The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Appendix D: Select Bibliography

Table of Contents


Many books, articles, and doctoral dissertations have addressed the history and development of the legislative process of Congress. The purpose of this brief select bibliography is to highlight those works among the thousands of publications produced by the disciplines of history, political science, and library science that relate most directly to the records of Congress or the histories of Senate committees, or in some way illustrate noteworthy practices of the Senate. Some of the publications cited are finding aids to published and unpublished records (except those produced by the National Archives, which are listed in Appendix G) and other reference works; others are historical surveys, monographs, unpublished doctoral dissertations, journal articles, contemporary accounts, and Senate documents and committee prints. Biographies of Senators have been excluded deliberately.

Entries are arranged in three subdivisions. The first is a list of histories of the Senate and general reference works, several of which are indispensable to the study of Congress; the second is a list of publications concerning standing committees of the Senate, arranged by name of committee as presently designated; and the third lists publications that concern select, special, or joint committees.

For a more extensive bibliography of historical publications on the Senate, see Richard A. Baker's The United States Senate: A Historical Bibliography (1977). For a comprehensive bibliography of published sources and doctoral dissertations concerning Congress, see The United States Congress: A Bibliography, by Robert U. Goelert and John R. Sayre. Each of these bibliographies is cited below.

General Histories and Reference Works

Baker, Richard A. The United States Senate. A Historical Bibliography. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1977.

________. The Senate of the United States: A Bicentennial History. Melbourne, FL: Krieger, 1987.

Congressional Information Service. CIS Cumulative Indexes and Abstracts. 1970- . Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Service, Inc. (The cumulative indexes are issued every four years and abstracts are published annually.)

________. CIS U.S. Serial Set Index, 1789-1969. 36 vols. Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Service, Inc., 1975.

________. CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Print Index, from the Earliest Publications to 1969. 5 vols. Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Service, Inc., 1980.

________. CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearing Index, 1833-1969. 42 vols. Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Service, Inc., 1983.

________. CIS Index to Unpublished U.S. Senate Committee Hearings, 1823-1964. 5 vols. Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Service, Inc., 1986.

Congressional Quarterly Inc. Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress. 3d edition. Washington: Congressional Quarterly Inc., 1982.

Davidson, Roger H. "Two Roads of Change: House and Senate Committee Reorganization." Congressional Studies VII (Spring, 1980): 11-32.

Dimock, Marshall E. Congressional Investigating Committees. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Press, 1929; reprint ed., New York: AMS Press, 1971.

Gilfrey, Henry H. Precedents: Decisions on Points of Order With Phraseology in the United States Senate, 1789-1913 (S. Doc. 62-1123, Serial 6354). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1914.

Goehlert, Robert U., and J. R. Sayre. United States Congress: A Bibliography. New York: Macmillan, 1982.

Goodwin, George, Jr. The Little Legislatures: Committees of Congress. Amherst, MA: University of Massachusetts Press, 1970.

Hamilton, James. The Power to Probe: A Study of Congressional Investigations. New York: Random House, 1976.

Haynes, George H. The Senate of the United States: Its History and Practice. 2 vols. Boston: Houghton, Mifflin Company, 1938.

Hinckley, Barbara. The Seniority System in Congress. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1971.

Jacob, Kathryn A., ed. Guide to Research Collections of Former United States Senators, 1789-1982 (S. Doc. 97-41, Serial 13444). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1983. A supplement to this guide was issued by the Senate Historical Office in 1987.

Kammerer, Gladys. Congressional Committee Staffing Since 1946. Lexington, KY: Bureau of Government Research, 1951.

Kofmehl, Kenneth. Professional Staffs of Congress. West Lafayette, IN: Purdue University Studies, 1962.

Lambert, Richard D., ed. "Changing Congress: The Committee System." The Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science 411 (January 1974).

Lees, John D. The Committee System of the United States Congress. New York: Humanities Press, 1967.

Lehnen, Robert G. "Behavior on the Senate Floor: An Analysis of Debate in the U.S. Senate." Midwest Journal of Political Science 11 (Spring 1967): 505-21.

Loewenberg, Gerhard, Samuel C. Patterson, and Malcolm E. Jewell, eds. Handbook of Legislative Research. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1985.

McConachie, Lauros G. Congressional Committees. New York: Thomas Y. Crowell Co., 1898; reprint, New York: Burt Franklin, 1974.

Mathews, Donald R. U.S. Senators and Their World. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 1960.

Morrow, William L. Congressional Committees. New York: Scribner's, 1969.

