Research at the National Archives

  • Print
  • Bookmark/Share

Independent Researchers for Hire

Researchers Specializing in Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization Records *

AAA Document Research and Retrieval Service, a wholly owned subsidiary of DFW Paralegal Service
P.O. Box 48010
Fort Worth, TX 76148-0010
Telephone: (800) 758-4882
Fax: (817) 339-6156
E-mail: info@dfwparalegalservice.com
Contact Person: Jim Barber
Research Specialty: State & Federal Document Research and Retrieval; Civil, Criminal & Bankruptcy Court Records; Immigration Records; Texas County & Court Records.

Aaron's American Ancestor Research
P.O. Box 50561
Provo, UT 84605-0561
Telephone: (801) 836-1996
E-mail: americanancestors@gmail.com
Contact Person: Aaron or Jeff Jones
Research Specialty: All records that are of genealogical value. This includes Record Group 75. Immigration, military, family history, census.

Adventure Research
P.O. Box 270933
Louisville, Colorado 80027
Telephone: (303) 641-8412
E-mail: renee@adventureresearch.com
Contact Person: Renee Meade
Research Specialty:Historical records for the Rocky Mtn West, Census Records, Genealogy and Family History, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization Records; Photographs and Pictures.

AncestorFind
625 Meadowlark Road
Audubon, PA 19403
Telephone: (610) 666-6567(home); (610) 772-7046(cell)
E-mail: ancestorfind@gmail.com
Contact Person: Mary Louise Fizpatrick

Ancestral Branches
Post Office Box 362
Hamburg, PA 19526-0362
Telephone: (610) 562-5524
Contact Person: Melanie Karvoski

Arbor Genealogy
12810 SE 296th Way
Auburn, WA 98092-3241
Telephone: (253) 951-0287
Fax: (253) 323-7315
E-mail: info@arborgenealogy.com
Contact Person: Jessica Hacken

Archival Expeditions
29598 Jennifer Drive
Mechanicsville, MD 20659-3073
Telephone: (240)434-5285
E-mail: archivalexpeditions@gmail.com
Contact Person: Julie French
Research Specialty: ships logs; immigration records; naturalization records; pension records; revolutionary war ; civil war; WWI; WWII; Korean war; Vietnam war; draft registrations; military service records.

Archives Research
1720 Irving Street 4
San Francisco, CA 94122-1843
Telephone: (415) 731-1612
E-mail: archivesresearch@sbcglobal.net
Contact Person: Kathleen O'Conner

Marilyn L. Arnold
Find Your Family
Falls Church, VA 22042-2006
Telephone: (703) 534-6668
Fax: (703) 534-6668
E-mail: find.your.family@verizon.net
Contact Person: Marilyn L. Arnold

Dara A. Baker PhD (ABD)
1800 N. Oak St # 1306
Arlington, VA 22209
Telephone: (631) 766-5181
E-mail: dabaker.research@gmail.com
Contact Person: Dara A. Baker
Research Specialty: United States and British History, Congressional Records, esp. 19th & 20th century, Judicial Records, Native American, African American, Genealogy, Immigration, Census, Military/Pension, Political, Congressional & Presidential, State Records, Personal Papers, Petitions to Congress, RG 46, Rg 283, Rare Books

Susan Berlowitz
345 Pleasant Avenue, #2
New York, NY 10035-4342
Telephone: (212) 426-7392
Fax: (212) 426-7392
E-mail: berlowitzsusan@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Susan Berlowitz

Kelley Bevis
611 Pennsylvania Avenue, #412
Washington, DC 20003-4303
Telephone: (202) 431-0788
E-mail: TexLabooks@gmail.com
Contact Person: Kelley Bevis

Kenneth Bishop
8 Dobbins Street
Waltham, MA 02451
E-mail: kepb100@hotmail.com
Contact Person: Kenneth Bishop
Research Specialty: New England research-census records, passenger arrival lists, Canadian Border Entry Records

