The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 24. General Records of the House of Representatives, 1789-1968



Table of Contents

General Records of the House of Representatives, 1789-1968 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Records described in this chapter:

Records of Impeachment Proceedings, 1st - 90th CONGRESS (1789-1968)

Record TypeVolumeCongresses (Dates)
Impeachment records18 ft.14th-78th (1816-1944)
TOTAL:18 ft. 

24.33 According to the Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress (3d ed., 1982), impeachment is perhaps the most awesome though least used power of Congress. In impeachment proceedings, the House of Representatives determines whether impeachment is warranted and if so, prosecutes high ranking Federal officials. The Senate's role is that of judge and jury.

24.34 Since 1789, impeachment proceedings have been initiated more than 60 times. Fifteen officers, including 1 President, 1 Senator, 1 Cabinet officer, and 12 Federal judges, have been tried. Of these, five have been convicted: John Pickering of the District Court of New Hampshire, 1804; West H. Humphries, of the District Court of the Eastern, Middle, and Western District of Tennessee, 1862; Robert W. Archbald of the Commerce Court, 1913; Halsted L. Ritter of the Southern District of Florida, 1936; and Harry E. Claiborne of the District of Nevada, 1986.

24.35 The National Archives has records relating to most of the impeachment proceedings from 1816 to 1944 (see the following list). Additional records relating to impeachments are in the records of the Committee on the Judiciary, which has a major role in the impeachment process.

Records of Impeachment Proceedings in the General Records of the U.S. House of Representatives

NameOfficeFile Number
Matthias B. TallmadgeJudge, District Court, Northern District of NY14B-A1, 15B-B1
William StephensJudge, District Court, GA15B-A1
William P. Van NessJudge, District Court, Southern District of NY15B-C1
Charles TaitJudge, District Court, AL17B-A1
Buckner ThrustonJudge, Circuit Court, DC18B-A1, 24B-A1
Joseph L. SmithJudge, Supreme Court, Territory of FL18B-B1, 19B-A1
Alfred ConklingJudge, District Court, Northern District of NY20B-A1, 21B-A1, 26B-A1
James H. PeckJudge, District Court, MO21B-B1
Benjamin JohnsonJudge, Superior Court, Territory of AR22B-A1
P.K. LawrenceJudge, District Court, Eastern District of LA25B-A1
John McLeanJustice, U.S. Supreme Court, 7th District26B-B1
Robert C. GrierJustice, U.S. Supreme Court33B-A1
John C. WatrousJudge, District Court, TX34B-A1, 35B-B1, 36B-A1
Thomas IrwinJudge, District Court, Western District of PA35B-A1
Andrew G. MillerJudge, District Court, WI 38B-A1
Andrew JohnsonPresident of the United States40B-A1
Richard BusteedJudge, District Court, AL40B-B1, 41B-B1
Mark W. DelahayJudge, District Court, KS 42B-A1
Charles T. ShermanJudge, District Court, Northern District of OH42B-B1
William W. BelknapSecretary of War44B-A1
Henry W. BlodgettJudge, District Court, Northern District of IL45B-A1
George F. SewardCounsel General, Shanghai45B-A1, 46B-A1
Samuel B. AxtellChief Justice, Supreme Court, Territory of NM48B-A1
Aleck BoarmanJudge, District Court, Western District of LA51B-A1
J.G. JenkinsJudge, Circuit Court, 7th Circuit53B-A1
Augustus J. RicksJudge, District Court, Northern District of OH53B-B1
Charles SwayneJudge, District Court, Northern District of FL58B-A1
Robert W. ArchbaldJudge, District Court, Middle District of PA60B-A1, 62B-A1
A.G. DaytonJudge, District Court, Northern District of WV60B-B1
James B. McPherson and James B. HollandJudges, Circuit Court, District of PA60B-C1
Lebbeus R. WilfleyJudge, U.S. Court for China60B-D1
Supreme Court JusticesJustices of the Supreme Court60B-E1
E.S. FarringtonJudge, District Court, NV61B-A1
A.S. MooreJudge of 2d Division, District Court of AK61B-B1
Daniel T. WrightJudge, District Court, DC61B-C1
Robert W. ArchbaldAssociate Judge, U.S. Commerce Court62B-A1
Cornelius H. HanfordJudge, District Court, Western District of WA62B-B1
H. Snowden MarshallU.S. District Atty., Southern District of NY64B-A1
Federal Reserve BoardMembers of the Federal Reserve Board64B-B1
Kenesaw M. LandisJudge, District Court, Northern District of IL66B-A1
George W. EnglishJudge, District Court, Eastern District of IL69B-A1
Phillip FormanU.S. Attorney for District of NJ72B-A1
Harold LouderbackJudge, District Court, Northern District of CA72B-B1, 73B-A1
Halstead L. RitterJudge, District Court, Southern District of FL73B-B1, 74B-A1
Ferdinand A. GeigerJudge, District Court, Eastern District of WI75B-A1
Frances Perkins, James L. Houghteling, and Gerard D. ReillySecretary of Labor, Commissioner of Immigration and Naturalization, and Solicitor, Department of Labor76B-A1
Albert W. Johnson and Albert L. WatsonJudges, District Court, Middle District of PA78B-A1

Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.