Research Our Records

Independent Researchers for Hire

Researchers Specializing in African American Related Records *

African American Genealogy with Fallon Green
Palmetto Office; 11 Pearl Lane
Seabrook, SC 29940
Telephone:  (843) 597-0436 or (843) 846-9310
E-mail:  fallon.green15@gmail.com
Contact Person:  Fallon N. Green; Mgr: Paul Green
Research Specialty:  African Americans; Gullah and Geechee Genealogy; Oral Interviewing; Research Methodologies; Non-traditional resources; Records Retrieval; Heir Search: SC, FL and GA; American Indians; Seminole, Creek and Cherokee Freedmen; Civil War; Beginning Instruction; Document Retrieval; Genealogy Event Planning; Team Genealogy; Guerilla Research; Networking and Professional Development among researchers; Freedman's Bureau Records; Civil War Pensions; Personal Organizing.

ARC Media Distribution LLC
2304 Seminole Street
Adelphi, MD 20783-1638
Telephone:  (301)-385-5554
E-mail:  combotravel@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Andre R. Combo
Research Specialty: Black Gospel Music; American History; Jazz, Hip Hop, Pop; Early 40-70s; Nature; Animals; African American History; Classic Automobiles; Alternative Energy.

American Roots Company
451 Hungerford Drive, Suite 119-234
Rockville, MD 20850
Telephone:  (240) 383-7834
E-mail:  americanrootscompany@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Tina C. Jones
Research Specialty:  Geographic Area - Nationwide Searches, Early/Colonial Research, Tracing Back to 1st Immigrant Ancestor, African American/Slavery Research, Military Research, Verifying/Documenting Lineages for SAR and DAR.

BACM Research
264 South LaCienega Blvd #1142
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
Telephone:  (310) 289-2320
Fax:  (310) 289-2320
E-mail:  archivist@paperlessarchives.com
Contact Person:  John Spencer
Research Specialty:  All media types textual documents, photographs, film, video and audio recordings. Custom research and access to pre-compiled popular material and subjects through computer media. Subjects and topics include: African American History, Central Intelligence Agency, CIA CREST, Civil Rights, Civil War, Cold War, Crime, Department of Defense, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Foreign Policy, Korean War, National Security Agency, President Franklin Roosevelt, President Harry Truman, President Dwight Eisenhower, President John Kennedy, President Richard Nixon, President Gerald Ford, President Ronald Reagan, President George H.W. Bush, President George W. Bush, Slavery, Vietnam War, World War I, World War II.

Amylynne Baker-Santagate
20 Starwood Dr
Hampstead, NH 03841
Telephone:  (603) 247-1049
E-mail:  info@nhgenealogist.com
Contact Person:  Amylynne
Research Specialty:  Any + All available at these facilities listed below

Bonnie G. Rowan Film Research
1849 California Street NW
Washington, DC 20009-1808
Telephone:  (202) 265-1081
Fax:  (202) 265-1234
E-mail:  browan@his.com
Contact Person:  Bonnie G. Rowan

C. V. Brooks
Post Office Box 23827
Washington, DC 20026-3827
Telephone:  (202) 675-6302
E-mail:  cvbsailorssoldierscivilians@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  C. V. Brooks

The Center for African American Genealogical Research, Inc. (CAAGRI)
225 Industrial Court, Suite 100
Fredericksburg, VA 22408
Telephone:  (540) 785-9925
E-mail:  research@caagri.org
Contact Person:  Cynthia Campbell
Research Specialty:  African American, Native American, Census, Military, Court Records, Genealogy and Family History, Civil War, Slavery.

Martha Davidson
2520 41st Street NW #3
Washington, DC 20007
Telephone:  (202) 298-6937
Fax:  (202) 298-6937
E-mail:  mdwdc@sprintmail.com
Contact Person:  Martha Davidson
Research Specialty:  Still pictures, cartographic materials, and textual records.