Bloodlines Genealogical Research Service
7231 Town Court South
Lawrenceville, NJ 08648-4729
Telephone: (609) 933-6000
E-mail: bloodlines@comcast.net
Contact Person: Claire Keenan Agthe

Evie Bresette, CG
307 West 109th Street
Kansas City, MO 64114-4907
Telephone: (816) 941-7545
Fax: (816) 942-7210
E-mail: eviebresette@everestkc.net
Contact Person: Evie Bresette

Brophy Professional Genealogy and Heir Tracing
198 Patricia Drive
Abington, MA 02351-1047
Telephone: (781) 738-2671
Fax: (781) 878-0720
E-mail: mbrophy@brophygen.com
Contact Person: Michael Brophy
Research Specialty: Immigration & Naturalization, Census Records, Genealogy & Family History, Irish-American, New England

Victoria Brown
18 Observation Court, Apt 002
Gaithersburg, MD 20874
Telephone: (301) 740-3358
E-mail: perseusmagic@frontiernet.net
Contact Person: Victoria Brown

Michelle L. Chubenko
149 Tyler Avenue
Carteret, NJ 07008-1725
Telephone: (732) 969-2652
E-mail: michelle@chubenko.us
Contact Person: Michelle L. Chubenko
Research Specialty: 19th-20th Century Urban Research, Genealogy and Family Records,Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization.

Heather Cole
199 Pleasant Street
Norwood, MA 02062-4801
Telephone: (617) 216-4978
E-mail: norwoodhistory@cs.com
Contact Person: Heather Cole
Research Specialty: Genealogy, family history, local history, census records, naturalization records-New England, vital records-Massachusetts, town records-Massachusetts, JFK Presidential Library.

Common Folk Ancestry
9 Whitetail Lane
Kittery, ME 03904-5429
Telephone: (207) 439-3755
Fax: (207) 439-4762
E-mail: CommonFolk@comcast.net
Contact Person: Margaret Dube
Research Specialty: Immigration and naturalization records; passenger lists; census schedules; military records.

Joan M. Croson
11 Cardigan Court
Waldorf, MD 20602
E-mail: rootshelp@comcast.net
Contact Person: Joan M. Croson
Research Specialty: census, immigration and naturalization, military, pension, bounty land warrants

The Coyle Group
P.O. Box 361
Mount Vernon, VA 22121-0361
Telephone: (703) 799-7303
Fax: (703)799-7304
E-mail: coylegroup@cox.net
Contact Person: Robert J. Coyle

Pamela Dallas
Post Office Box 2826
Granite Bay, CA 95746-2826
Telephone: (916) 791-7425
Fax: (916) 791-3285
E-mail: pbdallas@earthlink.net
Contact Person: Pamela Dallas

Martha Davidson
2520 41st Street NW
Washington, DC 20007
Telephone: (202) 298-6937
Fax: (202) 298-6937
E-mail: mdwdc@sprintmail.com
Contact Person: Martha Davidson
Research Specialty: Still pictures and textual records, all subjects.

Jonathan Webb Deiss
805 1/2 Maryland Avenue NE
Washington, DC 20002-5305
Telephone: (202) 270-1882
E-mail: jondeiss@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Jonathan Webb Deiss
Research Specialty:Military, Genealogy, Land, Native American, Immigration.

Fred Dews
11144 Forest Edge Drive
Reston, VA 20190-4027
Telephone: (703) 851-5729
E-mail: fredm01812@hotmail.com
Contact Person: Fred Dews

Margie Ellis
PO Box 1720
New York, NY 10013-0871
Telephone: (617) 797-1904
E-mail: nyresearch@live.com
Contact Person: Margie Ellis

Family Discovery Services
1171 West Mill Drive
Kennesaw, GA 30152-3954
Telephone: (678) 581-0749
E-mail: smc85p@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Sharon M. Carberry, J.D.

