The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)

Table of Contents

  • Short Form
    Lists chapter titles only.
  • Detailed
    Lists the names of all the standing committees described in each chapter.

Senate Guide

Search the House Guide

Search the House and Senate Guides


Table of Contents:   Detailed Version

This guide is organized into chapters each of which describes the records of a family of committees that are related by jurisdiction and lineage. The records of committees that have been abolished are described in the same chapter with the committee to which jurisdiction of the abolished committee was transferred.

Chapter 1 An Introduction to Research in the Records of Congress
  Background of Records: History, Organization and Access
  Research Strategies
  Other Resources
Chapter 2 Records of the Agriculture Committee
    Committee on Agriculture (1820-1968)
Chapter 3 Records of the Appropriations Committee
    Committee on Appropriations (1865-1968)
Chapter 4 Records of the Armed Services Committee and Its Predecessors
    General Introduction
    Committee on Military Affairs (1822-1946)
    Committee on the Militia (1835-1911)
    Committee on Naval Affairs (1822-1946)
    Committee on Armed Services (1946-1968)
Chapter 5 Records of the Banking and Currency Committees
    Committee on A Uniform System of Coinage, Weights and Measures (1864-67)
    Committee on Coinage, Weights, and Measures (1867-1946)
    Committee on Banking and Currency (1865-1968)
Chapter 6 Records of the Claims Committees
    General Introduction, House and Senate Claims Indexes
    Committee on Claims (1794-1946)
    Committee on Pensions and Rev. War Claims (1813-25)
    Committee on Revolutionary War Pensions (1825)
    Committee on Military Pensions (1825-31)
    Committee on Invalid Pensions (1831-46)
    Committee on Revolutionary Pensions (1831-80)
    Committee on Pensions (1880-1946)
    Committee on Revolutionary Claims (1825-1946)
    Committee on War Claims (1873-1946)
    Committee on Private Land Claims (1816-1911)
    Committee on the Judiciary (1813-1968)
Chapter 7 Records of the Commerce Committees
    General Introduction
    Committee on Commerce and Manufactures (1795-1819)
    Committee on Manufactures (1819-1911)
    Committee on Commerce (1819-92)
    Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce (1892-1968)
    Committee on Industrial Arts and Expositions (1903-27)
Chapter 8 Records of the District of Columbia Committee
    Committee on the District of Columbia (1807-1968)
Chapter 9 Records of the Committees on Education and Labor
    General Introduction
    Committee on Education and Labor (1867-83)
    Committee on Education (1883-1946)
    Committee on Labor (1883-1946)
    Committee on Education and Labor (1947-1968)
Chapter 10 Records of the Foreign Affairs Committee
    Committee on Foreign Affairs (1810-97)
    Committee on Foreign Affairs (1898-1968)
Chapter 11 Records of the Government Operations Committee and its Predecessors
    General Introduction
    Committee on Public Expenditures (1814-80)
    Committee on Expenditures in the Navy Dept. (1816-1927)
    Committee on Expenditures in the Post Office Dept. (1816-1927)
    Committee on Expenditures in the Treasury Dept. (1816-1927)
    Committee on Expenditures in the State Dept. (1816-1927)
    Committee on Expenditures in the War Dept. (1816-1927)
    Committee on Expenditures in the Public Buildings (1816-1927)
    Committee on Expenditures in the Interior Dept. (1860-1927)
    Committee on Expenditures in the Justice Dept. (1874-1927)
    Committee on Expenditures in the Agriculture Dept. (1889-1927)
    Committee on Expenditures in the Commerce and Labor Depts. (1905-13)
    Committee on Expenditures in the Commerce Dept. (1913-27)
    Committee on Expenditures in the Labor Dept. (1913-27)
    Committee on Expenditures in the Executive Departments (1927-52)
    Committee on Government Operations (1952-68)
Chapter 12 Records of the House Administration Committee and its Predecessors
    General Introduction
    Committee on Elections (1789-1895)
    Committee on Elections #1 (1876-1946)
    Committee on Elections #2 (1876-1946)
