Independent Researchers for Hire
Researchers Specializing in Native American Records *
A1 Positive Thought
PO Box 13877
Tallahassee, Florida 32317-3877
Contact Person: Jan A Campbell
Research Specialty: Military Records and Awards (Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Indian Wars/Treaties, Civil War, World War I, World War II, Korea, Vietnam), Pensions, VA benefits, NARA Records and Bounty Land, Native American Lineage Research including Dawes rolls. Genealogy and Family History Records including Census, Birth/Marriage/Death, Vital Records, Wills and Voter records. Passports, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization records. Ancestry.com Family Trees, Pedigree Charts, and Photographs. Preparation of lineage society applications for DAR, SAR, and Tribal citizenship by descent. Searches of International, National and State Digital Archives, and University Libraries. On-site searches of Florida, Georgia and Alabama Archives and electronic records. Reasonable rates.
P.O. Box 414640
Kansas City, MO 64141
Telephone: (816) 729-5995
Fax: (816) 817-2146
Contact Person: Kathleen Brandt, Professional Genealogist & Consultant
Research Specialty: Military records, immigration/emigration and naturalization, Native American Relations Records, African American records, Captured German Records, Census Records, Genealogy and Family History Records, Navy Records. Media: Audio/Sound Recordings, Film and Video Recordings, Photographs/Pictures and Textual Records.
Aarquives Unlimited, LLC
300 South Jenison Avenue
Lansing, MI 48915-1130
Telephone: (517) 743-4733
Contact Person: G. Russell Overton
Research Specialty: Native American relations; diplomatic records; Congressional records; Labor & business; environmental & natural resources; federal courts
African American Genealogy with Fallon Green
Palmetto Office; 11 Pearl Lane
Seabrook, SC 29940
Telephone: (843) 597-0436 or (843) 846-9310
Contact Person: Fallon N. Green; Mgr: Paul Green
Research Specialty: African Americans; Gullah and Geechee Genealogy; Oral Interviewing; Research Methodologies; Non-traditional resources; Records Retrieval; Heir Search: SC, FL and GA; American Indians; Seminole, Creek and Cherokee Freedmen; Civil War; Beginning Instruction; Document Retrieval; Genealogy Event Planning; Team Genealogy; Guerilla Research; Networking and Professional Development among researchers; Freedman's Bureau Records; Civil War Pensions; Personal Organizing.
American Mid-West Research
1422 W. Short Ave.
Telephone: (816) 805-0077
Contact Person: Dan Jeanes
Research Specialty: Certified Paralegal, experienced in litigation research. Native American research for legal documentation experience. Bankruptcy and court records. Military medical and personnel records. Academic Historical Research, including WWII military history. Literally minutes from Truman Historical Library and Research Room, Truman Birthplaxe, and Truman Home; easy access to Kansas City National Archives. If you need specific topic researched and you don't see it listed, please ask.
American Roots Company
451 Hungerford Drive, Suite 119-234
Rockville, MD 20850
Telephone: (240) 383-7834
Contact Person: Tina C. Jones
Research Specialty: Geographic Area - Nationwide Searches, Early/Colonial Research, Tracing Back to 1st Immigrant Ancestor, African American/Slavery Research, Military Research, Verifying/Documenting Lineages for SAR and DAR.
20 Starwood Dr
Hampstead, NH 03841
Telephone: (603) 247-1049
Contact Person: Amylynne
Research Specialty: Any + All available at these facilities listed below
211 E 79th Terrace
Kansas City, MO 64114
Telephone: (816) 824-8071
Contact Person: BJ Anderson
Research Specialty: Truman Library, Eisenhower Library, Clinton Center, Civil War, WWII, WWI, Native Americans, westward expansion, transportation, manufacturing, history of individuals, groups, organizations, businesses, historic photographs, lawmen, outlaws, litigation, court cases, the arts, science, technology, Federal government, state government, local government, maps, architectural drawings, films.
Post Office Box 50561
Provo, UT 84605-0561
Telephone: (801) 836-1996
Contact Person: Frankie Davis
Research Specialty: Native American Relations Records & Genealogy and Family History Records
3200 16th Street, NW #806
Washington, D.C. 20010-3348
Telephone: (202) 361-5000
Fax: (202) 319-9150
Contact Person: Jeremy Bigwood
Research Specialty: All records regardless of media from 1700s to present including United States and Russian intelligence, diplomatic, military, and civilian records as well as captured German military and police records (1890s-1945). Research can be carried out simultaneously by professional researchers in both the US and in Russian archives - or either one of the two - essential for any serious WWII or Cold War research. Open records laws (such as the US FOIA) can be used as an adjunct to archival research by declassifying responsive records directly from governments, where applicable.
