Research Our Records

Independent Researchers for Hire - Media Types

Researchers Specializing in Motion Picture, Sound, and Video Recordings*

Note: To ensure fairness, this list displays in random order each time it is viewed.
Be sure to view the entire list.

Scott Russell
20 Covina Ave
Long Beach, CA 90803
Telephone: (562) 433-2312
E-mail: askrussell@aol.com
Research Specialty: The Nixon presidency and administration, including staff, cabinet departments, domestic policies, foreign relations, politics, campaigns, publicity. Experienced with all media collections (documents, tapes, photos, film/video).

Elisabeth M. Hartjens
Imagefinders, Inc.
6101 Utah Ave NW
Washington, DC 20015-2461
Telephone: (202) 244-4456
Fax: (202) 244-3237
E-mail: hartjens@erols.com
Research Specialty: Motion picture, sound, and video; still images; textual records, including Congressional, Coast Guard and lighthouse, diplomatic, military, Navy, immigration and naturalization, and Nixon related records

Satu Haase-Webb
Satu Haase-Webb, Independent Historian and Researcher
1334 A St SE
Washington, DC 20003
Telephone: (202) 257-6915
E-mail: satuhw@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: All media types-textual records, still images/photographs, video and audio recordings. World War II, captured German records, Holocaust, Diplomatic, military, intelligence records, African American History, Women, Immigration, Art, Social History (Labor, etc.), Cold War. Civil Rights.
About: On-site, 15+ yrs experience. German speaker (native)

Michael Constandy
Westmoreland Research
PO Box 20069
Alexandria, VA 22320-9804
Telephone: (202) 421-5151
Fax: (703) 317-1709
E-mail: mjc@westmorelandresearch.org
Research Specialty: Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard; Diplomatic; Intelligence; Military Records; Navy; Film and Video; Photos and Pictures

Joseph P. Harris
Absolutely Archives
PO Box 922
Greenbelt, MD 20768-0922
Telephone: (703) 967-3070
Fax: (301) 474-8290
E-mail: info@absolutelyarchives.com
Research Specialty: Motion Pictures, Still Pictures, Sound Recordings, Video Recordings

Joan Yoshiwara
1844 Mintwood Pl NW
Washington, DC 20009-1908
Telephone: (202) 332-1000
Fax: (202) 462-6266
E-mail: joanyosh@juno.com
Research Specialty: Archival film and photos; public domain images; foreign policy

Katie Rasdorf
4393 Kevin Walker Dr 228
Montclair, VA 22025
Telephone: (202) 498-4447
Fax: (703) 656-4851
E-mail: krasdorf@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Modern military records; Genealogy; WWII; Korea; Vietnam; Cold War, Prisoners of War (POW); Missing in Action (MIA); Aerial imagery, cartography, still photos

David Thaxton; Kevin Green
Thaxton Green Studios, Inc.
PO Box 360
Millwood, VA 22646
Telephone: (540) 837-9300
E-mail: david@thaxtongreen.com
Research Specialty: Motion Pictures, Video and Still Picture research for inclusion into television documentaries, feature films and other media productions. Vietnam - Provide unit and 201 File documentation for use in VA claims. Specific - 1st Cav. Division Awards, Orders, unit & individual.
About: 30 years experience in archive research, consultation and production.

Minda Novek
Meaning in Forms
120 Kenilworth Pl 5D
Brooklyn, NY 11210-2447
Telephone: (718) 398-9656
E-mail: minda@meaninginforms.com; mnovek@optimum.net
Research Specialty: American history (all periods, especially 19th and 20th century), World history, people, cultural events and figures, scientific discovery; NARA photographs and pictures, film and video recordings, sound recordings

Bob Kerstein CPA, CGMA
Old Company Research
PO Box 223795
Chantilly, VA 20153
Telephone: (703) 787-3552
Fax: (703) 995-4422
E-mail: research@oldcompany.com
Research Specialty: Business, Financial, Commerce.

