Research at the National Archives

  • Print
  • Bookmark/Share

Independent Researchers for Hire

Researchers Specializing in Records held at the Washington National Records Center (Suitland, MD) *

Ab Initio Archives Research
6908 Fairfax Drive #302
Arlington, VA 22213
Telephone:  (540) 207-7222
E-mail:  morrow.kevin@gmail.com
Contact Person:  Kevin Morrow
Research Specialty:  Independent historian/researcher. Former National Archives employee. Areas of Expertise: TEXTUAL: Evironmental cleanup litigation with former federal contractors involving hazardous chemicals, asbestos, etc.; identifying potentially responsible parties, third party liabilities, land use history, etc. Academic research, concentrating on all branches of the military (particularly World War II, Korea, Vietnam), diplomatic and intelligence fields (OSS; State Dept.; Army and Navy Intelligence). Veterans benefits(medals, Agent Orange Exposure, action reports, deck logs, muster rolls), Navy (Bureaus of Ships, Ordnance, Aviation). PHOTOS: military (especially 20th century), civilian. CARTOGRAPHIC: military and civilian. Know German and French.

Advanced Research Solutions
821 West Market Street 2
Orrville, OH 44667-1830
Telephone:  (330) 642-0004
E-mail:  jchakey@factfinder123.com
Contact Person:  Jason Chakey
Research Specialty:  History, family history, marketing, landmarks, presidential elections, military history and records, politics, law, business, disasters, government entities, people, places, ephemera, religion, archival documents and photographs, archival films

American Historical Research
1927 Hillside Drive
Falls Church, VA 22043
Telephone:  (703) 517-3977
E-mail:  warren.hower@inphrenity.com
Contact Person: Warren Hower
Research Specialty:  Former military/government contractor and experienced researcher. Areas of expertise include: 1)Environmental cleanup litigation (included but not limited to - identifying "potentially responsible parties-PRP's", and 3rd party liabilities, historical operations and processes 2)Academic Historical Research, specializing in US diplomatic relations 1800-1900's, WWII military history 3)Corporate Histories specializing in contract research, product development histories, change in ownership, etc. 4) Cartographic Research. In addition, I have access to wide pool of researchers and historians who specialize in a variety of topics. If you need specific topic researched and you don't see it listed, please ask.

American Military Research
319 Arbutus Drive
Edgewater, MD 21037
Telephone:  (410) 271-2693 or (410) 798-1904
E-mail:  markkragan@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Mark K. Ragan
Research Specialty:  I Currently serve as Hunley Project Historian (First Submarine to sink an enemy ship, raised in 2000). I have authored several books and magazine articles and have appeared in over a dozen historical documentaries. I have conducted research for the adventure novelist Clive Cussler, The Naval Historical Center, Department of Defense, etc. I specialize in Revolution through late twentieth century military history and will work with the customer closely.

Aviation Information Research Corporation
73 Fendall Avenue
Alexandria, VA 22304-6343
Telephone:  (703) 823-1264
Fax:  (703) 823-1264
E-mail:  tcairc@avinforsch.com
Contact Person:  Thomas M. Culbert
Research Specialty: American Military, State Department, Department of Treasury, Department of Interior, Department of Transportation-Aviation, Nixon, Still Photos, Motion Pictures, and others.

Dara A. Baker PhD(ABD)
1800 N. Oak St #1306
Arlington, VA 22209
Telephone:  (631) 766-5181
E-mail:  dabaker.research@gmail.com
Contact Person:  Dara A. Baker
Research Specialty:  United States and British History, Congressional Records, esp 19th and 20th century, Judicial Records, Native American, African American, Genealogy, Immigration, Census, Military/Pension, Political, Congressional and Presidential, State Records, Personal Papers, Petitions to Congress (RG 46, RG 233), Rare Books

Martin Baldessari
1522 Monroe Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20010-3141
Telephone:  (202) 328-1155
E-mail:  madaba@verizon.net
Contact Person:  Martin Baldessari
Research Specialty:  Heavy experience in Still Pictures Branch. Also familiar with Motion Picture, Textual, and Cartographic. Generalist, with deep experience in Civil War and WWII. 30+ years in research.

