The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 22. Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives



Table of Contents

Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives (1789-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter:

Special Committee on Postwar Economic Policy and Planning (1944-46)

Select Committee on:VolumeCongress (dates)
Post War Economic Policy & Planning1 foot78th-79th (1944-46)

22.116 As World War II began drawing to a close, concern grew that the United States would experience severe unemployment during the reconversion period. On January 26, 1944, the House created the Special Committee on Postwar Economic Policy and Planning to undertake a comprehensive study to assist Congress in formulating a postwar economic policy that would ease the transition to a peacetime economy. Working through seven subcommittees, the committee held extensive hearings and conducted studies on various phases of the economy. It issued 10 reports on specific subjects in addition to the final report of December 12, 1946 (H. Rept. 2729, 79th Cong., 2d sess., Serial 11026).

22.117 Records include reports, printed hearings, exhibits, reports on certain Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) conferences with private groups, and a number of prospectuses submitted by corporations to the SEC.

Return to Select Committees List


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.