Ryan Curtis
Archive Research Associates
539 Calef Hwy Ste 206
Epping, NH 03042
Telephone: (603) 978-7456
E-mail: rcurtis@archiveresearch.com
Research Specialty: Environmental, Regulatory, Labor Records, and Military Records

Erica L. Risberg, Ph. D.
Shared Context Consultants, LLC
950 SW 21st Ave Apt PH-D
Portland, OR 97205
Telephone: (917) 575-4618
E-mail: erica.l.risberg@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Technology, government agency documents, business correspondence, business records, 20th century documents, rural history, sound and video recordings.

Keith Zahniser
Historical Research Associates, Inc.
419 7th St NW Ste 403
Washington, DC 20004
Telephone: (202) 557-0222
Fax: (406) 721-1964
E-mail: kzahniser@hrassoc.com
Research Specialty: All research.

Jeremy Bigwood
Archival Research
3200 16th Street NW 806
Washington, DC 20010-3348
Telephone: (202) 361-5000
Fax: (202) 319-9150
E-mail: jeremybigwood@gmail.com
Research Specialty: All records regardless of media from 1700s to present including United States and Russian intelligence, military, diplomatic and civilian records as well as captured German military and police records (1890s-1945).
About: Research can be carried out simultaneously by professional researchers in both the US and in Russian archives-or either one of the two-essential for any serious WWII or Cold War research. Open records laws (such as the US FOIA) can be used as an adjunct to archival research by declassifying responsive records directly from governments, where applicable.

Janice Campion
Campion Research
6009 43rd Ave
Hyatsville, MD 20781
Telephone: (301) 442-6930
E-mail: jcampion@campionresearch.com
Research Specialty: Emergency Management, Voluntary Agencies, Landmine Risk Education, Science Education, Stills and Motion Pictures, Foreign Media, History, Aging, Mining, Design.

Horace C. White
Harmani Associates International LLC
1800 JFK Blvd Ste 300
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Telephone: (215) 253-4410
E-mail: hcwlaw@harmani.com
Research Specialty: Genealogical and family history including but not limited to: immigration and naturalization records; census records; birth, marriage and other vital records; court and land records; Navy records; and church records; architectural drawings, films.

John Taylor - Senior Researcher
Taylor & Hammel LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
1240 N Pitt St Ste 200
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone: (703) 822-4658
Fax: (703) 842-8656
E-mail: johntaylor@taylorhammel.com
Research Specialty: Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration & Naturalization; Labor & Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures

Yeme Hailu
PO Box 9324
Washington, DC 20005
Telephone: (202) 734-2952
E-mail: globaladdis@yahoo.com; letmeresearch@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Research specialties are genealogy, records media, series, subjects, any topics.

Jim Barber
AAA Document Research and Retrieval Service, a wholly owned subsidiary of DFW Paralegal Service
PO Box 48010
Fort Worth, TX 76148-0010
Telephone: (800) 758-4882
Fax: (817) 339-6156
E-mail: info@dfwparalegalservice.com
Research Specialty: State & Federal Document Research and Retrieval; Civil, Criminal & Bankruptcy Court Records; Immigration Records; Texas County & Court Records.

BJ Anderson
BJ Alderman
211 E 79th Ter
Kansas City, MO 64114
Telephone: (816) 824-8071
E-mail: luvdale884@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Truman Library, Eisenhower Library, Clinton Center, Civil War, WWII, WWI, Native Americans, westward expansion, transportation, manufacturing, history of individuals, groups, organizations, businesses, historic photographs, lawmen, outlaws, litigation, court cases, the arts, science, technology, Federal government, state government, local government, maps, architectural drawings, films.

Gina McNeely
Gina McNeely Picture Research
21470 Basil Ct
Broadlands, VA 20148-3611
Telephone: (703) 723-6770
E-mail: gina.mcneely@verizon.net;gina.b.mcneely@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Military history, aviation, still photographs, motion pictures, arms and armament.

Gina McNeely
Gina McNeely Picture Research
21470 Basil Ct
Broadlands, VA 20148-3611
Telephone: (703) 723-6770
E-mail: gina.mcneely@verizon.net;gina.b.mcneely@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Military history, aviation, still photographs, motion pictures, arms and armament.