2222 22nd Ave
San Francisco, CA 94116-1708
Telephone: (415) 731-1612
Contact Person: Kathleen M. O'Connor
Research Specialty: Asbestos - RG181,313, 26, 178; Navy - RG181, 313; DERPS/FUDS - RG121, 270, 291, 77, 181, 313; Native American Carnev. only RG75; Shipyards: Mare Island, San Francisco, Pearl Harbor - RG181
P.O. Box 101551
Fort Worth, Texas 76185
Telephone: (817) 924-0453
Contact Person: : Sherry Arrant
Research Specialty: Census, Family History, Military, Find Lost Heirs, Native American, Mineral Right Owners, and reverse genealogy.
Associates at Nicklason Research
2217 N. Harrison Street
Arlington, Virginia 22205
Telephone: (703) 536-5180 or (703) 946-7146
Contact Person: Mark Leutbecker
Research Specialty: 40 years experience researching African-American History; Congressional Records; Court Records (Supreme Court, Court of Claims); Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom Records; Labor & Business History/Transportation/Regulatory Agencies; Military-Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, National Guard, Veterans (Civil, WWI, WWII, Korea, Vietnam); Native American History; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental clean-up (CERCLA, FUDS, PRP, MMRP); State Department. Land Use, Water Rights, Mining, Forests.Textual, Cartographic, Photographs, Newspapers. Also Library of Congress, Smithsonian, and other repositories.
9615 Sutherland Road
Silver Spring, MD 20901
Telephone: (202) 236-2692
Contact Person: Donna Bergstrom
Research Specialty: Military Records, CIA Records, Native American Records, Record Group 75, Treaties
PO Box 77484
Corona, CA 92877-0116
Telephone: (951) 279-0078
Contact Person: Marge Bitetti
Research Specialty: Early Aviation, OX5, Internet Research, photographs, American-Italian Heritage during WWII, Regional History, Native Americans in California, Biographies.
The Center for African American Genealogical Research, Inc. (CAAGRI)
225 Industrial Court, Suite 100
Fredericksburg, VA 22408
Telephone: (540) 785-9925
Contact Person: Cynthia Campbell
Research Specialty: African American, Native American, Census, Military, Court Records, Genealogy and Family History, Civil War, Slavery.
2520 41st Street NW #3
Washington, DC 20007
Telephone: (202) 298-6937
Fax: (202) 298-6937
Contact Person: Martha Davidson
Research Specialty: Still pictures, cartographic materials, and textual records.
404 Lincoln Avenue, Post Office Box 653
Poteau, OK 74953-4963
Telephone: (918) 647-7471
Contact Person: Janet Davis
Jonathan Webb Deiss
2626 Fort Farnsworth Road, Apt 2B
Alexandria, Virginia 22303
Contact Person: Jonathan Webb Deiss
Research Specialty:Military, Genealogy, Land, Native American, Lineage Research
Diplomatic and Intelligence Research
4469 Sedgwick St. NW
Washington, DC 20016
Telephone: (202) 812-8466
Contact Person: Ms. Sim Smiley
Research Specialty:I specialize in diplomatic, intelligence and military history of the WII, the Cold War and beyond. Particular focus on: OSS, CIA, CIA Crest, State Dept, Captured German Records, Italy, France, Army Navy Intelligence, Biological Warfare, Nixon and the FBI. Fluent in French, Italian and Swedish and can also research in German and Spanish. Former NARA volunteer in Modern Military Branch where I compiled finding aids for OSS records.
Documents Archaeology, Incorporated
Research Office, 5029 Country Club Drive
High Ridge, MO 63049-3509
Telephone: (314) 486-8406
Fax: (636) 376-4336
Contact Person: Douglas R. Givens, Ph.D.
P.O. Box 56321
Sherman Oaks, CA 91413-1321
Telephone: (818) 501-5852
Fax: (818) 501-5852
Contact Person: Ted Gostin
Research Specialty:Naturalizations, passenger lists, So. Calif. Indian tribal registrations, court records
The Hannah Family Foundation
Point Lookout, MO 65726
Telephone: (866) 523-2993 or (480) 778-0459
Fax: given upon request
Contact Person: M. L. 'Mel' Gentry
Research Specialty: Little Shell Nation, genealogy; adoption; connecting with your parents; children, family. Silas Turnbo, Ozarks history, Ozark Mountain Country; Osage Indians, Native Americans, business; Military Records.
Helen Weiss Productions
Post Office Box 21264
Washington, DC 20009-0764
Telephone: (202) 255-0380
Contact Person: Helen Weiss
Historical Research Associates, Inc.