Paultre Pierre Desrosiers, MD, MPH, PhD
24986 Mineral Springs Cir.
Aldie, VA 20105-5613
Telephone:  (703) 542-8124
E-mail:  pdesrosi@aol.com
Contact Person:  Paultre Pierre Desrosiers

Diplomatic and Intelligence Research
4469 Sedgwick St. NW
Washington, DC 20016
Telephone:  (202) 812-8466
E-mail: sim.smiley@gmail.com
Contact Person: Ms. Sim Smiley
Research Specialty:I specialize in diplomatic, intelligence and military history of the WII, the Cold War and beyond. Particular focus on: OSS, CIA, CIA Crest, State Dept, Captured German Records, Italy, France, Army Navy Intelligence, Biological Warfare, Nixon and the FBI. Fluent in French, Italian and Swedish and can also research in German and Spanish. Former NARA volunteer in Modern Military Branch where I compiled finding aids for OSS records.

Documents on Wheels
6904 Carleton Terrace
College Park, MD 20740-3621
Telephone:  (301) 277-2115
Fax:  (301) 277-2115
E-mail:  documentsonwheels@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Karen Needles

Ecoblack
Post Office Box 64210
Washington, DC 20029-4210
Telephone:  (888) 464-3646
Fax:  (240) 359-7543
E-mail:  envirotour@netzero.net
Contact Person:  Harold Hurtt, Jr.

Cary T. Faison, Jr.
Post Office Box 9485
Baltimore, MD
Telephone:  (443) 709-5002
E-mail:  infor@whiteslavesandindians.com
Contact Person:  Cary T. Faison, Jr.

Hollis L. Gentry
1500 Massachusetts Avenue NW APT 364
Washington, DC 20005-1823
Telephone:  (202) 833-9114
E-mail:  hollie_g_364@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Hollis L. Gentry

Clarissa Goodson
7140 George's Way
Morrow, GA 30260
Telephone:  (770) 960-9608
E-mail:  cygoodson@aol.com
Contact Person:  Clarissa Goodson

J. Marie Green
6330 Newtown Circle Apt B1
Tampa, FL 33615-3621
Telephone:  (813) 854-3243
E-mail:  jmarie0604@verizon.net
Contact Person:  J. Marie Green
Research Specialty:  Independent Scholar, Historian, African American History, Slavery, Reconstruction, WWI and WWII African American Soldiers, Courts-Martial UCMJ Records, Former Military Paralegal, Cemetery Preservation, Historical Surverys, African American Genealogy.

Satu Haase-Webb, Independent Historian and Researcher
1334 A Street, SE
Washington, DC 20003
Telephone:  (202) 257-6915
E-mail:  satuhw@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Satu Haase-Webb
Research Specialty: All media types-Text records,Still images/Photographs, Video and Audio recordings. Military history (Civil War, WWI, World War II, MilitaryGov/OMGUS, POWs etc.),  Holocaust, captured German records, Nuremberg and other war crimes trials, Diplomatic and intelligence records, (mil Intel/CIC, OSI, SSU, CIA etc.), Cold War African American History (Slavery, Civil Rights), Women, Immigration (19th/20th c.), Art, Social History (19th/20th c. Labor, etc.). On-site, 15+ yrs experience. Ex-gov historian. German speaker (native).

Keith Halderman
10502 Apple Ridge Road
Gaithersburg, MD 20886-1010
Telephone:  (301) 926-1594
E-mail:  khalderman@comcast.net
Contact Person:  Keith Halderman

Vanderlyn E. Hampton
2013 Bryant Ave
Baltimore, Maryland 21217
Telephone:  (410)900-6545
E-mail:  vanham76@hotmail.com
Contact Person:  Vanderlyn Hampton
Research Specialty: The Pentecostal Movement, African American History

Harvard Student Resources
67 Mt. Auburn St.
Cambridge, MA 02138
Telephone:  (617) 495-3033
Fax:  (617) 496-8015
E-mail:  hsr@mail.hsa.net
Contact Person:  Ali Evans
Research Specialty:  Harvard University Libraries + Archives

Helen Weiss Productions
Post Office Box 21264
Washington, DC 20009-0764
Telephone:  (202) 255-0380
E-mail:  hwprod2004@aol.com
Contact Person:  Helen Weiss

Historical Research Associates, Inc.
419 7th St. NW, Suite 403
Washington, D.C. 20004
Telephone:  (202) 557-0222
Fax:  (406) 721-1964
E-mail:  kzahniser@hrassoc.com
Contact Person:  Keith Zahniser
Research Specialty:  All research.