Danielle Fowler
4538 Oak Glen Dr F
Santa Barbara, CA 93110
Telephone: (805) 451-7243
E-mail: fowleresearch@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Presidential History; 20th Century; Cold War; Reagan; Audiovisual and textual

Jessica Louchheim
3846 Calvert St NW
Washington, DC 20007-1820
Telephone: (202) 333-9233
Fax: (202) 248-4027
E-mail: jwlouchheim@hotmail.com
Research Specialty: Film and video recordings; photographs and pictures

Dennis Whitehead
MMImedia
1410 N Nelson St
Arlington, VA 22201
Telephone: (703) 524-6814; (703)-587-1551 (cell)
Fax: (703) 524-2634
E-mail: dennis@mmimedia.com

Amy Doherty
Pawpro Media, LLC
6743 Towne Lane Rd
McLean, VA 22101
Telephone: (571) 218-6857
E-mail: pawpro@mac.com
Research Specialty: Motion Picture/Film,Census, Genealogy research

Tom Culbert
Aviation Information Research Corporation
73 Fendall Ave
Alexandria, VA 22304-6343
Telephone: (703) 823-1264
Fax: (703) 823-1264
E-mail: tcaire@avinforsch.com
Research Specialty: Military history; Department of State; Department of Treasury

Polly Pettit
8005 Maple Ave
Takoma Park, MD 20912
Telephone: (301) 589-3025
Fax: (301) 589-3025
E-mail: pjpettit@erols.com
Research Specialty: All record groups. Special interest in 20th century historical events and personalities and color WWII footage.
About: Experience since 1982 with motion picture, sound and video collections.

Jenny Trucano
Photoassist, Inc.
7735 Old Georgetown Rd Lowr
Bethesda, MD 20814-6130
Telephone: (301) 652-2566
Fax: (301) 652-2521
E-mail: info@photoassist.com

Amylynne Baker-Santagate
20 Starwood Dr
Hampstead, NH 03841
Telephone: (603) 247-1049
E-mail: info@nhgenealogist.com
Research Specialty: All research

Charles "Buckey" Grimm
BG Research Services
2680 Walston Rd
Mount Airy, MD 21771-8812
Telephone: (641) 715-3900 Ext 457500#
E-mail: bgresearchcontact@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Record Group 64, records related to founding and history of the National Archives Motion Picture Division; 1936 WPA Motion Picture, Sound and Recording Survey; motion picture history; film preservation and history, WWI and WWII footage, USDA Films, U.S. Government Film Production

Jeffrey D. Mehall
Jeffrey David Mehall
13901 Dowlais Dr
Rockville, MD 20853-2639
Telephone: (301) 933-5790
E-mail: jmehall2@msn.com
Research Specialty: American history-Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Mexican War, Civil War, Spanish-American War, WWI, WWII, Korea, Vietnam, Popular Culture 1900-1960, Cartographic and Architectural Records, Civil Rights Era, Cold War, Film and Video Records, Genealogy, Holocaust, International Topics, Labor and Business History, especially Railroads, Land Records, Military Records, New Deal & 1930s America, Post WWII-Era

Adam Kennedy
PO Box 1301
Crown Point, IN 46308-1301
Research Specialty: Motion pictures and video; Still pictures and photographs; Researcher for documentary filmmakers, screenwriters, producers, and other filmmakers; Declassified documents; Architecture; Chicago; City planning; Military records; Middle East; Labor history; Sports history; Women’s history; Special media (non-text) records
About: Film and still images (photographs). Research for documentations, screenwriters, producers, and other filmakers. Declassified documents. Areas of interest/specialty: Architecture, Chicago, city planning, Military, Middle East, Labor Politics, and Sports Women.

Margaret Johnson
MMJ Research
3200 Garfield St NW
Washington, DC 20008-3513
Telephone: (202) 333-4555
Fax: (202) 333-1059
E-mail: mmj@erols.com
Research Specialty: Still picture research including photographs, cartographic records, microfilm, manuscripts, civilian and military textual records, and Presidential records.
About: 20+ years experience.