419 7th St. NW, Suite 403
Washington, D.C. 20004
Telephone: (202) 557-0222
Fax: (406) 721-1964
Contact Person: Keith Zahniser
Research Specialty: All research.
Cheryll Toney Holley
78 Randolph Rd.
Worcester, MA 01606-2465
Telephone: (508) 853-5575
Contact Person: Cheryll Toney Holley
Research Specialty: Native American, African American, New England, Pension records
8525 W. 32nd Ave.
Wheat Ridge, CO 80033
Telephone: (517) 243-1353
Contact Person: Kathryn Holt
Research Specialty: Western history, genealogy, National Parks, Indian Affairs, Government, Education Records, WWII.
Dr. Teresa Iacobelli
221 Clermont Ave., Apt. 4
Brooklyn, NY 11205-4010
Telephone: (347) 277-4376
Contact Person: Dr. Teresa Iacobelli
Research Specialty: Military Records, Diplomatic Records; also experience in Native American Relations Records & Genealogy
Vicki Killian, Nicklason Research Associates
5 Cleveland Avenue
Takoma Park, MD 20912-4123
Telephone: (301) 588-0456
Contact Person: Vicki Killian
Research Specialty: military, Navy, civilian, cartographic, photographic, Native American, environmental, judicial, Congressional, business history, court records.
Overland Park, KS 66212-1554
Telephone: (913) 213-3550
Contact Person: Joan Kusek
Research Specialty: Census, Naturalization, War Records, Native American Land Records; Circuit, District Court Records, Criminial Records, Civil War, War of 1812, Revolutionary War, passenger lists.
205 C Street NE Apt 1
Washington, DC 20002-5764
Telephone: (202) 579-6466
Contact Person: Gail Lelyveld
Research Specialty: Revolutionary War, Civil War, Spanish American War, World War I, World War II Issues, Peace Issues, Native American Issues, Immigration, Foreign Affairs
The Leonard Group, Inc.
9364 Spring Water Path
Jessup, MD 20794
Telephone: (301) 776-9260
Fax: (301) 776-8962
Contact Person: Kevin Leonard
Research Specialty: African-American history, American military history, WWI, WWII, US Navy, US Army, US Air Force, 20th century American History, asbestos, captured German records, census records, Cold War, congressional records, court records, Coast Guard/lighthouse/customs records, diplomatic records, genealogy and family history records, immigration and naturalization records, intelligence, labor & business history/transportation/regulatory agency records, military records, Native American relations records, President Nixon, science, technology, natural resources & the environment, audio/sound recordings, cartographic/architectural/ships plans records, film & video recordings, still photos.
Mark Leutbecker, Nicklason Research Associates
2217 N. Harrison Street
Arlington, Virginia 22205
Telephone: (703) 536-5180
Contact Person: Mark Leutbecker
Research Specialty: Army, Navy, civilian, cartographic, photographic, Native American, environmental, judicial, Congressional, business, court records.
Library Consultant Services LLC
24081 Ithaca St.
Oak Park, MI 48237-3511
Telephone: (248) 629-7774
Fax: (248) 629-7775
Contact Person: Lawanda V. Cox
Research Specialty: Online search and retrieval on American History and African American documents and literature, Editing and Proofreading manuscripts for Historical books and electronic literature, Abstract writing for historical articles and literature, Content writing for history related newsletters, websites.
Littlefield Historical Research
6207 Snake Road
Oakland, California 94611
Telephone: (510) 339-1017
Contact Person: Doug Littlefield
Research Specialty: Water rights, navigabililty, Native American, environmental land use, mining, rivers, forests, public lands, national parks, boundaries, interstate conflicts, transportation, census, toxic waste
Coral Gables, FL
Telephone: (305) 389-9134
Contact Person: Rosanna Martinez
Research Specialty: General Research. All subjects. Research in Spanish, Russian and English.
416 Boston Ave.
Takoma Park, MD 20912-4148
Telephone: (503) 709-0536
Contact Person: Owen McGillivray
Research Specialty: Textual records (civilian), particularly in the Agricultural Adjustment Administration
18 East Palmer Avenue
Collingswood, New Jersey 08108-1221
Telephone: (856) 745-3835
Contact Person: Douglas C. McVarish
Research Specialty: architectural drawings, maps, textual records, photographs; Subject areas: military (particularly Cold War and World War II), government buildings and architecture, Indian affairs, National Park Service, Department of Agriculture, railroad history, public works
3200 Garfield Street NW
Washington, DC 20008-3513
Telephone: (202) 333-4555
Fax: (202) 333-1059
Contact Person: Margaret Johnson
Research Specialty: Still picture research including photographs, cartographic records, microfilm, manuscripts, civilian and military textual records, and Presidential records. 20+ years experience.