Oleszek, Walter J. Majority and Minority Whips of the Senate (S. Doc. 98-45, Serial 13554). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1985.

Polsby, Nelson W., ed. Congressional Behavior. New York: Random House, 1971.

Riddick, Floyd M. Procedure and Guidelines for Impeachment Trials in the United States Senate (S. Doc. 99-33). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1986.

________. Senate Procedure: Precedents and Practices (S. Doc. 97-1, Serial 13386). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1981.

Robinson, George L. "The Development of the Senate Committee System." Ph.D. dissertation, New York University, 1955.

Rothman, David J. Politics and Power: The United States Senate, 1869-1901. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1966.

Schmeckebier, Laurence F., and Roy B. Eastin. Government Publications and Their Use. Washington: Brookings Institution, 1961 (revised ed.).

Stubbs, Walter. Congressional Committees, 1789-1982: A Checklist. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1985.

Swanstrom, Roy. The United States Senate: 1787-1801 (S. Doc. 87-64, Serial 12349-2). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1962. This study was reissued in 1985 as S. Doc. 99-19, Serial 13614.

U.S. Congress. Senate. Majority and Minority Leaders of the Senate. History and Development of the Offices of the Floor Leaders (S. Doc. 99-3, Serial 13608). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1985.

U.S. Congress. Senate. Senator Robert C. Byrd of West Virginia initiated a comprehensive series of addresses to the Senate on subjects related to its history. Some selected topics, published in the Congressional Record from 1980 through 1987, are listed below. Unless otherwise noted all references are to the permanent edition (hard bound volumes) of the Congressional Record.

    "Role of Senate Floor Leaders" (May 2, 1980), Vol. 126, pt. 8, pp. 9757-63.

    "Assistant Floor Leaders/Whips" (May 9, 1980), Vol. 126, pt. 9, pp. 10754-58.

    "Records of the United States Senate" (Dec. 4, 1980), Vol. 126, pt. 24, pp. 32322-27.

    "Early History of Senate Committees" (July 31, 1981), Vol. 127, pt. 4, pp. 19009-14.

    "Senate Committees, 1845-1900" (August 1, 1983), Vol. 129, Daily Edition, pp. S11204-10.

    Senate Committees, 1900-1946" (June 3, 1985), Vol. 131, pt. 10, pp. 13931-36.

    "Congressional Reform: The Legislative Reorganization Act of 1946" (June 17, 1985), Vol. 131, pt. 12, pp. 15980-87.

    "Senate Committees Since 1947" (February 23, 1987), Vol. 133, Daily Edition, pp. S2373-77.

Vogler, David J. The Third House: Conference Committees in the United States Congress. Evanston, IL: Northwestern University Press, 1971.

Sources on Senate Standing Committees

Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry

U. S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Agriculture and Forestry. A Brief History of the Committee on Agriculture and Forestry, United States Senate, and Landmark Agricultural Legislation, 1825-1986. (Committee Print. 99th Cong., 2d sess.). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1986. For an earlier version of this publication, see S. Doc. 91-107, Serial 12887-2.

Committee on Appropriations

Fenno, Richard, Jr. The Power of the Purse: Appropriations Politics in Congress. Boston: Little, Brown, 1966.

Horn, Stephen. Unused Power, The Work of the Senate Committee on Appropriations. 2 vols. Washington: Brookings Institution, 1970.

Ralph Nader Congress Project. The Revenue Committees: A Study of the House Ways and Means and Senate Finance Committees and House and Senate Appropriations Committees. New York: Grossman Publishers, 1975.

U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Appropriations. Committee on Appropriations. United States Senate. 100th Anniversary. 1867-1967 (S. Doc. 90-21, Serial 12756-1). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1967.

Committee on Armed Services

Fleer, Jack D. "Congressional Committees and the Making of Military Policy Authorization and Appropriations for Major Systems in the Legislative Process." Ph.D. dissertation, University of North Carolina, 1965.

Gross, Carol F. "Congress and Defense Policy: Strategies and Patterns of Committee Influence." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Arizona, 1971.

Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs

Pecora, Ferdinand. Wall Street Under Oath: The Story of Our Modern Money Changers. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1939; reprint ed. New York: A.M. Kelly, 1968.

Ralph Nader Congress Project. The Money Committees: A Study of the House Banking and Currency Committee and the Senate Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs Committee. New York: Grossman Publishers, 1975.

Ritchie, Donald A. "The Legislative Impact of the Pecora Investigation." Capitol Studies 5 (Spring 1977): 87-101.