Jeremy Bigwood
3200 16th Street, NW #806
Washington, D.C. 20010-3319
Telephone:  (202) 319-9150
Fax:  (202) 319-9150
E-mail:  bigwood@rcn.com
Contact Person:  Jeremy Bigwood
Research Specialty:  Cold War, Diplomatic Records, Intelligence, Military Records

Carolyn S. Billups
39045 Tanglewood Court
Mechanicsville, MD 20659-4323
Telephone:  (301) 472-1863
E-mail:  researchmuse@md.metrocast.net
Contact Person:  Carolyn S. Billups
Research Specialty:  Census Records; military records; Civil War; WWII

Bonnie G. Rowan Film Research
1849 California Street NW
Washington, DC 20009-1808
Telephone:  (202) 265-1081
Fax:  (202) 265-1234
E-mail:  browan@his.com
Contact Person:  Bonnie G. Rowan
Research Specialty:  Motion pictures, video, recorded sound, still pictures, textual records; 20th century world history, World War II, black history, POWs, sports, humor, air and space, children, and technology

John D. Bowen
613 Chichester Lane
Silver Spring, MD 20504-3331
Telephone:  (301) 384-6533
E-mail:  johndbowen@earthlink.net
Contact Person:  John D. Bowen
Research Specialty:  All record groups; still photographs; motion picture films; cartographic records; military research; Brady Collection; Battle of the Bulge; U.S. Air Corps; MACRs; World War II casualty, after action, and POW reports; Navy ship logs, diaries, and rosters

Richard L. Brawley
9237 Jacaranda Avenue
Hesperia, CA 92345-6417
Telephone:  (760) 948-9980
E-mail:  rlbrawley@charter.net
Contact Person:  Richard L. Brawley
Research Specialty:  Colonial history; Civil War history; World War II; Vietnam; genealogy

Robert Wayne Brewer
5876 Christmas Tree Road
Campbellsburg, IN 47108-6371
Telephone:  (812) 883-4724
E-mail:  admjag753@hotmail.com
Contact Person:  Robert W. Brewer
Research Specialty:  Veterans and military archives; military records of described units, branches, locations of such records at time of enlistment of service

CTI, Capitol Toxics Investigations
5021 Strathmore Ave
Kensington, MD 20895-1210
Telephone:  (301) 752-8069
E-mail:  capitoltox@gmail
Contact Person:  Jennifer Sass
Research Specialty:  toxic chemicals, regulatory policy, asbestos, navy records, regulatory history, litigation support, EPA records, OSHA records

Michael Cawvey, American Legion Post 1
1411 E 2nd Street, Post Office Box 50792
Tulsa, OK 74150-0792
Telephone:  (918) 639-5739
Fax:  (918) 584-4423
E-mail:  tulsapost1@aol.com
Contact Person:  Michael Cawvey
Research Specialty:  Military records; service records; VA records

Center for Research Information, Inc.
9300 Brookville Road
Silver Spring, MD 20910-1742
Telephone:  (301) 346-6501
Fax:  (301) 587-9658
E-mail:  cri@ix.netcom.com
Contact Person:  V. Miller
Research Specialty:  Focus on biomedical realted subjects, including history of medicine, diplomatic and military records on life sciences

Chamberlin & Chamberlin, LLC, Independent Research and Information Services
909 New Jersey Avenue, SE Suite 1006
Washington, DC 20003
E-mail:  tenaceus@gmail.com
Contact Person:  John Chamberlin
Research Specialty:  Chamberlin & Chamberlin, Independent Research and Information Services: Available for work on content; case and commerce material. Experienced professionals in military, science, technology, environmental issues, management and land uses. Also for business development, R & D, institutional, academic and public history.

