Archival Research Catalog (ARC)

Historical Documents Online: Search Hints for Selected Topics

Environmental Records


  • Photographs in the Sir Henry S. Wellcome Collection, 1856 - 1936
    940 photographs have been digitized from this series. Among the digitized images are post cards and photographs of the Yukon Territory, its development, and its inhabitants. These materials are held by  NARA's Pacific Alaska Region (Anchorage, AK).

    Search Hint: To retrieve the 940 digitized photographs:

    1. Go to http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/.
    2. Press the Yellow search button to go to the Basic search screen.
    3. Enter Sir Henry S. Wellcome in the Keywords box.
    4. Select the limit results radio button for 1000.
    5. Select the box marked Descriptions of Archival Materials linked to digital copies.
    6. Press the Go button.
    7. When hits are returned for your search, view the full result of your hit by selecting the Title link.

    From the Collection:

    image in ARC
    View larger image
    ARC Identifier: 297254, Title: "William Duncan, Mission buildings. [post card]"

Top of Page


  • Pribilof Island Logbooks, 1872 - 1961
    30 documents have been digitized from the St. George and St. Paul logbooks from this series. The logbooks contain daily narrative accounts of island activities oriented to the seal harvest but include an unparalleled wealth of information about the islands and their inhabitants. Included are census records for the islanders; records relating to medical and dental services including reports on water supplies, sewage, sanitary facilities, housing, food supply, and the use of alcohol; and entries concerning marriage laws, Native bank accounts, and church funds. The logs also include extensive notations on the culture and beliefs of the Native Alaskan population, community life, education, intemperance, morality, the relationship of the Native population to the Russian Orthodox Church and the Federal government; weather observations; and natural resources. Until the end of the leasing program there are entries by the Federal agent responsible for overseeing the contract between the Federal government and the corporation which document the agreement by which, in return for harvesting the furs, the government was to provide subsistence and education for the Native population. Separate logbooks were kept for the settlements at St. George and St. Paul Islands but were maintained as part of this series.  These materials are held by NARA's Pacific Alaska Region (Anchorage, AK).

    Search Hint: To retrieve the 30 digitized documents:

    1. Go to http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/.
    2. Press the Yellow search button to go to the Basic search screen.
    3. Enter Pribilof Island Logbooks in the Keywords box.
    4. Select the limit results radio button for 100.
    5. Press the Go button.
    6. When hits are returned for your search, view the full result of your hit by selecting the Title link.
    7. Scroll down to the part of the description that says Includes 30 items. Click on that link to view the hit list for all 30 items.

    From the Collection:

    image in ARC
    View larger image
    ARC Identifier: 297039, Title: "Pribilof Island, St. Paul Island, log book entries, 09/22/1915 - 09/23/1915"

Top of Page


  • Pribilof Islands Photographs, ca. 1890 - ca. 1970
    105 photographs have been digitized from this series. This series documents the fur seal harvest; the procedures and processes of the fur seal industry; religious, educational, and social events; and the physical geography of St. Paul and St. George Islands. These materials are held by NARA's Pacific Alaska Region (Anchorage, AK).

    Search Hint: To retrieve the 105 digitized photographs:

    1. Go to http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/.
    2. Press the Yellow search button to go to the Basic search screen.
    3. Enter Pribilof Islands Photographs in the Keywords box.
    4. Select the limit results radio button for 1000.
    5. Press the Go button.
    6. When hits are returned for your search, view the full result of your hit by selecting the Title link for Pribilof Islands Photographs, ca. 1890 - ca. 1970.
    7. Scroll down to the part of the description that says Includes 105 items. Click on that link to view the hit list for all items.

    From the Collection:

    image in ARC
    View larger image
    ARC Identifier: 297056, Title: "Aerial photo- altitude 6000 ft.. St. George village, Pribilof Island, Alaska., 07/15/1948"

Top of Page


  • Selected Photographs from the Subject Files of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, 1908 - 1968
    6 photographs from the Research Parasites Report of Drs. Lucas and Rodabush, and one multi-page report of photographs relating to Supervision Work Programs, 10 Year Program. The series includes original letters received and copies of letters sent to the district and central offices, and copies of the reports, applications, photographs and clippings relating to the supervision, administration research and germ activities. These materials are held by NARA's Southwest Region(Fort Worth, TX).

