The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Table of Contents

Chapter 7. Records of the Committee on Commerce and Related Committees, 1816-1968


Records of Committees Relating to Commerce, 1816-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committee records discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on the Mississippi River and Its Tributaries, 1879-1921

7.44 The Committee on Improvement of the Mississippi River and Its Tributaries was established on March 19, 1879, succeeding the Select Committee on the Levee System of the Mississippi River, 1870-79. The work of these committees coincided with the major survey and improvement of the Mississippi River undertaken by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and the Mississippi River Commission. The committee was abolished in 1921 as part of the effort to eliminate obsolete committees.

7.45 The records of the standing committee are very limited and consist of committee papers, 1879-1888 (1 in.), and petitions and memorials referred to the committee, 1879-1897 (1 in.). The committee papers consist of printed executive communications, such as the annual report of the Mississippi River Commission and its request for an appropriation to continue its work (48A-E10), and papers relating to an investigation of a Union Pacific Railroad Bridge that was constructed over the Missouri River at Omaha, NE in 1888 (50A-F10). There are a small number of legislative case files. The petitions are from individuals or organizations supporting improvements in their towns or regions. A few petitions and memorials (1/2 in.) were referred to the select committee.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.