Family Research Services
849 E. Charleston Rd.
Palo Alto, CA 94303
Telephone: (650) 868-4486
E-mail: ybarra@FamilyResearchweb.com
Contact Person: Carolyn Ybarra, Ph. D.
Research Specialty: Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Customs, Immigration and Naturalization, Genealogy and Family History.

Richard Franzen
3 Deer Trail
Tabernacle, NJ 08088-9737
Telephone: (609) 859-3569
E-mail: archivresearch@aol.com
Contact Person: Richard Franzen

Genealogy Family Research
29598 Jennifer Drive
Mechanicsville, MD 20659-3073
Telephone: (240)434-5285
E-mail: genealogyfamilyresearch@gmail.com
Contact Person: Julie French
Research Specialty: ships logs; immigration; naturalization; pension records; census records; revolutionary war ; civil war; WWI; WWII; Korean war; Vietnam war; draft registrations

Carole Goggin
9376 Oak Leaf Trail
Hillsboro, MO 63050-2400
Telephone: (636)797-5622
E-mail: historytalks@sbcglobal.net
Contact Person: Carole Goggin

Brian Eugene Gunn
18636 Hedgegrove Terrace
Olney, MD 20832-1812
Telephone: (240) 277-1276
Fax: (301) 570-5828
E-mail: be_gunn@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Brian Gunn

Michael Hait
16013 Kenny Road
Laurel, MD 20707
Telephone: (301) 642-4217
E-mail: michael.hait@hotmail.com
Contact Person: Michael Hait
Research Specialty: Census, American Revolution, ship arrivals, genealogy

Jennifer Hallock
935 Rte 5, #8
Brattleboro, VT 05301
Telephone: (802) 380-2484
E-mail: jhgenealogy@gmail.com
Contact Person: Jennifer Hallock
Research Specialty: New England, Vital records Vermont, immigration Military

The Hannah Family Foundation
Box 27
Point Lookout, MO 65726
Telephone: (866) 523-2993 or (480) 778-0459
Fax: given upon request
E-mail: thehannahfamilyfoundation@safe-mail.net
E-mail: hannahfamilyfoundation@gmail.com
Contact Person: M. L. 'Mel' Gentry
Research Specialty: Little Shell Nation, Family genealogy, Turnbo papers Silas Turnbo, Historical data, maps, Native Indigenous American Indians, Military Records.

Joel Harrington
950 3rd Avenue
Redwood City, CA 94063-4005
Telephone: (650) 368-0614
E-mail: cobberraney@comcast.net
Contact Person: Joel Harrington

Helen Weiss Productions
Post Office Box 21264
Washington, DC 20009-0764
Telephone: (202) 255-0380
E-mail: hwprod2004@aol.com
Contact Person: Helen Weiss

Matthew C. Hogan
P.O. Box 643
Burtonsville, MD 20866
Telephone: (301) 922-9065
Fax: (301) 890-0688
E-mail: hoganresearch@gmail.com
Contact Person: Matthew Hogan
Research Specialty: African American History, Asbestos, Court Records; Coast Guard/Lighthouse; Immigration; Military Records; Science/Technology; Diplomatic Records; Captured German Records; Census; Cold War records; Congressional Records; Genealogy and Family History Records; Intelligence records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon records; Still Photos; Audio-Visual.

Imagefinders, Inc.
6101 Utah Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20015-2461
Telephone: (202) 244-4456
E-mail: hartjens@erols.com
Contact Person: Elisabeth M. Hartjens

Raymond W. Johnson
4237 Sunnyside Ave
Brookfield, IL 60513
Telephone: (708) 387-1884
E-mail: rayjohnson@historycop.com
Contact Person: Ray Johnson
Research Specialty: Census/Naturalization/Military

Kanzler Research
PO Box 664
Melville, New York 11747
Telephone: (917) 855-3265
E-mail: fconsler@att.net
Contact Person: Frank Consler
Research Specialty: Due Diligence, kinship matters, unknown missing heirs, vital records, passenger lists, immigration, and naturalization.

