The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 23. Records of the Joint Committees of Congress 1789-1968 (Record Group 128)



Table of Contents

Records of the Joint Committees of Congress 1789-1989 (Record Group 128) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988



Joint Committee on Labor Management Relations (1947-49)

JC.110 The National Labor Relations Act (Public Law 74-198), also known as the Wagner Act, was enacted as part of the New Deal on July 5, 1935. It guaranteed workers the right to organize and join labor unions and to bargain collectively through representatives of their own choosing. It also established the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) to enforce the act.

JC.111 The Labor Management Relations Act of 1947 (Public Law 80-101), known as the Taft-Hartley Act, passed despite President Harry Truman's veto. The act reaffirmed the Wagner Act's basic guarantees but contained certain provisions designed to correct the perceived imbalance of the Wagner Act in favor of labor. The Taft-Hartley Act also created the Joint Committee on Labor Management Relations, with members drawn from the Senate Committee on Labor and Public Welfare and the House Committee on Education and Labor. The committee was authorized to study and investigate "the entire field of labor-management relations," including ways to secure "permanent friendly cooperation between employers and employees," the means for an individual employee to produce more and benefit more, the organization and administration of labor unions, the impact of the closed shop, labor relations policies and practices of employers, the desirability of employee welfare funds, best procedures for collective bargaining, and the administration and operation of Federal laws regarding labor relations.

JC.112 The records of the committee include correspondence of committee members and staff, memorandums, a research report, notes, minutes, and press releases, as well as witness statements, original transcripts, and galleys relating to committee hearings. Among the records concerning the committee's study of labor relations in specific industrial establishments are materials from plant studies of B.F. Goodrich, Botany Worsted Mills, International Harvester, and R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company. Also included are printed promotional materials of corporations and documents regarding welfare fund and pension plans.

JC.113 Many of the documents pertain directly to National Labor Relations Board activities. These include briefs and other legal documents regarding cases before the NLRB, speeches by Board personnel, letters and other correspondence, memorandums by NLRB general counsel and staff, a statistical summary of NLRB casework, a summary of Board decisions, and documents regarding legal proceedings pursuant to various sections of the Labor Management Relations Act. Nine binders contain NLRB printed materials, such as laws, regulations, decisions, and weekly analyses of significant developments.

JC.114 Newspaper clippings, magazines, committee press releases, and applications for positions on the committee staff are also among the records.

This Web version is updated from time to time to include records processed since 1989.

Return to Joint Committees List


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42) by Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South (Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989), and Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245) by Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher (Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989).

 

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.