CJ Clancy Publishing
670 Willow Drive
N Catasauqua, PA 18032-2132
Telephone:  (610) 264-4099
E-mail:  cjclancy@rcn.com
Contact Persons:  Carol J. Clancy, Edward J. Clancy
Research Specialty:  M1Garand rifle development and manufacturing; Chief of Ordnance Reports

Gregory D. Cook
5768 Springfish Place
Waldorf, MD 20603-4234
Telephone:  (301) 645-2759
E-mail:  gcook2000@hotmail.com
Contact Person:  Gregory D. Cook
Research Specialty:  Military records; genealogy; archaeology; census records

David L. Cox
2105 Twin Peaks Court
Frederick, MD 21702-5916
Telephone:  (301) 668-8229
Fax:  (240) 575-1750
E-mail:  dlcox25@comcast.net
Contact Person:  Carole M. Cox
Research Specialty: OSS/CIA/other Intelligence Records

Joan M. Croson
11 Cardigan Court
Waldorf, MD 20602-3436
Telephone:  (301) 843-8734
E-mail:  rootshelp@comcast.net
Contact Person:  Joan Croson
Research Specialty: Census, Immigration, and Naturalization, Military, Pension, Bounty Land Warrants

DCW & Associates
7400 Center Avenue, Suite 209
Huntington Beach, CA 92647
Telephone:  (800) 899-0442
Fax:  (714) 892-3543
E-mail:  courtresearch@dcwpi.com
Contact Person:  Dave Williams
Research Specialty:  Document Retrieval and Review: Civil and Criminal Court records; bankruptcy records; archived records; county, state & federal records. National research company comprised of former federal investigators.

Data Force and Associates
Post Office Box 1881
Maryland Heights, MO 63043-1881
Telephone:  (314) 495-0700
Fax:  (314) 426-6837
E-mail:  dfa2@swbell.net
Contact Person:  Ronald J. DeChant, Agent
Research Specialty:  Military personnel and medical records; military organizational records; civilian personnel records

Data Retrieval Services
Post Office Box 2227
Peachtree City, GA 30269-0227
Telephone:  (800) 250-1665
Fax:  (877) 389-5822
E-mail:  erssves@aol.com
Contact Person:  Donnie East
Research Specialty:  Court records; bankruptcy; civil; criminal

Date Screen
352 Gracie Road
Nevada City, CA 95959-3601
Telephone:  (530) 478-0374
E-mail:  datescreen@hotmail.com
Contact Person:  Shari L. Dean
Research Specialty:  We do background searches

Martha Davidson
2520 41st Street NW
Washington, DC 20007
Telephone:  (202) 298-6937
Fax:  (202) 298-6937
E-mail:  mdwdc@sprintmail.com
Contact Person:  Martha Davidson
Research Specialty:  Still pictures, cartographic materials, and textual records.

Deck Logs
Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320
Telephone:  (202) 421-5151
Fax:  (703) 768-6609 E-mail:  info@usndecklogs.com
Contact Person: Mike Constandy, Senior Researcher
Research Specialty:  A professional military and historical research firm with nearly twenty years of worldwide experience sourcing unique data for the legal, historical, governmental, and veteran communities. We specialize in naval and maritime research, deck logs, action reports, muster rolls, asbestos litigation support, NPRC 201 and 214 file research, and PTSD claims. We also provide full service photo, cartographic, and engineering imagery.

Jonathan Webb Deiss
805 1/2 Maryland Avenue NE
Washington, DC 20002-5305
Telephone: (202) 270-1882
E-mail: jondeiss@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Jonathan Webb Deiss
Research Specialty:Military, Genealogy, Land, Native American, Immigration.