Thomas F. McCaffery
McCaffery & Associates, Inc
107 S West St Ste 709
Alexandria, VA 22314-2824
Telephone: (703) 548-6144
Fax: (703) 548-6146
E-mail: info@mccafferyassoc.com
Research Specialty: Naval, Maritime, and Aviation researchers specializing in research for law firms and their clients defending toxic tort claims; business, labor, military, regulatory, and transportation records; architectural, cartographic, and ship plans; photographs

Sarah Katz
7208 Blair Rd NW
Washington, DC 20012-1816
Telephone: (207) 653-8163
E-mail: sk6258a@american.edu
Research Specialty: Moving images and photographic and other graphic materials

Darren Neely
Fox Company Research
113 Stone Point Dr Unit 247
Annapolis, MD 21401
Telephone: (443) 254-1634
E-mail: darren@foxcompanyresearch.com
Research Specialty: Textual, photographs and motion picture records primarily for WW2. Have completed a thorough collection and presentation of seven WW2 veterans including unit reports, photos and movie footage. Expert at photo collection.

M. S. Shell
Writers Ink Media Services
938 E Tantallon Dr
Fort Washington, MD 20744-5209
Telephone: (301) 292-2027
E-mail: info@writersinkmedia.com
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, audio, photo stills and video recordings. Our facility provides braodcast duplications and screening files.

Martin Baldessari
1522 Monroe Street NW
Washington, DC 20010-3141
Telephone: (202) 328-1155
E-mail: madaba@verizon.net
Research Specialty: Still Pictures, Motion pictures, Cartographic records, textual records; Civil War; WWII
About: Heavy experience in Still Pictures Branch. Also familiar with Motion Picture, Textual, and Cartographic. Generalist, with deep experience in Civil War and WWII. 30+ years in research.

Chie Berkley
CUB International Productions
18025 Vintage River Ter
Olney, MD 20832
Telephone: (240) 461-7139
Fax: (240) 235-4167
E-mail: chie@cubproductions.com
Research Specialty: WWII. Asian history. Asian-American history, Japan. (film and photograph/ media)

Michael Dolan
19 Dwight St
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Telephone: (202) 531-4948
Fax: (202) 531-4948
E-mail: m.r.dolan@att.net
Research Specialty: Motion picture film, photo, sound recordings - all subjects and record groups.

Mary Jane Williams
Archival and Public Domain Research
4224 Military Rd NW
Washington, DC 20015
Telephone: (978) 835-0440
E-mail: meadowtrees@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Videos, films, audio and photos for documentaries, period films and books. Specialties: American history, Europe. Art, literature, politics, animals, architecture, energy, the environment, captured German records.
About: Know French, German, some Italian.

Shannon Bridget Murphy
2660 Petersborough St
Herndon, VA 20171-2443
Telephone: (703) 864-3099
E-mail: shannoninpapertrails@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Asbestos: Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records; Diplomatic Records; Family History; Immigration and Naturalization; Intelligence; Labor and Transportation; Military Records - Military searches including lineage and patriotic applications; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental Records; Audio and Sound Recordings; Motion Pictures and Audio-Silent films; Film and Video; Photo Stills and Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures

Susan Berlowitz
345 Pleasant Ave 2
New York, NY 10035-4342
Telephone: (212) 426-7392
Fax: (212) 426-7392
E-mail: berlowitzsusan@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Motion pictures and video

Cynthia Mitchell
PO Box 1647
Manassas, VA 20108-1647
Telephone: (703) 361-0660
Fax: (703) 335-9287
E-mail: cindypd77@aol.com
Research Specialty: Archival film, photos and sound research. Public Domain Images and Copyrighted Collections.

Marsha Ann Tate
Marsha Ann Tate, Ph.D.
132 S Main St
Pleasant Gap, PA 16823-3210
Telephone: (814) 359-3367
E-mail: marsha@mtateresearch.com
Research Specialty: Census Records, Congressional Records, Court Records, Diplomatic Records, Genealogy and Family History Records, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization Records, Intelligence, Labor and Business History/Transportation/Regulatory Agency Records, Military Records, Audio/Sound Recordings, Film and Video Recordings, Photographs and Pictures

Matthew Hogan
Matthew C. Hogan
PO Box 643
Burtonsville, MD 20866
Telephone: (301) 922-9065
Fax: (301) 890-0688
E-mail: hoganresearch@gmail.com
Research Specialty: African American History, Asbestos, Court Records, Immigration, Emigration, and Naturalization; Military Records; Science, Technology, and Natural Resources; Diplomatic Records, Captured German Records; Cold War records; Congressional Records; Genealogy and Family History Records; Intelligence records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon records; Still Photos; Audio-Visual

