National Archives Experience -Digital Vaults- Online Exhibit Nominated for Webby!
Press Release · Friday, April 11, 2008

Press Release
April 11, 2008

National Archives Experience “Digital Vaults” Online Exhibit Nominated for Webby!

NAE’s on Shortlist for “Oscars of the Internet”

Washington, DC…The National Archives Experience’s Digital Vaults online exhibition, created in cooperation with Second Story Interactive Studios, has been nominated for the Webby Award’s Best Cultural Institution web site of 2008. Hailed as the "Oscars of the Internet” by the New York Times, the Webby Awards are the leading international awards honoring excellence on the Internet, including Web sites, interactive advertising, online film and video, and mobile Web sites.

From now through May 1st, you can cast your People's Voice vote for the Digital Vaults at To quickly vote for the Digital Vaults after signing in, use the pull down menu “Select a Nominee” at the top of the Webby Awards home page and choose “The Digital Vaults.” Scroll down to "Society" and choose "Cultural Institutions" to locate “The Digital Vaults.” Winners will be announced on May 6, 2008.

“We are delighted to be recognized by the Webby Awards as a top web site. We hope that people who support the National Archives will cast their vote for the Digital Vaults,” said Archivist of the United States Allen Weinstein.

"The National Archives Experience’s Webby Award nomination is a testament to the skill, ingenuity, and vision of its creators" said David-Michel Davies, executive director of the Webby Awards.

About NAE’s

The Digital Vaults, an online interactive exhibit for the National Archives Experience, was launched in February, 2008. The Digital Vaults web site is conceived as a portal into the heart of the National Archives, and can be reached from the home page of the National Archives Experience. To enter the site directly, visit This new site uses visual records such as documents, photographs, and popular media, and illustrates how these materials can come together in unexpected ways to tell the story of our country.

About The Webby Awards

Established in 1996, the 12th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from over 60 countries and all 50 states. The Webby Awards are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 550-person judging academy whose members include Internet co-inventor Vinton Cerf, R/GA’s Chief Bob Greenberg, "Simpson's" creator Matt Groening, Arianna Huffington, and Harvey Weinstein.

# # #

For Press information please contact the National Archives Public Affairs staff at 202-357-5300.


This page was last reviewed on January 7, 2013.
Contact us with questions or comments.