Fred Dews
11144 Forest Edge Drive
Reston, VA 20190-4027
Telephone:  (703) 851-5729
E-mail:  fredm01812@hotmail.com
Contact Person:  Fred Dews
Research Specialty:  Census records; Congressional records; Genealogy and family history records; Immigration, emigration, and naturalization records; Military records (pension claims, bounty land warrants, compiled service records)

Documents Archaeology, Incorporated
Research Office, 5029 Country Club Drive
High Ridge, MO 63049-3509
Telephone:  (314) 486-8406
Fax:  (636) 376-4336
E-mail:  documents@brick.net
Contact Person:  Douglas R. Givens, Ph.D.
Research Specialty:  Native American relations records; civilian records; science, technology, and natural resource records

Documents on Wheels
6904 Carleton Terrace
College Park, MD 20740-3621
Telephone:  (301) 277-2115
Fax:  (301) 277-2115
E-mail:  documentsonwheels@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Karen Needles
Research Specialty:  Civil War, Abraham Lincoln, abolitionism, slave trade; RGs 59, 60, 217

Draco International Investigations
999 Brookcliff Avenue, Apartment N 5
Grand Junction, CO 81501-8156
Telephone:  (970) 242-4240
E-mail:  kcOnmo@gvii.net
Contact Person:  Vernon L. Estes, Chief Investigator/CEO
Research Specialty:  Church, land, and military records; Indian rolls and records; lineage society research; pension application research

Robert Duckham
9401 Owings Heights Circle 102
Owings Mills, MD 21117-6108
Telephone:  (410) 356-6076
E-mail:  duckham@comcast.net
Contact Person:  Robert Duckham
Research Specialty:  20th Century documents

Victor S. Dunn, CGRS
43540 Clivedon Court
Ashburn, VA 20147-4540
Telephone:  (703) 431-0630
Fax:  (703) 729-8657
E-mail:  victor.dunn@virginiaancestry.com
Contact Person:  Victor Dunn
Research Specialty:  Military records, genealogy and family history, census records

Aristoteles Duron
7620 Old Georgetown Road, #322
Bethesda, MD 20814
Telephone:  (240) 449-6128
E-mail: aduron@umd.edu
Contact Person: Aristoteles Duron
Research Specialty:  Military records, Navy records, Captured German Records, OSS and State Department

Ecoblack
Post Office Box 64210
Washington, DC 20029-4210
Telephone:  (888) 464-3646
Fax:  (240) 359-7543
E-mail:  envirotour@netzero.net
Contact Person:  Harold Hurtt, Jr.
Research Specialty:  Environmental, African-Americans, HBCUs

Family Links
5506 Limeric Circle 41
Wilmington, DE 19808-3409
Telephone:  (302) 737-7077
E-mail:  fmlylnk@aol.com
Contact Person:  Andrea C. Osinchak
Research Specialty:  Genealogy

Focused Research International, Inc.
22194 Monterey Place
Leonardtown, MD 20650-2818
Telephone:  (301) 475-3898
Fax:  (301) 475-3898
E-mail:  rypfri@radix.net
Contact Person:  Allan Rypka, CDR USN retired
Research Specialty:  Military records, intelligence, aviation, diplomatic

Christine Gardner
PO Box 272296
Boca Raton, FL 33427-2296
Telephone:  (561) 392-0797
E-mail:  humifish@hotmail.com
Contact Person:  Christine Gardner
Research Specialty:  Military records - Vietnam War only, draft registration, military service records, textual records/material & still pictures.

Xochitl Gonzalez
Post Office Box 6030
Baltimore, MD 21231-0030
Telephone:  (310) 629-5807
Fax:  (410) 342-7262
E-mail:  xochitl@mac.com
Contact Person:  Xochitl Gonzalez
Research Specialty:  General Research

Kathy Grace
Post Office Box 282
Altoona, AL 35952-0282
Telephone:  (205) 446-1826
E-mail:  kathygrace662000@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Kathy Grace
Research Specialty:  Military records