Eric G. Karisa
1701 Park Road NW, Apt. 206
Washington, DC 20010
E-mail: erickarisa@hotmail.com
Contact Person: Eric G. Karisa

Susan S. Koelble, CGRS
Post Office Box 134
Southampton, PA 18966-0134
Telephone: (215) 355-2881
Fax: (215) 355-6311
E-mail: bareroot@aol.com
Contact Person: Susan Koelble

Joan Kusek
9640 Walmer
Overland Park, KS 66212-1554
Telephone:  (913) 648-8725
E-mail:  vntgprdcts@everestkc.net
Contact Person:  Joan Kusek
Research Specialty:  Census, Naturalizations, War Records, Native American, Land - All U.S. plus personal collection of Kansas City(Wyandotte Co., KS), Bates Co., MO records.

Rosanna Martinez
P.O.Box 347751
Coral Gables, FL
Telephone:  (305) 389-9134
E-mail:  rosannamartinez@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Rosanna Martinez
Research Specialty:  General Research. All subjects. Research in Spanish, Russian and English.

Gail Lelyveld
205 C Street NE Apt 1
Washington, DC 20002-5764
Telephone: (516) 509-4137
E-mail: glelyveld@gmail.com
Contact Person: Gail Lelyveld
Research Specialty: Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, World War II, Wars of Expansion: Mexican, Spanish American War, Vietnam, Iraq, and Afghan/Pakistan, Women's Issues, Civil rights, Peace Movements, Torture, Immigration

Linda Altman Southern Genealogy
PO Box 99690
Raleigh, NC 27624-9690
Telephone: (919) 696-5649
E-mail: moreinfo@southerngenealogy.com
Contact Person: Linda Altman
Research Specialty: Military, Family History, Passenger Arrivals

Mehira Lozano
11586 Greenwich Point Road
Reston, VA 20194-9733
Telephone: (831) 588-4692
E-mail: mehira@sbcglobal.net
Contact Person: Mehira Lozano
Research Specialty: American studies, immigration, Latin American Latino studies

Richard J. Macon
PO Box 996
Bayonne, NJ 07002
Telephone: (201) 320-1927
E-mail: bayway1@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Richard J. Macon
Research Specialty: military, Immigration & Naturalization, censuses, Catholic records

Rosanna Martinez
P.O.Box 347751
Coral Gables, FL
Telephone:  (305) 389-9134
E-mail:  rosannamartinez@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Rosanna Martinez
Research Specialty:  General Research. All subjects. Research in Spanish, Russian and English.

Elizabeth McCall
3822 Bailey Avenue 3C
Bronx, NY 10463-2516
Telephone: (347) 427-2406
Fax: (347) 427-2406
E-mail: emccall@optonline.net
Contact Person: Elizabeth McCall
Research Specialty: Immigration/Naturalization, Irish in America, Military Records, Patent/Copyright/Trademark, Genealogy.

Marjorie Judith Mcmillan
1303 Diamond Drive
Newtown, PA 18940
Telephone: (215) 579-7714
E-mail: Mcmillan_judy@hotmail.com
Contact Person: Judy McMillan

Shannon Bridget Murphy
2660 Petersborough Street
Herndon, VA 20171-2443
Telephone: (703) 864-3099
E-mail: shannoninpapertrails@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Shannon Bridget Murphy

Mygenealogist.com
3328 34th Street
Boulder, CO 80301
Telephone: (800) 416-3497
E-mail: helpdesk@mygenealogist.com
Contact Person: Elizabeth Khan
Research Specialty: Immigration and naturalization records, Native American genealogy, African-American genealogy, colonial ancestors.