John P. Elliott
5108 Magnum Rd
College Park, MD 20740-1510
Telephone: (301)792-9673
Fax: (408)-228-0658
E-mail: johnatarchives@yahoo.com

Jeannette Remak;Joseph Ventolo
Phoenix Aviation Research
41-41 41st Street 1-M
Sunnyside, NY 11104-3243
Telephone: (718) 937-7436
Fax: (718) 784-4682
E-mail: valkyr1097@aol.com
Research Specialty: Military, historical, government; record groups media, series, subjects

Helen Weiss
Helen Weiss Productions
PO Box 21264
Washington, DC 20090-0764
Telephone: (202) 255-0380
E-mail: hwprod2004@aol.com
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, video and recorded sound - all subjects; prints and photographs - all subjects; documentary, exhibit, and news research; textual records - all subjects

John D. Bowen
613 Chichester Ln
Silver Spring, MD 20504-3331
Telephone: (301) 384-6533
Research Specialty: All record groups; still photographs; motion picture films; cartographic records; military research; Brady Collection; Battle of the Bulge; U.S. Air Corps; MACRs; World War II casualty, after action, and POW reports; Navy ship logs, diaries, and rosters

Sim Smiley
Academic Historical Research
4469 Sedgwick St NW
Washington, DC 20016
Telephone: (202) 812-8466
E-mail: sim.smiley@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Intelligence, Diplomatic Records, Cold War, Military Records, Captured German Records, Navy Records. OSS, Intelligence and State Department Records, WW2 and onward. Also FBI, CIA Crest, Holocaust, Looted Nazi Gold, War Crimes, Nuremberg, OWI and propaganda.
About: One of the original compilers of the OSS finding aids and researcher for William J. Casey’s memoir. Clients include the BBC, Ken Burns and the Monuments Men Project. Former State Department simultaneous interpreter in French and Italian (with Presidential assignments), can also conduct research in Spanish, Portuguese, German, Swedish and Norwegian. 20 years experience and a stickler for client satisfaction.

Joan M. Mathys
MJM Picture and Film Research
2801 Quebec St NW 222
Washington, DC 20008-1242
Telephone: (202) 537-3256
Fax: (202) 966-5816
E-mail: joanmathys@msn.com
Research Specialty: Motion Picture (moving images) and sound (audio recordings); Still Picture and Graphics; Textual materials; Cartographic materials

John Loggins
Daruma Media
1629 Columbus Rd NW 432
Washington, DC 20009-3643
Telephone: (202) 518-7776
E-mail: john@darumamedia.org
Research Specialty: Photo research for film, television, multimedia, and print projects

Mia Cruz
2107 Tanglewood Dr
Waldorf, MD 20601-5263
Telephone: (408) 309-9682
Fax: (202) 265-1234
E-mail: mia@cruz.net
Research Specialty: General
About: Worked in Motion Picture, Sound and Video Branch in the National Archives at College Park.

Yoko Nagasaka Myers
Nichimy Corporation
6215 Greenbelt Rd Ste 201
College Park, MD 20740-2364
Telephone: (301) 313-0610
Fax: (301) 313-0611
E-mail: nichimyusa@nichimy.co.jp
Research Specialty: WWII Pacific Theater military and navy records (text, photographs, motion picture, cartographic) and Allied Occupation of Japan, Japanese Koreans in Japan, Okinawa - related issues. U.S.-Japan Relations, and migration.

Jane A. Martin
The Photo Editor
4731 Williamsburg Blvd
Arlington, VA 22207-2835
Telephone: (703) 765-1626
Fax: (703) 241-2939
E-mail: fotoeditor@comcast.net
Research Specialty: All archival imagery, maps, text, moving pictures, recorded sound, copyright verification

Susan Hormuth
Visual Research Consultant
3356 Pennsylvania Ave SE
Washington, DC 20020-2407
Telephone: (202) 584-3994
Fax: (202) 584-3994
E-mail: susanhormuth@verizon.net
Research Specialty: Motion Picture, Sound and Video recordings, and Still Picture Research. All subject areas, with particular experience in popular culture, African-American history, Civil Rights, World Wars, Korean and Vietnam wars.
About: Full-time, on-site research. Twenty-five years experience in visual research in DC area.