History Associates Incorporated
300 North Stonestreet Avenue
Rockville, MD 20850-1655
Telephone:  (301) 279-9697
Fax:  (301) 279-9224
E-mail:  hai@historyassociates.com
Contact Person:  Mike Reis

Matthew C. Hogan
8639-B 16th Street #350
Silver Spring, MD 20910-2273
Telephone:  (301) 922-9065
Fax:  (301) 589-6909
E-mail:  hoganresearch@gmail.com
Contact Person:  Matthew Hogan

Cheryll Toney Holley
78 Randolph Rd.
Worcester, MA 01606-2465
Telephone:  (508) 853-5575
E-mail:  crwritings@aol.com
Contact Person:  Cheryll Toney Holley
Research Specialty:  Native American, African American, New England, Pension records

Investigative Family History Researcher
110 Columbus Cove
Stafford, VA 22554-1944
Telephone:  (540) 657-4867
E-mail:  Char.bah@va.gov
Contact Person:  Char McCargo Bah, Professional Genealogist
Research Specialty:  African American families in post-pre Civil War period; Virginia research in personal and land property; court house and vital statistics records; census records; U.S. World War II veterans records; DAL; Library of Congress and other VA institutes

Library Consultant Services LLC
24081 Ithaca St.
Oak Park, MI 48237-3511
Telephone:  (248) 629-7774
Fax:  (248) 629-7775
E-mail:  lawanda.cox@comcast.net
Contact Person: Lawanda V. Cox
Research Specialty:  Online search and retrieval on American History and African American documents and literature, Editing and Proofreading manuscripts for Historical books and electronic literature, Abstract writing for historical articles and literature, Content writing for history related newsletters, websites.

Shannon Bridget Murphy
2660 Petersborough Street
Herndon, VA 20171-2443
Telephone:   (703) 864-3099
E-mail:   shannoninpapertrails@yahoo.com
Research Specialty:   Asbestos: Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records; Diplomatic Records; Family History; Immigration and Naturalization; Intelligence; Labor and Transportation; Military Records - Military searches including lineage and patriotic applications; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental Records; Audio and Sound Recordings; Motion Pictures and Audio-Silent films; Film and Video; Photo Stills and Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures
Contact Person:   Shannon Bridget Murphy

Shanetta Oliver
P.O. Box 6204
Capitol Heights, MD 20791-6204
Telephone:  (240) 412-6182
E-mail:  oliverresearchsvcs@gmail.com
Contact Person:  Shanetta Oliver
Research Specialty:  African-American history, DOJ, FBI, and other law enforcement records, CIA, military records, immigration and naturalization, Census records, Genealogy

Sadie Pasha
3410 Robey Terrace
Silver Spring, MD 20904
Telephone: (240) 560-6139
E-mail:  Gen_Query@mail.com
Contact Person:  Sadie Pasha
Research Specialty:  Genealogy and Family History Records, Jews of Spain and Portugal, Oral Traditions, Culture, Religion, "Geechee" West Africans and Cherokees of South Carolina and Georgia. Conducted twenty-year One Name Study of Cohen surname among enslaved "Geechee" and Free Persons of Color in Georgetown, Edgefield, Beaufort, Charleston and Savannah. Presention of historical, genealogical and biographical research on Portuguese Jews (Secret Jews)and descendants, Southern Jews, Indenture, Slavery, Rice Plantations, Emigration, Immigration and Naturalization Records, Family charts, Photographs, American Revolutionary War and Pension Records, Census Records, Court Records, Civil War and Freedmen Records, Reconstruction, Dawes Roll, WWI, WWII, and researching International, National and State Digital Archives (Libraries).

ResearchPlus
Post Office Box 638
Severna Park, MD 21146-0638
Telephone:  (410) 729-4050
E-mail:  researchplus@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Cathy Sippel or Jack Schworm

Second Chance Office Support
2335 Wilder Street
Philadelphia, PA 19146-4111
Telephone:  (267) 639-3950
E-mail:  elllieparks@comcast.net
Contact Person:  Eleanor Parks

Edward A. Singer
7512 Sweetbriar Dr.
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone:  (703) 203-7770
E-mail:  edward.a.singer@gmail.com
Contact Person: Edward Singer
Research Specialty: General Research, All Topics, Find and Make Copies.

