refused to abide by a National War Labor Board order extending a union contract with the firm. Montgomery Ward challenged the Government's authority to take this action; Sewell Avery, chief executive officer, refused to cooperate or to leave his offices and was subsequently carried from the building by two soldiers. On May 5, 1944, the House established the Select Committee to Investigate the Seizure of Montgomery Ward and Company. The committee held hearings in May and June and submitted its report on September 19, 1944.

22.123 Records of the committee include correspondence, minutes, briefing materials, and committee vouchers, as well as material received from the National War Labor Board including press releases, reports, and rules of organization and procedure. Printed materials among the records include newspaper clippings, magazine articles, and copies of the committee's report and printed hearings.

Return to Select Committees List


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.