Research Our Records

How to Find Records in the Regions?

  • Check the Online Catalog (OPA). When you do a search for descriptions of holdings in the National Archives, you can specify a regional archives facility to search for holdings in.

  • Check the Guide to Federal Records

  • Search the Regional Holdings Guides for each regional archives that link from this page. These provide greater detail on each region's holdings than does the Guide to Federal Records.

  • Review the other finding aids that link from this page. Each Region has prepared specific research aids on some of its most frequently requested records.

  • Search the online Microfilm Catalog

  • Use National Archives Holdings Guides to Locate Specific Records

What's New?

Historical Records Near You: Selected Guides and Research Aids for Archival Holdings at the Regional Archives

Historical documents are available to you at our locations throughout the United States. Each of our archival buildings contains different records. The guides on this page indicate the types of records housed in each facility. Also, by searching our online catalog, and our microfilm catalog, you may learn which records are located in any specific National Archives archival building.

California
The National Archives at Riverside

The National Archives at San Francisco

Colorado
The National Archives at Denver

Georgia
The National Archives at Atlanta

Illinois
The National Archives at Chicago

Massachusetts
The National Archives at Boston

Missouri
National Archives at Kansas City

New York
The National Archives at New York City

Pennsylvania
The National Archives at Philadelphia

Texas
The National Archives at Fort Worth

Washington
The National Archives at Seattle

Top of Page

PDF files require the free Adobe Reader.
More information on Adobe Acrobat PDF files is available on our Accessibility page.

Research Our Records >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.