Jordan B. Smith
7724 Hickory Glen Way
Springfield, VA 22153
Telephone:  (717) 350-3820
E-mail:  jordan.buchanan.smith@gmail.com
Contact Person:  Jordan Smith
Research Specialty:  General Research, African-American History, Early-American History, Genealogy

Stenger Historica
9506 Dabney Court
Fredericksburg, VA 22408-7744
Telephone:   (540) 834-0684
E-mail:   stengerhistorica@gmail.com
Contact Person:   Dieter Stenger
Research Specialty:   Captured German records including SS, SA, NSKK, RUSNA and NSDAP files, all personnel records for officers and enlisted, and all combat formations/unit records of the army and SS, and all records of the SS. Fluent in German. Translation Services Available.

Strange Research
PO Box 7165
McLean, VA 22106-7165
Telephone:   (202) 320-2672
E-mail:   strangeresearch@mac.com
Contact Person:   Susan Strange
Research Specialty:   Motion pictures - full time on site research; still photographs and textual records - all subjects.

Marc D. Thompson
708 Enfield Rd
Delray Beach, FL 33444-2625
Telephone:  (561) 676-6179
E-mail:  marc@familyhistorygenealogist.com
Contact Person:  Marc D. Thompson
Research Specialty:  African American, Genealogy.

Juli Turano
6980 S Bannock Street Apt 8
Littleton, CO 80120-3866
Telephone: (303) 798-2108
E-mail: juli.belle@live.com
Contact Person: Juli Turano
Research Specialty: Government (All)- Economics, Financial, Congressional, Executive, Judicial; Corporate - SEC, Intelligence, Lobby, Patents, Trademarks; Real Estate - GeoSat, Civil-Land, Taxes, Liens; Popular Fact Checking - Political, Current Events, Quotes; Historical, Ancestry, World Events

Visual Research Consultant
3356 Pennsylvania Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20020-2407
Telephone:  (202) 584-3994
Fax:  (202) 584-3094
E-mail:  susanhormuth@verizon.net
Contact Person:  Susan Hormuth
Research Specialty:  Motion Picture, Sound and Video recordings, and Still Picture Research. All subject areas, with particular experience in popular culture, African-American history, Civil Rights, World Wars, Korean and Vietnam wars. Full-time, on-site research. Twenty-five years experience in visual research in DC area.

Nicole Watson
5813 Wellborn Creek Drive
Lithonia, GA 30058-3568
Telephone:  (770) 323-8929 or (678) 758-9142
Fax:  (678) 418-8347
E-mail:  watsonnicole@att.net
Contact Person:  Nicole Watson
Research Specialty:  African American history - Census records - Court records - Genealogy and Family History records - Labor & business history/Transportation/Regulatory Agency records/ Military records, Still Pictures, Film & Videos.

John H. Whitfield/Aritel
10 Sunset Drive
Tallassee, AL 36078-1230
Telephone:  (334) 283-4100
E-mail:  JohnCar@att.net
Contact Person:  John H. Whitfield
Research Specialty:  African-American historical and genealogical research-early colonial to 20th century; military experience-American and African American, 1700s to present; Civil War research-pension records search and analysis; antebellum slavery specialities - individual and family research.


Find a researcher by:


*Note:   Researchers for hire are not NARA employees. Any individual or company that does research in our holdings on behalf of others is free to join the listing. For information on how to get on the Independent Researchers for Hire lists, see the Opportunity for Independent Researchers page.

Inclusion on the independent researcher lists should not be viewed as an endorsement of the quality of the researchers' work, and NARA will not be responsible for any arrangement made with independent researchers. Such arrangements, including the character, extent, and cost of the work, are purely private, contractual matters between the independent researcher and you. It also is up to you to determine whether or not the researcher's experience and qualifications meet your needs. Comments or complaints received by NARA regarding any individual independent researcher on the listing will be forwarded to that researcher for resolution.

Top of Page

Research Our Records >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.