The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 23. Records of the Joint Committees of Congress 1789-1968 (Record Group 128)



Table of Contents

Records of the Joint Committees of Congress 1789-1989 (Record Group 128) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988



Records of Individual Joint Committees

Select CommitteeVolumeCongresses (Years)
Joint Committee on the Library7 ft.9th-90th (1806-1968)
Joint Committee on Printing98 ft.30th-90th (1846-1968)
Joint Committee on the Disposition of Useless Papers (1889-1935)
Joint Committee on Disposition of Executive Papers (1935-70)
53 ft.53rd-89th (1889-1970)
Joint Committee on the Ford's Theater Disaster3 in.53rd-54th (1894-1897)
Joint Committee on the Revision of the Laws1 ft.59th-61st (1907-1910)
Joint Committee on Internal Revenue Taxation (1926-75)
Joint Committee on Taxation (1976-)
460 ft.69th-90th (1926-68)
Joint Committee on Muscle Shoals4 in.69th (1926)
Joint Committee on Veterans Affairs5 ft.72nd-73rd (1932-33)
Joint Committee to Investigate Dirigible Disasters1 ft.73rd (1933)
Joint Committee on the Tennessee Valley Authority80 ft.75th-76th (1938-39)
Joint Committee on the Organization of Congress1 ft.78th-79th (1944-46)
Joint Committee on the Investigation of the Pearl Harbor Attack40 ft.79th (1945-46)
Joint Committee on the Economic Report (1946-56)
Joint Economic Committee (1956-68)
18 ft.79th-90th (1946-68)
Joint Committee on Atomic Energy406 ft.79th-95th (1946-77)
Joint Committee on Labor Management Relations15 ft.80th-81st (1947-49)
Joint Committee on Housing4 ft.80th (1947-48)
Congressional Aviation Policy Board24 ft.80th (1947-48)
Joint Committee on Defense Production37 ft.81st-90th (1950-77)
Joint Committee on Washington Metropolitan Problems4 in.85th-86th (1957-60)
Joint Committee on the Organization of Congress3 ft.89th (1965-66)

Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.