U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Banking and Currency. Committee on Banking and Currency. United States Senate. 50th Anniversary, 63rd Congress, 1913 to 88th Congress, 1963 (S. Doc. 88-15, Serial 12550). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1963.

Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation

Ralph Nader Congress Project. The Commerce Committees: A Study of the House and Senate Commerce Committees. New York: Grossman, 1975.

U. S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Aeronautical and Space Sciences. Committee on Aeronautical and Space Sciences. United States Senate. Tenth Anniversary, 1958-1968 (S. Doc. 90-116, Serial 12798-3). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1968.

U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Commerce. History, Membership, and Jurisdiction of the Senate Committee on Commerce from 1816-1966 (S. Doc 89-100, Serial 12716-1). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1966.

U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation. A Brief History of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation and Its Activities since 1947 (S. Doc. 95-93, Serial 13205-1). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1978.

Committee on Energy and Natural Resources

U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs. Committee's History, Jurisdiction and a Summary of Its Accomplishments during the 87th, 88th, 89th, 90th, and 91st Congresses, September 1971. (Committee Print. 92d Cong., 1st sess.) Washington: Government Printing Office, 1971.

Committee on Finance

Bradley, John P. "Shaping Administrative Policy with the Aid of Congressional Oversight: The Senate Finance Committee and Medicare." Western Political Science Quarterly 33 (Fall 1980): 492-501.

Ralph Nader Congress Project. The Revenue Committees: A Study of the House Ways and Means and Senate Finance Committees and House and Senate Appropriations Committees. New York: Grossman Publishers, 1975.

U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Finance. History of the Committee on Finance. United States Senate (S. Doc. 97-5, Serial 13389). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1981. For earlier versions, see S. Doc. 91-57, Serial 12887-1, and S. Doc. 95-27, Serial 13176-1.

Committee on Foreign Relations

Andrew, Jean D. "The Effect of Senate Foreign Relations Committee Membership in Terms of Support of Foreign Policy, 1946-1966." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Connecticut, 1968.

Burnette, Ollin L., Jr. "The Senate Foreign Relations Committee and the Diplomacy of Garfield, Arthur, and Cleveland." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Virginia, 1952.

Daugham, George C. "From Lodge to Fulbright: The Chairmen of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee." Ph.D. dissertation, Harvard University, 1968.

Dennison, Eleanor E. The Senate Foreign Relations Committee. Palo Alto, CA: Stanford University Press, 1942.

Farnsworth, David. The Senate Committee on Foreign Relations. Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press, 1961.

Gambrell, Leonard L. "The Influence of the Senate Foreign Relations Chairman in the Making of United States Foreign Policy: A Case Analysis." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Virginia, 1971.

Gould, James W. "The Origins of the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations." Western Political Quarterly 12 (September 1959): 670-82.

Johnson, Victor Charles. "Congress and Foreign Policy: The House Foreign Affairs and Senate Foreign Relations Committees." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1975.

Kepley, David R. The Collapse of the Middle Way: Senate Republicans and the Bipartisan Foreign Policy, 1948-1952. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.

Olson, Magne B. "The Evolution of a Senate Institution: The Committee on Foreign Relations to 1861." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Minnesota, 1971.

Raith, Charles A. "The Anti-UN Coalitions Before the Senate Foreign Relations and the House Foreign Affairs Committees During the Years 1945-1955." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Pennsylvania, 1962.

Turesky, Stanley F. "A Time to Talk and a Time to Listen: A Study of the Relationship between the Chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee and the President of the United States." Ph.D. dissertation, Brown University, 1973.

U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Foreign Relations. Committee on Foreign Relations. United States Senate. 170th Anniversary, 1816-1986 (S. Doc. 99-21). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1986. An earlier version, for the 160th anniversary of the committee, was published as S. Doc. 94-265, Serial 13137-2.

U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Foreign Relations. The Senate Role in Foreign Affairs Appointments. Committee Print. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1982.

Committee on Governmental Affairs

Pilawsky, Monte E. "Legislative Oversight: The Politics of Investigation." Ph.D. dissertation, Tulane University, 1971.

U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Government Operations. Committee on Government Operations. United States Senate. 50th Anniversary History, 1921-1971 (S. Doc. 92-31, Serial 12935-2). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1971.

Committee on the Judiciary

Farrelly, David G. "The Senate Judiciary Committee: Qualifications of Members." American Political Science Review 37 (June 1943): 469-75.