The New York Public Library-NYPL EXPRESS
188 Madison Avenue
New York, NY 10016-4314
Telephone: (212) 592-7200
Fax: (212) 592-7215
E-mail: express@nypl.org
Contact Person: Richard Foster-Research Coordinator
Research Specialty: Court Records, Manuscript research, Genealogy, Census, Immigration, Military records

Patricia Hackett Nicola, Certified Genealogist
2908 27th Avenue West
Seattle, WA 98199-2853
Telephone:  (206) 284-5232
Fax:  (206) 284-5232
E-mail:  phn@familytraces.com
Contact Person:  Patricia "Trish" Nicola
Research Specialty:  Washington and Oregon territorial census; Passenger arrival, naturalization, pension and bounty land warrant applications; Oregon and Washington land claims and files; Chinese Exclusion Act files; court records.

NICOM, Inc.
1316 Queen Street
Alexandria, VA 22314-2406
Telephone: (703) 684-4636
Fax: (703) 684-7335
E-mail: seek@nicom.com
Contact Person: Dr. John Arnold

O'Day, Pamela A.
333 Old Bay Lane, #10
Havre de Grace, MD 21078-4018
Telephone: (410) 939-4554
E-mail: pkoverman@aol.com
Contact Person:Pamela O'Day

Partners in History
950 NW Elford Drive
Seattle, WA 98177-4125
Telephone: (206) 275-1114
E-mail: saboswell@msn.com
Contact Person: Sharon Boswell

Patricia Flores DBA The Family Historian
425 S. 156th St., Apt 134-B
Burien, WA 98148-1261
Telephone: (206) 246-8536
E-mail: no1familyhistorian@hotmail.com
Contact Person: Patricia Flores

Prove the Line Genealogy Services
9708 Kingsbridge Dr., Suite 104
Fairfax, VA 22031
Telephone: (703) 593-2820
E-mail: dawn@ProveTheLine.com
Contact Person: Dawn M. Brady
Research Specialty: NARA research includes Genealogy and Family History Records, Census Records, Land Records, Immigration/Naturalization Records, Military Service Records, Pension Records, Bounty Land Warrant Records. Whether your genealogy project is large or small, Prove the Line Genealogy Services is here to help you. We offer a variety of services, all at competitive rates, including Record Look-Up Service, Lineage Society Application Preparation Service, Tombstone/Cemetery Photo Service, and an Hourly Genealogical Research Service. Member Association of Professional Genealogists, National Genealogical Society, and National Institute for Genealogical Research Alumni.

Ellen Rafferty
7743 Emerson Road
Hyattsville, MD 20784-1745
Telephone: (301) 577-9432
E-mail: ellen rafferty@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Ellen Rafferty

ResearchPlus
Post Office Box 638
Severna Park, MD 21146-0638
Telephone: (410) 729-4050
E-mail: researchplus@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Cathy Sippel or Jack Schworm

Roma Roots
6230 N. Kenmore, #908
Chicago, IL 60660
Telephone: 773-649-4968
Fax: (801) 348-3125
E-mail: romaroots@gmail.com
Contact Person: Joshua D. Roma

Roscommon
2250 W. Lawrence Ave. #1
Chicago, IL 60625-1929
Telephone: (773) 290-8003
E-mail: doc@roscommon.com
Contact Person: Doc Kane

Schneden Genealogical & Historical Research
625 East Acorn Street
Gardner, KS 66030
Telephone: (913) 660-0656
E-mail: bschneden@gmail.com
Contact Person: Brian Schneden

Sharp Research
6035 30th Ave, NE
Seattle, WA 98115
Telephone: (206) 523-9755
E-mail: sharpres@gmail.com
Contact Person: Virginia L. Sharp

T/A East Europe Connection
1711 Corwin Drive
Silver Spring, MD 20910-1533
Telephone: (301) 585-0117
E-mail: lkrupnak@erols.com
Contact Person: Laurence Krupnak