Charles Grimm
2680 Walston Road
Mount Airy, MD 21771-8812
Telephone:  (301) 471-6075
E-mail:  buckeyg@hotmail.com
Contact Person:  Charles Grimm
Research Specialty:  Record Group 64, records related to founding and history of the National Archives Motion Picture Division; 1936 WPA Motion Picture, Sound and Recording Survey; motion picture history; film preservation and history

Alfred W. Hahn
11619 Clear Ridge Drive
Midlothian, VA 23112-3150
Telephone:  (804) 739-0601
E-mail:  alhahn1@comcast.net
Contact Person:  Al Hahn
Research Specialty:  U.S. military history; U.S. business information

The Hannah Family Foundation
Box 27
Point Lookout, MO 65726
Telephone:  (866) 523-2993 or (480) 778-0459
Fax:  given upon request
E-mail:  thehannahfamilyfoundation@safe-mail.net
E-mail:  hannahfamilyfoundation@gmail.com
Contact Person:  M. L. 'Mel' Gentry
Research Specialty:  Little Shell Nation, genealogy; adoption; connecting with your parents; children, family. Silas Turnbo, Ozarks history, Ozark Mountain Country; Osage Indians, Native Americans, business; Military Records.

Jack P. Harrison
911 Missy Lane
Woodstock, GA 30188-3142
Telephone:  (770) 265-1111
E-mail:  JACKSFAX@msn.com
Contact Person:  Jack P. Harrison
Research Specialty:  Military records

Heritage Research Center, Ltd.
Post Office Box 9316
Missoula, MT 59807-9316
Telephone:  (406) 721-1913
Fax:  (406) 721-4220
E-mail:  heritage@montana.com
Contact Person:  Gary D. Williams
Research Specialty:  Litigation support; natural resources and the environment; Congressional, court, and military records; Native American relations records; business history and relationships with government

Historical Research Associates, Inc.
Post Office Box 7086, 125 Bank Street Fifth Floor
Missoula, MT 59806-7086
Telephone:  (406) 721-1958
Fax:  (406) 721-1964
E-mail:  gallach@hrassoc.com
Contact Person:  Daniel Gallacher, Senior Associate Historian
Research Specialty:  Diplomatic, labor, business, transportation, regulatory, military, Native American relations, science, technology, natural resources, and environmental records

James R. Holbein
6322 Timarron Cove Lane
Burke, VA 22015-4073
Telephone:  (703) 303-4375
Fax:  (703) 426-9011
E-mail:  holbein@cox.net
Contact Person:  James R. Holbein
Research Specialty:  Congressional, court, diplomatic records; labor and business history; science and technology

Imagefinders, Inc.
6101 Utah Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20015-2461
Telephone:  (202) 244-4456
Fax:  (202) 244-3237
E-mail:  hartjens@erols.com
Contact Person:  Elisabeth M. Hartjens
Research Specialty:  Motion picture, sound, and video; still images; textual records, including Congressional, Coast Guard and lighthouse, diplomatic, military, Navy, immigration and naturalization, and Nixon related records

Margaret Johnson
3200 Garfield Street NW
Washington, DC 20008-3513
Telephone:  (202) 333-4555
Fax:  (202) 333-1059
E-mail:  mmj@erols.com
Contact Person:  Margaret Johnson
Research Specialty:  Photographic, cartographic, textual, film, and microfilm records

Vicki Killian, Nicklason Research Associates
5 Cleveland Avenue
Takoma Park, MD 20912-4123
Telephone:  (301) 588-0456
E-mail:  vkillian@nicklason.com
Contact Person:  Vicki Killian
Research Specialty:  military, Navy, civilian, cartographic, photographic, Native American, environmental, judicial, Congressional, business history, court records.

Rosanna Martinez
P.O.Box 347751
Coral Gables, FL
Telephone:  (305) 389-9134
E-mail:  rosannamartinez@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Rosanna Martinez
Research Specialty:  General Research. All subjects. Research in Spanish, Russian and English.

