The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Table of Contents

Chapter 2. Committee on Agriculture and Forestry and Related Committees, 1825-1968


Records of Committees Relating to Agriculture and Forestry 1825-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committee records discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on Forest Reservations and the Protection of Game, 1896-1921

2.29 Although the Committee on Agriculture and Forestry had, as its name states, jurisdiction over forestry matters, other committees were created expressly to consider many of the same issues. The Committee on Forest Reservations and the Protection of Game was established by Senate Resolution on March 19, 1896, and was terminated by S. Res. 43, 67th Cong. (1921), which eliminated many inactive and overlapping standing and select Senate committees. The Committee on Forest Reservations and the Protection of Game was preceded by the Select Committee on Forest Reservations in California, established July 28, 1892, and that select committee's successor, the Select Committee on Forest Reservations, established March 15, 1893. The National Archives has less than 1 inch of petitions referred to the Select Committee on Forest Reservations and no records of its predecessor select committee.

2.30 Records of Committee on Forest Reservations and the Protection of Game consist of committee papers, 1902-12 (1 in.), and petitions, memorials, and resolutions of state legislatures referred to the committee, 1896-1921 (1 ft.). Committee papers have been preserved for only the 57th, 58th, and 62d Congresses and include executive communications from the Agriculture and Interior Departments that were printed as House or Senate documents. Petitions and memorials referred to the committee include the following subjects: Forest reserves generally (54A0J13, 60A-J52, 61A-J36) and Southern Appalachia (56A-J13, 60A-J52, 61A-J36); preservation of the Calaveras grove of big trees (58A-J30); protection of birds, game, and fish generally and the creation of game reserves (58A-J30, 59A-J41); protection of specific animals or categories of animals, such as buffalo (56A-J13), elk (60A-J53, 61A-J35), Alaskan game (58A-J29), and migratory birds (61A-J36, 62A-J43, 64A-J33); protection of the Niagara Falls from destruction by power companies (59A-J43); turning over title to forest reserves to the States (62A-J43); and destruction of predators on Government reserves (64A-J34).


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.