Martha King
American Research Associates
147 Payson Rd
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
Telephone: (617) 680-2356
E-mail: martha_king@post.harvard.edu
Research Specialty: Federal Court records, New England; Maritime, Lighthouses, Shipwreck reports, New England; Coast Guard records, New England; Congressional Records, New England; Science, Technology, Natural Resources, Environmental Records, New England; John F. Kennedy Library records, including the Ernest Hemingway Collection; some Harvard University libraries, including the HBS Baker Library. Special Media: Audio/Sound Recordings; Film + Video Recordings; Photographs + Pictures.

Bonnie G. Rowan
Bonnie G. Rowan Film Research
1849 California Street NW
Washington, DC 20009-1808
Telephone: (202) 265-1081
Fax: (202) 265-1234
E-mail: browan@his.com
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, video, recorded sound, still pictures, textual records; 20th century world history, World War II, black history, POWs, sports, humor, air and space, children, and technology
About: Full-time, on-site research in motion pictures, video, recorded sound, still pictures, and textual records; Twenty-one years research experience.

Michael Case
Case Archival Consulting
10110 Gates Ave
Silver Spring, MD 20902
Telephone: (301) 526-9012
E-mail: casearchivalconsulting@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Moving Images, Still Photos, Cartographic.

Rosanna Martinez
PO Box 347751
Coral Gables, FL 33234-7751
Telephone: (305) 389-9134
E-mail: rosannamartinez@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: General historic records; All archival records
About: General Research. All subjects. Research in Spanish, Russian and English.

Edward A. Singer
7512 Sweetbriar Dr
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone: (703) 203-7770
E-mail: edward.a.singer@gmail.com
Research Specialty: General Research, All Topics, Find and Make Copies.

John Spencer
BACM Research
264 S LaCienega Blvd 1142
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
Telephone: (310) 289-2320
Fax: (310) 289-2320
E-mail: archivist@paperlessarchives.com
Research Specialty: All media types textual documents, photographs, film, video and audio recordings. Custom research and access to pre-compiled popular material and subjects through computer media. Subjects and topics include: African American History, Central Intelligence Agency, CIA CREST, Civil Rights, Civil War, Cold War, Crime, Department of Defense, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Foreign Policy, Korean War, National Security Agency, President Franklin Roosevelt, President Harry Truman, President Dwight Eisenhower, President John Kennedy, President Richard Nixon, President Gerald Ford, President Ronald Reagan, President George H.W. Bush, President George W. Bush, Slavery, Vietnam War, World War I, World War II.

Kevin Leonard
The Leonard Group, Inc.
9364 Spring Water Path
Jessup, MD 20794
Telephone: (301) 776-9260
Fax: (301) 776-8962
E-mail: info@theleonardgroupinc.com
Research Specialty: African-American history, American military history, WWI, WWII, US Navy, US Army, US Air Force, 20th century American History, asbestos, captured German records, census records, Cold War, congressional records, court records, Coast Guard/lighthouse/customs records, diplomatic records, genealogy and family history records, immigration and naturalization records, intelligence, labor & business history/transportation/regulatory agency records, military records, Native American relations records, President Nixon, science, technology, natural resources & the environment, audio/sound recordings, cartographic/architectural/ships plans records, film & video recordings, still photos.

Brandon Traister
War Veterans Oral History Project
16 Kings Rd
Sicklersville, NJ 08081-1310
Telephone: (856) 296-9256
E-mail: brandon.traister@us.army.mil
Research Specialty: Any media pertaining to the Second World War including but not limited to, photographs, oral recordings, audio recordings, video recordings, documents, magazines, films, books, records, etc.

AAA Research
Dirk Burgdorf
21515 Manor View Cir
Germantown, MD 20876
Telephone: (301) 922-9610
E-mail: contact@naraexpert.com
Research Specialty: Captured German Records, SS, Wehrmacht/Heer, NSDAP (Nazi), Personnel Records, etc. Aerial Photographs, Foreign Military Studies, German Technical Manuals and others.
About: 30+ years of historical research experience, complete fluency in German, partnered with Russian specialists. First hand experience from personal visits to battlefields on both the Eastern and Western Fronts.