    Committee on Elections #3 (1876-1946)
    Committee on Election of the President, Vice President, and Representatives in Congress (1893-1946)
    Committee on Enrolled Bills (1876-1946)
    Committee on the Library (1806-1946)
    Committee on Accounts (1803-1946)
    Committee on Ventilation and Acoustics (1893-1911)
    Committee on Memorials (1929-46)
    Committee on the Disposition of Executive Papers (1889-1946)
    Committee on Engraving (1844-60)
    Committee on Printing (1846-1946)
    Committee on House Administration (1946-68)
Chapter 13 Records of the Interior and Insular Affairs Committee and its Predecessors
    General Introduction
    Committee on Public Lands (1805-1951)
    Committee on Indian Affairs (1821-1946)
    Committee on Territories (1825-1946)
    Committee on Mines and Mining (1865-1946)
    Committee on Pacific Railroads (1865-1911)
    Committee on Irrigation of Arid Lands (1893-1924)
    Committee on Insular Affairs (1899-1946)
    Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs
Chapter 14 Records of the Judiciary Committee and Related Committees
    General Introduction
    Committee on Patents (1837-1946)
    Committee on Immigration and Naturalization (1893-1946)
    Committee on Revisal of Unfinished Business (1795-1868)
    Committee on Revision of Laws (1868-1946)
    Committee on Freedman's Affairs (1866-75)
    Committee on Alcoholic Liquor Traffic (1893-1927)
    Committee on Woman Suffrage (1917-27)
    Committee on the Judiciary (1813-1968)
Chapter 15 Records of the Merchant Marine and Fisheries Committees
    Committee on Merchant Marine and Fisheries (1877-1968)
    Committee on Merchant Marine, Radio, and Fisheries (1932-35)
Chapter 16 Records of the Post Office and Civil Service Committees
    General Introduction
    Committee on Post Offices and Post Roads (1808-1946)
    Committee on Reform of the Civil Service (1893-1924)
    Committee on the Civil Service (1924-46)
    Committee on the Census (1901-46)
    Committee on Post Office and Civil Service (1946-68)
Chapter 17 Records of the Public Works Committees
    General Introduction
    Committee on Roads and Canals (1831-69)
    Committee on Railways and Canals (1869-1927)
    Committee on Missippi Levees (1875-77)
    Committee on Levees and Improvements on the Missippi River (1877-1911)
    Committee on Rivers and Harbors (1883-1946)
    Committee on Flood Control (1916-46)
    Committee on Public Buildings and Grounds (1837-1946)
    Committee on Roads (1913-46)
    Committee on Public Works (1947-68)
Chapter 18 Records of the Committee on Rules
    Committee on Rules (1849-51)
    Committee on Rules (1880-1968)
Chapter 19 Records of the Science and Astronautics Committee
    Committee on Science and Astronautics (1958-68)
Chapter 20 Records of the Veteran's Affairs Committees
    General Introduction
    Committee on World War Veteran's Legislation (1924-46)
    Committee on Veterans' Affairs (1947-68)
Chapter 21 Records of the Ways and Means Committee
    Committee on Ways and Means (1795-1968)
Chapter 22 Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives, 1789-1968
    General Introduction
    Select Committees 1789-1847
    Select Committees 1847-1909
    Select Committees 1909-46
    Select Committees 1947-68
    Select Committees 1969-87
Chapter 23 Records of the Joint Committees of Congress, 1789-1968
    General Introduction
    Overview of the Records of Joint Committees
    Description of Records of Certain Joint Committees
Chapter 24 General Records of the House of Representatives, 1789-1968
    General Records of the House of Representatives, 1789-1968
    Records of Legislative Proceedings
    Records of the Office of the Clerk
    Records of Impeachment Proceedings
   
Appendices    
    Speakers of the House of Representatives
    House Majority and Minority Leaders
    Clerks of the House of Representatives
    D. Bibliography
    E. Glossary of Legislative and Archival Terms
    Dates of Sessions of the U.S. Congress, 1789-2000
    G. Finding Aids for Records of the U.S. House of Representatives
    H. Microfilm Publications of Records of the U.S. House of Representatives

Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.