Shannon Bridget Murphy
2660 Petersborough Street
Herndon, VA 20171-2443
Telephone: (703) 864-3099
Contact Person: Shannon Bridget Murphy
Research Specialty: Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records; Diplomatic Records; Family History; Immigration and Naturalization; Intelligence; Labor and Transportation; Military Records - Military searches including lineage and patriotic applications; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental Records; Audio and Sound Recordings; Motion Pictures and Audio- Silent films; Film and Video; Photo Stills and Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures
2400 41st St NW Apt 212
Washington, District of Columbia 2007
Contact Person: Anne Musella
Research Specialty:Military, Genealogy, Land, Native American, Lineage Research
Partners in History
950 NW Elford Drive
Seattle, WA 98177-4125
Telephone: (206) 275-1114
Contact Person: Sharon Boswell
531 Randolph Road
Silver Spring, MD 20904
Telephone: (240) 839-7219
Contact Person: Sadie Pasha
Research Specialty: Genealogy and Family History Records, Jews of Spain and Portugal, Oral Traditions, Culture, Religion, "Geechee" West Africans and Cherokees of South Carolina and Georgia. Conducted twenty-year One Name Study of Cohen surname among enslaved "Geechee" and Free Persons of Color in Georgetown, Edgefield, Beaufort, Charleston and Savannah. Presentation of historical, genealogical and biographical research on Portuguese Jews (Secret Jews) and descendants, Southern Jews, Indenture, Slavery, Rice Plantations, Emigration, Immigration and Naturalization Records, Family Charts, Photographs, American Revolutionary War and Pension Records, Census Records, Court Records, Civil War and Freedmen Records, Reconstruction, Dawes Roll, WWI, WWII, and researching International, National and State Digital Archives (Libraries).
6545 Tanager Lane
Eden Prairie, MN 55346-1813
Telephone: (651) 503-4803
Contact Person: Paula Stuart Warren, CGRS
Research Specialty: American Indian, federal Census; Midwestern & Plains states; textual records; 19th and 20th century
PO Box 7165
McLean, VA 22106-7165
Telephone: (202) 320-2672
Contact Person: Susan Strange
Research Specialty: Motion pictures - full time on site research; still photographs and textual records - all subjects.
SHRA: Stevens Historical Research Associates
500 W. Idaho St. Suite 202
Boise, Idaho 83702
Telephone: (208) 850-1553
Contact Person: Jennifer Stevens, Ph.D.
Research Specialty: Environmental issues including land use, water rights, Indian history, superfund, reclamation, general land office, forest service, roads, and others RG 49, RG 75, RG 115, RG 48, RG 57, RG 95, others.
Edward A. Singer
7512 Sweetbriar Dr.
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone: (703) 203-7770
Contact Person: Edward Singer
Research Specialty: General Research, All Topics, Find and Make Copies.
20810 52nd Avenue East
Spanaway, WA 98387
Telephone: (253) 219-7216
Fax: (253) 559-5525
Contact Person: Rod Thomas
Research Specialty: US Military History - records, individuals, photographs, maps, reports, etc.; American Indian History - records, individuals, photographs, maps, reports.
Taylor & Hammel LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
1240 N. Pitt Street, Suite 200
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone: (703) 822-4658
Fax: (703) 842-8656
Contact Person: John Taylor - Senior Researcher
Research Specialty: Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration & Naturalization; Labor & Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures
TJ & Associates, L.L.C.
3931 Avion Park Ct, C116B, Suite 222
Chantilly, VA 20151
Telephone: (571) 323-6348
Fax: (888) 742-4381
Contact Person: Terri Oguz
Research Specialty: Asbestos, Congressional Records, Court Records, Business, Military Records, Native American, Navy Records, Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment, Genealogy & Family History
Post Office Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320
Telephone: (202) 421-5151
Fax: (703) 768-6609
Contact Person: Michael Constandy, Director
Research Specialty: Captured German Records; Diplomatic Research, Intelligence; Military History; Navy Records; Legal Research; Labor and Business History; Asbestos; Court Records; Intelligence; Still Imagery; Aerial Imagery; and Cartography.
2000 S. Grant St.
Arlington, VA 22202
Contact Person: Cara Whiting
Research Specialty: 19th century U.S. history, 20th century U.S. history, military/pension, Native American (RG 75), census, immigration, family history, genealogy.
Find a researcher by: