The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Table of Contents

Chapter 13. Records of the Committee on the Judiciary and Related Committees, 1816-1968


Records of the Committee on the Judiciary and Related Committees, 1816-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committee records discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Select and Standing Committees on Woman Suffrage, 1881-1921

Senator Hoar proposed the creation of a committee on women suffrage.  
Senator George Frisbie Hoar proposed the creation of a committee on women's suffrage. (Mathew Brady Studio), Records of the Office of the Chief Signal Officer (U.S. Army) from NARA's Online Catalog.  
13.62 On January 9, 1882, the Senate approved by a 35-24 vote a resolution offered by George Hoar of Massachusetts to establish a "special committee of seven Senators" to whom "all petitions, bills, and resolves asking for the extension of suffrage to women or the removal of their legal disabilities" shall be referred. In 1909, Nelson Aldrich of Rhode Island submitted a resolution that had the effect of giving all current select committees, including Woman Suffrage, full committee status. In 1921, the Senate approved S. Res. 43, 67th Cong., which abolished the Committee on Woman Suffrage and many obsolete committees.

13.63 The records of both committees (1 ft.) consist largely of petitions and memorials. For a more detailed description see the records of the select committee. The records of the standing committee consist only of petitions, memorials, and resolutions of State legislatures referred to the committee, 1913-19 (7 in.). Most of these documents express approval of an amendment to the Constitution providing woman suffrage (63A-J85, 65A-J56). Other petitions on this subject were tabled (63A-K15, 64A-K9, 65A-K11), rather than referred to the committee.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.