    Search Hint: To retrieve the 6 digitized photographs:

    1. Go to http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/.
    2. Press the Yellow search button to go to the Basic search screen.
    3. Enter Wichita Mountains in the Keywords box.
    4. Select the limit results radio button for 100.
    5. Select the box marked Descriptions of Archival Materials linked to digital copies.
    6. Press the Go button.
    7. When hits are returned for your search, view the full result of your hit by selecting the Title link.

    From the Collection:

    image in ARC
    View larger image
    ARC Identifier: 251658, Title: "Supervision Work Programs, 10 Year Program, 1938"

Top of Page


  • Letters Received Relating to Specific River and Harbor Improvements, 1901 - 1906
    3 multi-page documents have been digitized from this series. The series includes letters received concerning examinations, surveys and a few reports of progress on specific river and harbor improvements. In June, 1904 the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers was tasked to complete a survey of the terrain from Valdez to Eagle, Alaska. Eventually, this road became part of what is now the Alcan Highway. These materials are held by NARA's Pacific Alaska Region (Seattle, WA).

    Search Hint: To retrieve the 3 multi-page digitized documents:

    1. Go to http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/.
    2. Press the Yellow search button to go to the Basic search screen.
    3. Enter Letters Received Relating to Specific River and Harbor Improvements in the Keywords box.
    4. Select the limit results radio button for 100.
    5. Press the Go button.
    6. When hits are returned for your search, view the full result of your hit by selecting the Title link.
    7. Scroll down to the part of the description that says Includes 3 items. Click on that link to view the hit list for all 3 items.

    From the Collection:

    image in ARC
    View larger image
    ARC Identifier: 298810, Title: "Report of a survey for a military wagon road between Valdez and Eagle, Alaska., 06/1904 - 11/1904"

Top of Page


  • Records of Regional Forester Richard B. Millin, 1930 - 1952
    1 multi-page document has been digitized from this series. This narrative report, accompanied by a map and several photographs, discusses the grazing economy of northern Nevada and southern Idaho. Among the environmental issues covered are effects of irrigation technology on the grazing economy, efforts to reseed overgrazed areas, the role of dams and fences in successful range management, and seeding efforts to increase hay quality. These materials are held by  NARA's Pacific Region (San Bruno, CA).

    Search Hint: To retrieve the one multi-page digitized document:

    1. Go to http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/.
    2. Press the Yellow search button to go to the Basic search screen.
    3. Enter Western Shoshone Reservation in the Keywords box.
    4. Select the limit results radio button for 100.
    5. Select the box marked Descriptions of Archival Materials linked to digital copies.
    6. Press the Go button.
    7. When hits are returned for your search, view the full result of your hit by selecting the Title link.

    From the Collection:

    image in ARC
    View larger image
    ARC Identifier: 296189, Title: "Record of some of the facts of interest in connection with trip to the Western Shoshone Reservation (Nevada and Idaho), by Richard B. Millin, Regional Forester., 06/11/1942"

Top of Page


  • Photographic Report of the Committee Investigating Oregon Coastal Areas, December 1938
    91 photographs have been digitized from this series. The photographic report of the Committee to Investigate the Oregon Coastal Areas for possible development of recreational facilities. These materials are held by NARA's Still Picture Records (College Park, MD).

    Search Hint: To retrieve the 91 digitized photographs:

    1. Go to http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/.
    2. Press the Yellow search button to go to the Basic search screen.
    3. Enter Committee Investigating Oregon Coastal Areas in the Keywords box.
    4. Select the limit results radio button for 100.
    5. Press the Go button.
    6. When hits are returned for your search, view the full result of your hit by selecting the Title link Photographic Report of the Committee Investigating Oregon Coastal Areas, December 1938.
    7. Scroll down to the part of the description that says Includes 91 items. Click on that link to view the hit list for all items.

