## June 8, 2023

To: 2022-2024 FOIA Advisory Committee

From: Implementation Subcommittee of the 2022-2024 FOIA Advisory Committee

## Re: Summary of progress and upcoming work

The Implementation Subcommittee continues to evaluate the status of the 51 recommendations made by the previous terms of the FOIA Advisory Committee, and is embarking on its information-gathering stage to identify what recommendations require further work.

Since the last FOIA Advisory Committee meeting, on March 2, the Implementation Subcommittee finished going through the recommendations to assign them into one of four categories, to be adjusted as work progresses:

- 1. Done or resolved no need for further work (5)
- 2. In progress monitor, but no further work needed this term (8)
- 3. Unresolved likely will need follow-up and further work (16)
- 4. Follow-up study/information needed to assess whether more work is needed (22)

The subcommittee will focus this summer on starting to gather follow-up information on the fourth group, particularly regarding recommendations to agencies, through several methods: 1) the subcommittee will send a letter on behalf of Chair Alina Semo to agencies asking them to complete an online survey and request discussion via interviews; 2) the subcommittee will synthesize chief FOIA officer reports and annual agency FOIA reports to assess impact of relevant recommendations pertaining to data collected in those reports; and 3) gather other information through the requester community or other methods, depending on the specific recommendation.

As information is gathered, in coordination with other subcommittees, the Implementation Subcommittee will craft specific suggestions for the full committee to consider in addressing previous recommendations that require further work.

## Implementation Subcommittee Members:

David Cuillier, co-chair, University of Florida Catrina Pavlik-Keenan, co-chair, DHS Jason Baron, University of Maryland Luke Nichter, Chapman University Tom Susman, American Bar Association Ben Tingo, AINS Alex Howard, Digital Democracy Project Michael Heise, EEOC Patricia Weth, EPA Lauren Harper, National Security Archive