Genealogical Information in Other Federal Agency Web Sites
These U.S. Government agencies have information on their websites that may be useful in genealogical research. They are listed alphabetically by agency name (ignoring "U.S.").
Bureau of Land Management, Eastern States Office
- The Official Land Patent Records Site provides index information necessary to locate homestead and land entry case files in the custody of the National Archives.
U.S. Census Bureau
- Age Search Service, 1930-1990 censuses
- Frequently Occurring First Names and Surnames From the 1990 Census
- U.S. Gazetteer enables place name searches based on the 1990 census.
- Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-born Population of the United States: 1850-1990
- Population of the 100 Largest Cities and Other Urban Places in the United States: 1790 to 1990
- Selected Historical Census Data, 1790-2000
- Spanish Surname List for the 1990's
- Year 2000 Census
Centers for Disease Control
- Where to Write for Vital Records tells how to obtain birth, death, marriage, and divorce records from state and territorial agencies).
Department of Veterans Affairs
- How to Find a Servicemate or Members of a Military Unit
- Number of Living U.S. Veterans and what year the last dependent of veterans of the Revolutionary War, War of 1812, etc., died.
U.S. Federal Government
- FEDSTATS is the home page to links to online statistical information from more than 70 agencies of the U.S. Federal Government.
U.S. Geological Survey
- Geographic Names Information System identifies the location of geographic features in the U.S. and its territories.
Immigration and Naturalization Service
- Country of Origin of Immigrants and Persons Naturalized, 1820-1996
- History, Genealogy, and Education Home Page
- Immigration and Naturalization Legislation, 1790-1996
- Immigration and Emigration by Decade, 1901-1990
Library of Congress
- Home Page
- U.S. Copyright Office
- Local History & Genealogy Reading Room
- Library of Congress's Catalog
- Services for Researchers
- Headstones and Markers
- History of Government-Provided Headstones and Markers
- How to Obtain the Burial Locations of U.S. Veterans
- Lists of National, Military, and State Veterans Cemeteries
National Imagery and Mapping Agency
- GEOnet Names Server identifies the location of geographic features in foreign countries.
National Park Service
- African American History and Culture
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System is a computerized database (data input now in progress) which will contain
basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War; a list of regiments in both the Union and
Confederate Armies; identifications and description of 384 significant battles of the war; references that
identify the sources of information in the database; and suggestions for where to find additional
information. (NARA holds the records
from which this information is being compiled).
- Links to the Past provides information about historical sites maintained by the National Park Service.
- United States Colored Troops Database of over 230,000 names is searchable by surname.
U.S. Postal Service
What are people asking on History Hub about Genealogy Records?
- How do I searching or filter census records by location in the National Archives Catalog?
- Seeking information about radio writer Susan Taylor White
- Looking for information about Oklahoma rural area location 1950 Census notes
- Seeking records of incarceration and death of my grandfather
- How do I find out about my Indian heritage?