McCaffery & Associates, Inc
107 S West Street Suite 709
Alexandria, VA 22314-2824
Telephone:  (703) 548-6144
Fax:  (703) 548-6146
E-mail:  info@mccafferyassoc.com
Contact Person:  Thomas F. McCaffery
Research Specialty:  Naval, Maritime, and Aviation researchers specializing in research for law firms and their clients defending toxic tort claims; business, labor, military, regulatory, and transportation records; archtectural, cartographic, and ship plans; photographs

Sean McCrohon
2101 Connecticut Avenue, NW #45
Washington, DC 20008
Telephone:  (202) 465-6874
E-mail:  researchmcc@aol.com
Contact Person:  Sean McCrohon
Research Specialty:  Skilled in all aspects of textual, image, military and legal research. Adept at managing large or small projects.

Tangela L. Mingo
10930 NW 14th Ave #A10
Miami, Florida 33167
Telephone:  (786) 350-0381 or (305) 696-2255
E-mail:  tangemin@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Tangela L. Mingo
Research Specialty:  Economic Finance, International Finance/Comparative

MicroComp Postal History
12349 Coleraine Court
Reston, VA 20191-1627
Telephone:  (703) 869-3883
E-mail:  rsmall003@comcast.net
Contact Person:  Richard E. Small
Research Specialty:  RG 28 Post Offices, postmasters, postmarks, and postal history

Militaria Research Services
205 San Juan Court
Williamstown, NJ 08094-3021
Telephone:  (856) 875-6114
E-mail:  rmcdivittjr@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Robert E. McDivitt
Research Specialty:  Record Group 242 and related records; German military personnel and formations; members of the SS, SA, and the various NSDAP organizations; recipients of the Goldenen Ehrenzeichen and Blutorden; military personnel and formations of the U.S. and U.K.

John M. Morgan
1015 North Marlyn Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21221-1306
Telephone:  (410) 780-3148
Contact Person:  John M. Morgan IV
Research Specialty:  8th Army Air Force records, microfilm rolls; 8th Army Air Force aircraft record cards; 305th B Group history; genealogies for families, birth, death, and wedding certificates

Morgan, Angel, and Associates
1601 Connecticut Avenue NW Suite 600
Washington, DC 20009-1049
Telephone:  (202) 265-1833
Fax:  (202) 265-8022
E-mail:  mike@morganangel.com
Contact Person:  Michael Lawson
Research Specialty:  Native American issues and claims, federal Indian policy, tribal history and genealogy; primarily Record Groups 48 and 75

Shannon Bridget Murphy
2660 Petersborough Street
Herndon, VA 20171-2443
Telephone:  (703) 864-3099
E-mail:  shannoninpapertrails@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Shannon Bridget Murphy
Research Specialty:  Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records; Diplomatic Records; Family History; Immigration and Naturalization; Intelligence; Labor and Transportation; Military Records - Military searches including lineage and patriotic applications; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental Records; Audio and Sound Recordings; Motion Pictures and Audio- Silent films; Film and Video; Photo Stills and Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures

NICOM, Inc.
1316 Queen Street
Alexandria, VA 22314-2406
Telephone:  (703) 684-4636
Fax:  (703) 684-7335
E-mail:  info@nicom.com
Contact Person:  Dr. John Arnold
Research Specialty:  Science, technology, natural resources, and the environment; Immigration, emigration, and naturalization records; census, Congressional, court, and military records; genealogy and family history; audio, film, sound, and video recordings; photographs

O'Canan Research
1719 Evelyn Drive
Rockville, MD 20852-4101
Telephone:  (301) 770-6909
Fax:  (301) 770-6390
E-mail:  pekeane@worldnet.att.net
Contact Person:  Paul Keane
Research Specialty:  20th century Commerical and military records

Rev. Sonja Flye Oliver
341 S. 12th Street
Purcellville, VA 20132-3388
Telephone:  (540) 338-9398
E-mail:  SonjaOliver@msn.com
Contact Person:  Sonja Oliver
Research Specialty:  Available for research in Kansas and Virginia; specialize in adoption, foster care, and obituary look up