Marsha Ann Tate, Ph.D.
132 South Main Street
Pleasant Gap, PA 16823-3210
Telephone: (814) 359-3367
E-mail: marsha@mtateresearch.com
Contact Person: Marsha Ann Tate
Research Specialty: Census Records, Congressional Records, Court Records, Diplomatic Records, Genealogy and Family History Records, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization Records, Intelligence, Labor and Business History/Transportation/Regulatory Agency Records, Military Records, Audio/Sound Recordings, Film and Video Recordings, Photographs and Pictures

Taylor & Hammel LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
1224 N. Meade Street #22
Arlington, VA 22209-3712
Telephone: (703) 822-4658
Fax: (703) 842-8656
E-mail: info@taylorhammel.com
E-mail: johntaylor@taylorhammel.com
Contact Person: John Taylor - Senior Researcher
Research Specialty: Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration & Naturalization; Labor & business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures

Touchstone Research Group, LLC.
424 Park Avenue South, Suite 123
New York, NY 10016
Telephone: (877) 846-4700
Fax: (877) 846-4700
E-mail: info@touchstoneresearchgroup.com
Contact Person: William Hammond

Juli Turano
6910 S Bannock Street 3
Littleton, CO 80120-3866
Telephone: (303) 794-3557
E-mail: turanojuli@aol.com
Contact Person: Juli Turano

Betty Ann Tyson
87 Pierce Road
Watertown, MA 02472-3033
Telephone: (617) 924-7715
E-mail: ba_tyson@comcast.net
Contact Person: Betty Ann Tyson

Up, Roots! Genealogy Research Services
27 West Penn Street
Long Beach, NY 11561-4032
Telephone: (516) 889-7163
E-mail: Judith27@aol.com
Contact Person: Judith Langer-Surnamer Caplan
Research Specialty: U.S. Census; New York Naturalizations; World War II Old Men's Draft Registration; New York and Philadelphia Passenger Arrivals, Immigration Records, NY State Vital Record Indexes, Due Diligence, as well as various CDs available at NARA-NE

Valerie Metzler Archivist/Historian
114 Ruskin Drive
Altoona, PA 16602-2916
Telephone: (814) 940-0493
Fax: (814) 940-0493
E-mail: vmah@keyconn.net
Contact Person: Valerie A. Metzler

Charles M. Vaughn
P.O. Box 4056
Windham, NH 03087-9998
Telephone: (617) 791-4757
E-mail: traptapper@aol.com
Contact Person: Charlie Vaughn
Research Specialty: New England states real estate title searches; state & federal court decisions; genealogy; family history; census records; naturalization records; vital statistics: birth, death, marriage and divorce; passenger lists.

Vintage Products
9640 Walmer
Overland Park, Kansas 66212-1554
Telephone:  (913) 648-8725
E-mail:  jk@everestkc.net
Contact Person:  Joan Kusek
Research Specialty: census, war records, land records, Native American, naturalization

Pamela A. Weisberger
630 22nd Street
Santa Monica, CA 90402-3122
Telephone: (310) 451-9844
Fax: (310) 451-2727
E-mail: pweisberger@hotmail.com
Contact Person: Pamela A. Weisberger


Find a researcher by:

*Note:   Researchers for hire are not NARA employees. Any individual or company that does research in our holdings on behalf of others is free to join the listing. For information on how to get on the Independent Researchers for Hire lists, see the Opportunity for Independent Researchers page.

Inclusion on the independent researcher lists should not be viewed as an endorsement of the quality of the researchers' work, and NARA will not be responsible for any arrangement made with independent researchers. Such arrangements, including the character, extent, and cost of the work, are purely private, contractual matters between the independent researcher and you. It also is up to you to determine whether or not the researcher's experience and qualifications meet your needs. Comments or complaints received by NARA regarding any individual independent researcher on the listing will be forwarded to that researcher for resolution.

Top of Page

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
8601 Adelphi Road, College Park, MD 20740-6001
Telephone: 1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272