    From the Collection:

    image in ARC
    View larger image
    ARC Identifier: 520103, Title: "View Northward at Ecola State Park,1938", Local Identifier: NWDNS-79-OC-3

Top of Page


  • Selected Documents Relating to Cape Hatteras National Seashore, 1953 - 1960
    18 documents relating to Cape Hatteras National Seashore have been digitized. The digitized documents relate to the establishment, dedication, boundaries and land use regulations, and storm damage. Also included is a description of the lighthouse, radio and television advertisements for the recreation area, and information concerning ferry service to the Outer Banks. These materials are held by NARA's Southeast Region  (Atlanta, GA).

    Search Hint: To retrieve the 18 digitized documents:

    1. Go to http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/.
    2. Press the Yellow search button to go to the Basic search screen.
    3. Enter Cape Hatteras in the Keywords box.
    4. Select the limit results radio button for 100.
    5. Select the box marked Descriptions of Archival Materials linked to digital copies.
    6. Press the Go button.
    7. When hits are returned for your search, view the full result of your hit by selecting the Title link.

    From the Collection:

    image in ARC
    View larger image
    ARC Identifier: 279419, Title: "TRIP OF THE WEEK material featured by the Carolina Motor Club., 07/19/1955"

Top of Page


  • Selected Photographs from the Missouri State Office of the Soil Conservation Service
    37 photographs from this series have been digitized. Images include homes damaged by soil erosion, dams constructed to contain run-off, and erosion prevention and correction projects undertaken by Civilian Conservation Corps workers. These materials are held by NARA's Central Plains Region (Kansas City, MO).

    Search Hint: To retrieve the 37 digitized photographs:

    1. Go to http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/.
    2. Press the Yellow search button to go to the Basic search screen.
    3. Enter Missouri State Office of the Soil Conservation Service in the Keywords box.
    4. Select the limit results radio button for 100.
    5. Select the box marked Descriptions of Archival Materials linked to digital copies.
    6. Press the Go button.
    7. When hits are returned for your search, view the full result of your hit by selecting the Title link.

    From the Collection:

    image in ARC
    View larger image
    ARC Identifier: 286155, Title: "Comparison of gully, 1930 very eroded and 1934 after the gully had been planted with fast growing plants, 1934"

Top of Page


  • Selected Photographs from the Records of the Kootenai Valley Investigation
    17 photographs have been digitized from this series. These records consist of data collected as requested by the International Joint Commission and assembled in connection with the Kootenai Valley Investigation, 1928-1958. Included are reports some with photographs, relating to the Kootenai Reclamation Project. These materials are held by NARA's Pacific Alaska Region(Seattle, WA).

    Search Hint: To retrieve the 17 digitized photographs:

    1. Go to http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/.
    2. Press the Yellow search button to go to the Basic search screen.
    3. Enter Kootenai in the Keywords box.
    4. Select the limit results radio button for 100.
    5. Select the box marked Descriptions of Archival Materials linked to digital copies.
    6. Press the Go button.
    7. When hits are returned for your search, view the full result of your hit by selecting the Title link for Records of the Kootenai Valley Investigation.

    From the Collection:

    image in ARC
    View larger image
    ARC Identifier: 298503, Title: "Overflow pondage area on June 12, 1929, prior to reclamation; now included in drainage district No. 13. Canyon of Parker Creek is in the distance., ca. 1929 "

Top of Page


  • DOCUMERICA: The Environmental Protection Agency's Program to Photographically Document Subjects of Environmental Concern, 1970s
    Photographs documenting American environmental issues of the 1970s. More than 15,000 images have been digitized from this series. These materials are held by NARA's Still Picture Records (College Park, MD).

    Search Hint: To retrieve the 15,981 digitized photographs:

    1. Go to http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/.
    2. Press the Yellow search button to go to the Basic search screen.
    3. Enter DOCUMERICA: The Environmental Protection Agency's Program in the Keywords box.
    4. Select the limit results radio button for 100.
    5. Press the Go button.
    6. When hits are returned for your search, view the full result of your hit by selecting the Title link.
    7. Scroll down to the part of the description that says Includes 15,981 items. Click on that link to view the hit list for all 15,981 images.

    From the Collection:

    image in ARC
    View larger image
    ARC Identifier: 547338, Title: "Resting on a bench on Diller's Main Street, an elderly citizen surveys the passing scene. Near Lincoln, NB. May, 1973.", Local Identifier: NWDNS-412-DA-4851

Top of Page

Archival Research Catalog (ARC) >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272