G. Russell Overton
300 South Jenison Avenue
Lansing, MI 48915-1130
Telephone:  (517) 303-5556
E-mail:  groverton@comcast.net
Contact Person:  Russell Overton
Research Specialty:  Native American relations; environmental; foreign affairs; diplomatic; labor; transportation; regulatory agency records; natural resources; federal courts and U.S. court claims

Paper Trails Historical Research, LLC
Office: 206 N. Washington St., #B-16
Mail: 2506 Terrett Ave.
Alexandria, VA 22301-1151
Telephone:  (703) 837-8663
Fax:  (703) 837-8664
E-mail:  papertrails.research@verizon.net
Contact Person:  Orah Hurst


Research Specialty: Asbestos on ships: US Navy, Merchant Marine, Coast Guard, Naval Air. Providing service to veterans and their attorneys since 1994.

The Photo Editor
4731 Williamsburg Boulevard
Arlington, VA 22207-2835
Telephone:  (703) 765-1626
Fax:  (703) 241-2939
E-mail:  fotoeditor@comcast.net
Contact Person:  Jane A. Martin
Research Specialty:  All archival imagery, maps, text, moving images, recorded sound, copyright verification

ResearchPlus
Post Office Box 638
Severna Park, MD 21146-0638
Telephone:  (410) 729-4050
E-mail:  researchplus@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Cathy Sippel or Jack Schworm
Research Specialty:  Will research anything to fit your needs

Robert Price,Maritime Research Associates
132 Fog Plain Road
Waterford, CT 06385
Telephone:  (860) 961-0472
E-mail:  rgprice@maritimeresearch.biz
Contact Person:  Bob Price
Research Specialty:  Naval Records, Submarine History, WWII, Military Records, Diplomatic Records, Intelligence Records

Georgia Shaw
6112 Landon Lane
Bethesda, MD 20817-6658
Telephone:  (301) 229-4301
E-mail:  shawgeorgia@msn.com
Contact Person:  Georgia Shaw
Research Specialty:  All subject or media type within the Washington, DC area NARA facilities, especially photography

Edward A. Singer
7512 Sweetbriar Dr.
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone:  (703) 203-7770
E-mail:  easinger@lynxconnect.com
Contact Person: Edward A. Singer
Research Specialty: Research Documents and Supply Copies

SMC Research
6 Briardale Court
Derwood, MD 20855-2027
Telephone:  (301) 670-9529
E-mail:  sandy@clunies.net
Contact Person:  Sandra MacLean Clunies, CG
Research Specialty:  Federal census; RG 26: Maritime, Coast Guard, Lighthouse

Sim Smiley
4469 Sedgwick Street NW
Washington, DC 20016-2713
Telephone:  (202) 686-8224
Fax:  (202) 244-1944
E-mail:  SIM.SMILEY@EARTHLINK.net
Contact Person:  Sim Smiley
Research Specialty:  20th century diplomatic and military history and intelligence (OSS-CIA); Department of State; NSC; FBI; DOS; DOD; Secretary of Defense; Joint Chiefs Staff; World War II; France and Italy (French and Italian spoken); chemical and biological warfare; WWII

Sunshine Historical Research
613 Blick Drive
Colesville, MD 20904-2904
Telephone:  (301) 625-8937
E-mail:  GSCMurphy@aol.com
Contact Person:  Greg Murphy
Research Specialty:  Asbestos; Bureau of Ships (RG 19); State Department (RGs 59, 84); FBI (RG 65); Alien Property (RG 131); Maritime (RG 178); War Production Board (RG 179); Naval installations (RG 181); War Manpower (RG 188); OSS (RG 226); RFC (RG 234); CIA (RG 263)

T/A East Europe Connection
1711 Corwin Drive
Silver Spring, MD 20910-1533
Telephone:  (301) 585-0117
E-mail:  lkrupnak@erols.com
Contact Person:  Laurence Krupnak
Research Specialty:  EWZ Records (RG 242); immigration and naturalization records; State Department and foreign service records

Taylor & Hammel LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
1224 N. Meade Street #22
Arlington, VA 22209-3712
Telephone:  (703) 822-4658
Fax:  (703) 842-8656
E-mail:  info@taylorhammel.com
E-mail:  johntaylor@taylorhammel.com
Contact Person:  John Taylor - Senior Researcher
Research Specialty:  Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization; Labor & Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures.

