The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Table of Contents

Chapter 12. Records of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs and Predecessor Committees, 1816-1968


Records of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs and Predecessor Committees, 1816-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committee records discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on Indian Depredations, 1893-1921

12.48 The Committee on Indian Depredations was created by a Senate resolution on March 15, 1893, and superseded a select committee on Indian depredations that had been established in 1889 to deal with the increased volume of Indian depredation claims. The committee was terminated by approval of S. Res. 43, 67th Cong., on April 18, 1921, which also eliminated many other obsolete standing and select committees.

12.49 The records of the standing committee (4 in.) consist of committee papers, 1893-1905 (3 in.), and petitions and memorials referred to the committee, 1893-1901 (1 in.). The committee papers contain executive and other correspondence referring to the Indian Depredation Act passed on March 3, 1891 (26 Stat. 851), which established the Office of the Assistant Attorney General to oversee claims cases. The committee papers include a list of suggestions concerning committee investigations and a list of judgments in claims cases (53A-F14). Legislative case files on bills referred to the committee, 1901-21, are in the series of papers supporting specific bills and resolutions.

12.50 The petitions and memorials also concern administration of the Indian Depredation Act. Most petitioners requested that claims for crimes committed during wartime be considered eligible, because the act stipulated that only depredations committed in times of peace with the Indians could be considered for claims.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.