The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)

  • Table of Contents: Short form (original table of contents with chapter titles only)
  • Table of Contents: Detailed (provides links the standing committee descriptions)

Search the Senate Guide

Search the Senate and House Guides


Table of Contents: Detailed (with links to standing committee descriptions)

Introduction General Introduction
Chapter 1 An Introduction to Research in the Records of Congress
Background
Research Strategies
Other Sources
Chapter 2 Records of the Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry and Related Committees, 1825-1988
General Introduction
Agriculture (1825-83)
Agriculture and Forestry (1883-1968) (1885-1911)
Forest Reservations and the Protection of Game (1896-1921)
Chapter 3 Records of the Committee on Appropriations, 1867-1968
Appropriations (1867-1968)
Chapter 4 Records of the Committee on Armed Services and its Predecessors, 1816-1968
Military Affairs (1816-1946)
Militia (1816-57)
Naval Affairs (1816-1946)
Coast Defenses (1885-1911)
Armed Services (1947-68)
Chapter 5 Records of the Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs, 1914-1968
Banking and Currency (1913-68)
Chapter 6 Records of the Committee on Claims and Other Claims Committees, 1816-1946
General Introduction
Claims (1816-1946)
Private Land Claims (1826-1921)
Revolutionary Claims (1832-1921)
Chapter 7 Records of the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation and Related Committees, 1816-1968
General Introduction
Commerce and Manufactures (1816-25)
Commerce (1825-1946)
Manufactures (1825-1946)
Pacific Railroads (1863-73)
Railroads (1873-1921)
Pacific Railroads (Select and Standing (1889-1921)
Transportation Routes to the Seaboard (1879-1921)
Mississippi River and Its Tributaries ( 1879-1921)
Interoceanic Canals 1899-1946)
Fisheries (1804-1921)
Industrial Expositions (1899-1921)
Standards, Weights and Measures (1909-1921)
Interstate Commerce (1887-1946)
Interstate and Foreign Commerce (1946-1961)
Commerce (1961-1968)
Aeronautical and Space Sciences (1958-1976)
Chapter 8 Records of the Committee on the District of Columbia, 1816-1968
District of Columbia (1816-1968)
Chapter 9 Records of the Committee on Finance and Related Records, 1816-1968
Finance (1816-1968)
Pensions (1816-1946)
Chapter 10 Records on the Committee on Foreign Relations, 1816-1968
Foreign Relations (1817-1968)
Treaty Files (1789-1968)
Chapter 11 Records of the Committee on Governmental Affairs and Related Committees, 1842-1968
General Introduction
Minor Standing Expenditure Committees (1887-1946)
Expenditures in Executive Departments (1947-1952)
Government Operations (1952-1968)
Chapter 12 Records of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs and Predecessor Committees, 1816-1968
General Introduction
Public Lands (1816-1921, 1947-1948)
Public Lands and Surveys (1921-1946)
Geological Survey (1899-1921)
Indian Affairs (1820-1946)
Indian Depredations (1893-1921)
Territories (1844-1921)
Pacific Islands and Puerto Rico (1899-1921)
The Phillipines (1899-1921)
Territories and Insular Affairs (1921-1946)
Mines and Mining (1865-1946)
Irrigation and Reclamation of Arid Lands (1891-1946)
Conservation of Natural Resources (1909-1921)
Interior and Insular Affairs (1949-1968)
Chapter 13 Records of the Committee on the Judiciary and Related Committees, 1816-1968
General Introduction
Judiciary (1816-1968)
Revision of Laws (1869-1928)
Patents (1837-1946)
Woman Suffrage (Select and Standing) (1881-1921)
Immigration (1889-1946)
Chapter 14 Records of the Committee on Labor and Public Welfare and Related Committees, 1869-1968
General Introduction
Education (1869-1870)
Education and Labor (1870-1946)
Epidemic Diseases (Select and Standing) (1878-1896)
Public Health and the National Quarantine (1896-1921)
To Establish a National University (Select and Standing) (1895-1921)
Labor and Public Welfare (1947-68)
Chapter 15 Records of the Committee on Post Office and Civil Service and Related Committees, 1816-1968
General Introduction
Post Office and Post Roads (1816-1947)
Post Office and Civil Service (1947-1968)
Civil Service and Retrenchment (1873-1921)
Civil Service (1921-1946)
Census and its predecessors (1878-1921)
Chapter 16 Records of the Committee on Environment and Public Works and Related Committees, 1820-1968
General Introduction
Roads and Canals (1820-1857)
Public Buildings and Grounds (1838-1946)
Public Works (1947-1968)
Chapter 17 Records of the Committee on Rules and Administration and Related Committees, 1789-1968
General Introduction
Enrolled Bills (1789-1946)
Audit and Control of Contingent Expenses of the Senate (1807-1946)
Printing (1841-1946)
Library (1849-1946)
Privileges and Elections (1871-1946)
Rules (1874-1946)
Rules and Administration (1947-1968)
Chapter 18 Records of Senate Select Committees, 1789-1968
Chapter 19 Records of Joint Committees of Congress (Record Group 128)
Chapter 20 General Records of the U.S. Senate, 1789-1968
Chapter 21 Records Relating to Executive Proceedings and Impeachments, 1789-1987
Chapter 22 Records of the United States Senate, 1969-1988
Appendices:  
  A. Majority Leaders (U.S. Senate website)
  B. Minority Leaders (U.S. Senate website)
  C. Secretaries of the Senate (U.S. Senate website)
  D. Select Bibliography
  E. Glossary of Legislative and Archival Terms
  F. Dates of the Sessions of the U.S. Congress, 1789-1988
  G. National Archives Finding Aids to Senate Records
  H. National Archives Microfilm Publications of Senate Records

Bibliographic note:
Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.