Elizabeth Harris
Telephone: (917) 652-1872;(917) 570-7350 (cell)
E-mail: eharrisresearch@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Motion Pictures

Tina C. Jones
American Roots Company
451 Hungerford Dr Ste 119-234
Rockville, MD 20850
Telephone: (240) 383-7834
E-mail: theoscarmarionproject@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Geographic Area - Nationwide Searches, Early/Colonial Research, Tracing Back to 1st Immigrant Ancestor, African American/Slavery Research, Military Research, Verifying/Documenting Lineages for SAR and DAR.

Doc Kane
Roscommon
2817 Briarwood Ln
Nazareth, PA 18064
Telephone: (530) 690-8003
E-mail: clientservices@roscommon.com
Research Specialty: Vietnam and Vietnam War, Southeast Asia, Film and Sound Archives, Presidential Media, Film Footage, Rights and Clearances, International Archives, CBS, NBC, ABC, ITN, Reuters, Radio and TV Archives.

Deborah Nicholls
318 Moraine St
Brockton, MA 02301-4112
E-mail: dnicholls@comcast.net
Research Specialty: Photography and still image research; film and video footage

Richard Vidutis
Recordations
205 Yoakum Pkwy 1105
Alexandria, VA 22304
Telephone: (301) 233-0651
E-mail: culturalheritage@fastmail.fm
Research Specialty: Military records (base records, theater construction engineering, ordnance locations, base architecture, oral histories); Engineering records (bridge construction, plans, mining, architecture); Marine records (ship types, plans, shipwreck locations, fatalities, cargo manifests, customs records); Immigration (emigration, ethnic communities, census records, labor history); Cartographic and architectural records (maps, drawings); Photographs and pictures.

Susan Strange
Strange Research
PO Box 7165
McLean, VA 22106-7165
Telephone: (202) 320-2672
E-mail: strangeresearch@mac.com
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, still photographs and textual records - all subjects.
About: Full time on site research.

Clifford Enz
Nanotheater
712 Schindler Dr
Silver Spring, MD 20903-1330
Telephone: (877) 256-9890
Fax: (877) 256-9890
E-mail: nanotheater@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Video/Audio General research-textual, video, historical, cartographic, motion picture, audio, still photo, experienced in railroad, Civil War, WWI & WWII, Korea, Vietnam

Peter Ferraro
Easy Street Productions, Public Domain Footage
PO Box 302
Thurmont, MD 21788-0302
Telephone: (301) 471-8058
Fax: (509) 562-9585
E-mail: info@publicdomainfootage.com
Research Specialty: Universal newsreels, motion pictures and video recordings, public domain footage, donated footage, military films and other material for documentary production

Nicole Watson
5813 Wellborn Creek Dr
Lithonia, GA 30058-3568
Telephone: (770) 323-8929; (678) 758-9142
Fax: (678) 418-8347
E-mail: watsonnicole@att.net
Research Specialty: African American history - Census records - Court records - Genealogy and Family History records - Labor & business history/Transportation/Regulatory Agency records/ Military records, Still Pictures, Film & Videos.

Donna Inserra
4117 Woodbine St
Chevy Chase, MD 20815
E-mail: inserra.donna@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Newsreels, Motion Picture and Sound Recordings, Still Pictures, Video

Edward Engel
313 Highland Ter
Prince Frederick, MD 20678-4425
Telephone: (410) 610-2685
E-mail: edwardengel@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Film, video, still photograph and audio research


Find a researcher by:


*Note:   Researchers for hire are not NARA employees. Any individual or company that does research in our holdings on behalf of others is free to join the listing. For information on how to get on the Independent Researchers for Hire lists, see the Opportunity for Independent Researchers page.

Inclusion on the independent researcher lists should not be viewed as an endorsement of the quality of the researchers' work, and NARA will not be responsible for any arrangement made with independent researchers. Such arrangements, including the character, extent, and cost of the work, are purely private, contractual matters between the independent researcher and you. It also is up to you to determine whether or not the researcher's experience and qualifications meet your needs. Comments or complaints received by NARA regarding any individual independent researcher on the listing will be forwarded to that researcher for resolution.

Research Our Records >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.