“U.S. Park Policeman near State, War, and Navy Building”

By an unknown photographer, Washington, DC, ca. 1910.

The nation’s capital has a number of different police forces, including the U.S. Park Police, the Uniformed Secret Service, Federal Protective Service, U.S. Capitol Police, and the Metropolitan Police Department. Each has its own distinctive uniform, yet all are easily identifiable as police.

National Archives, Records of the Office of Public Buildings and Public Parks of the National Capital (42-SPB-96)