________. "Operational Aspects of the Senate Judiciary Committee: A Study of Committee Procedure, 1923-1947, With Special Reference to the Congressional Reorganization Act of 1946." Ph.D. dissertation, Princeton University, 1949.

Mizell, Winton R. "The United States Senate Committee on the Judiciary and Presidential Nominations to the Supreme Court, 1965-1971: A Study of the Role and Function of a Legislative Subsystem." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Oklahoma, 1974.

Ralph Nader Congress Project. The Judiciary Committees--A Study of the House and Senate Judiciary Committees. New York: Grossman Publishers, 1975.

Thorpe, James A. "The Appearance of Supreme Court Nominees Before the Senate Judiciary Committee." Journal of Public Law 18 (1969): 371-402.

U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on the Judiciary. History of the Committee on the Judiciary. United States Senate. 1816-1981 (S. Doc. 97-18, Serial 13389). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1982.

Committee on Labor and Human Resources

Auerbach, Jerald S. "The La Follette Committee and the C.I.O." Wisconsin Magazine of History 48 (Winter 1964): 3-20.

U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Labor and Human Resources. History of the Committee on Labor and Human Resources. United States Senate. 1869-1979 (S. Doc. 96-71, Serial 13318). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1980. This updates the Committee on Labor and Public Welfare's 100th Anniversary History, S. Doc. 90-108, Serial 12798-3.

Committee on Small Business

Vinyard, Dale. "The Congressional Committees on Small Business: Patterns of Legislative Committee-Executive Agency Relations." Western Political Quarterly 21 (September 1968): 391-99.

Committee on Rules and Administration

U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Rules and Administration. History of the Committee on Rules and Administration. United States Senate (S. Doc. 96-27, Serial 13232). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1980.

U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Rules and Administration. Senate Election, Expulsion, and Censure Cases From 1793 to 1972 (S. Doc. 92-7, Serial 12935-1). Washington: Government Printing Office, 1973.

Sources on Senate Select, Special, and Joint Committees

Coker, William L. "The United States Senate Investigation of the Mississippi Election of 1875." Journal of Mississippi History 37 (May, 1975): 143-63.

Dash, Samuel. Chief Counsel: Inside the Ervin Committee--the Untold Story. New York: Random House, 1976.

Derr, Jeanine. "`The Biggest Show on Earth': The Kefauver Crime Committee Hearings." Maryland Historian 17 (Fall/Winter 1986): 18-37.

Johnson, Loch K. A Season of Inquiry: The Senate Intelligence Investigation. Lexington, KY: University of Kentucky Press, 1985.

Kennedy, Robert F. The Enemy Within. New York: Harper, 1960. An account of the investigations conducted by the Select Committee on Improper Activities in the Labor or Management Field, the so-called McClellan Committee, by its chief counsel.

McClellan, John L. Crime Without Punishment. New York: Duell, Sloan and Pearce, 1962. McClellan was chairman of the Select Committee on Improper Activities in the Labor or Management Field.

Maher, M. Patrick Ellen. "The Role of the Chairman of a Congressional Investigating Committee: A Case Study of the Special Committee of the Senate to Investigate the National Defense Program, 1941-1948." Ph.D. dissertation, St. Louis University, 1962.

Markoe, Arnold. "The Black Committee: A Study of the Senate Investigation of the Public Utility Holding Company Lobby." Ph.D. dissertation, New York University, 1972.

Moore, William H. The Kefauver Committee and the Politics of Crime, 1950-1952. Columbia, MO: University of Missouri Press, 1974.

Ogden, August R. The Dies Committee. Washington: The Catholic University Press, 1945.

Riddle, Donald H. The Truman Committee: A Study in Congressional Responsibility. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 1963.

Schlesinger, Arthur M., Jr., and Roger Bruns, eds. Congress Investigates: A Documentary History, 1792-1974. 5 vols. New York: R.R. Bowker Co., 1975.

Toulmin, Harry A. Diary of Democracy, The Senate War Investigating Committee. New York: R.R. Smith, 1947.

Trefousse, Hans L. "Joint Committee on Conduct of War: A Reassessment." Civil War History 10 (March 1964): 5-19.

Vinyard, Dale. "The Senate Committee on Aging and the Development of a Policy System." Michigan Academician 5 (Summer 1973): 281-94.

Wiltz, John Edward. In Search of Peace: The Senate Munitions Inquiry, 1934-1936. Baton Rouge, LA: Louisiana State University Press, 1963.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.