Educator Resources

Inaugural Quiz!

Question 1

Who was the first President inaugurated for a term limited by the Constitution?


In 1957 Dwight D. Eisenhower became the first President inaugurated after the passage of the 22d amendment. This amendment limits to two the number of terms a President can serve. You can read the text of the 22d amendment below.
Return to Quiz

Dwight Eisenhower
Photo: Dwight D. Eisenhower Library


Passed by Congress March 21, 1947. Ratified February 27, 1951.

Section 1.
No person shall be elected to the office of the President more than twice, and no person who has held the office of President, or acted as President, for more than two years of a term to which some other person was elected President shall be elected to the office of President more that once. But this Article shall not apply to any person holding the office of President when this Article was proposed by Congress, and shall not prevent any person who may be holding the office of President, or acting as President, during the term within which this Article becomes operative from holding the office of President or acting as President during the remainder of such term.

Section 2.
This article shall be inoperative unless it shall have been ratified as an amendment to the Constitution by the legislatures of three-fourths of the several States within seven years from the date of its submission to the States by the Congress.