Touchstone Research Group, LLC
244 5th Avenue, Suite 2571
New York, NY 10001-7604
Telephone:  (800) 283-3214
Fax:  (646) 530-8701
E-mail:  info@touchstoneresearchgroup.com
Contact Person:  William Hammond, Director
Research Specialty:  Touchstone is one of the largest research firms for military records at NPRC. Our on-site researchers have successfully retrieved thousands of veterans' records from that facility and retrieves more records for veterans per week than any other firm. DD214s, OMPF, 201 Files, Military Medical Records. Bonded and insured services to acquire your military service records with offices in St. Louis MO, Denver CO, Millington TN, Quantico VA, Kansas City MO, and researchers at other military records repositories nationwide.

Washington Historical Research
4661 South 34th Street
Arlington, VA 22206-1701
Telephone:  (703) 671-8344
Fax:  (703) 671-8322
E-mail:  WashHistResearch@aol.com
Contact Person:  Margaret Shannon, Senior Research Historian
Research Specialty:  World War II, diplomatic records, public policy, US Secret Service, FBI, domestic policy, all eras, environment, CIA, foreign governments, litigation research; RGs 14, 59, 84, 226, 242, 408

Westmoreland Research
Post Office Box 20069
Alexandria, VA 22320-9804
Telephone:  (202) 421-5151
Fax:  (703) 317-1709
E-mail:  mjc@westmorelandresearch.org
Contact Person:  Michael Constandy
Research Specialty: Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard; Diplomatic; Intelligence; Military Records; Navy; Film and Video; Photos and Pictures

"Wits End" Properties, LLC (Forrest L. Burgener)
P.O. Box 121
Schooleys Mountain, New Jersey
Telephone:  (908) 304-2018
E-mail:  burgener46@comcast.net
Contact Person:  Forrest L. Burgener
Research Specialty:  Rockland City (NY)Archives; my current specialty is family military records and re-building records destroyed in the Archive files in 1973

Writers Ink Media Services
938 East Tantallon Drive
Fort Washington, MD 20744-5209
Telephone:  (301) 292-2027
E-mail:  info@writersinkmedia.com
Contact Person:  M. S. Shell
Research Specialty:  Motion pictures, audio, photo stills and video recordings. Our facility provides braodcast duplications and screening files

Gayle Yiotis
508 Mashie Drive, SE
Vienna, VA 22180-4926
Telephone:  (703) 915-9303
E-mail:  gcyiotis@cox.net
Contact Person:  Gayle Yiotis
Research Specialty: Seventeen years conducting research for Smithsonian documentary research, genealogy, Native American records, Military Records, etc.

Find a researcher by:

*Note:   Researchers for hire are not NARA employees. Any individual or company that does research in our holdings on behalf of others is free to join the listing. For information on how to get on the Independent Researchers for Hire lists, see the Opportunity for Independent Researchers page.

Inclusion on the independent researcher lists should not be viewed as an endorsement of the quality of the researchers' work, and NARA will not be responsible for any arrangement made with independent researchers. Such arrangements, including the character, extent, and cost of the work, are purely private, contractual matters between the independent researcher and you. It also is up to you to determine whether or not the researcher's experience and qualifications meet your needs. Comments or complaints received by NARA regarding any individual independent researcher on the listing will be forwarded to that researcher for resolution.

Top of Page

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
8601 Adelphi Road, College Park, MD 20740-6001
Telephone: 1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272