The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Table of Contents

Chapter 12. Records of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs and Predecessor Committees, 1816-1968


Records of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs and Predecessor Committees, 1816-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committee records discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs and Predecessor Committees, 1816-1986 (1,020 ft.)

12.1 This chapter describes the records of the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, its predecessors, and other standing committees that had jurisdiction over matters that eventually became consolidated under the Interior and Insular Affairs Committee. The most significant of these predecessor committees is the Committee on Public Lands, but, by virtue of a long-term investigation, 1928-52, the Committee on Indian Affairs has the largest volume of records among the pre-1947 committees. Also described here briefly are records of other predecessor standing committees (on territories, insular possessions, mines and mining, irrigation and reclamation, national resources, the geological survey, and Indian depredation claims) that were eliminated in either 1921 or 1946 by reforms of the committee system.

12.2 There is no published history of any of the committees whose records are described in the following screens.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.