Information Security Oversight Office (ISOO)

National Industrial Security Program

National Industrial Security Program

The National Industrial Security Program (NISP) is a partnership between the federal government and private industry to safeguard classified information.

Executive Order 12829, as amended, "National Industrial Security Program", further amended by section 6 of E.O. 13691 (PDF Format), was established to achieve cost savings and to ensure that cleared personnel safeguard the classified information in their possession while performing work on contracts, programs, bids, or research and development efforts while working for United States Government.

This order calls for a single, integrated, cohesive system for safeguarding classified information held by industry. Consistent with the goal of achieving greater uniformity in security requirements for classified contracts, the four major tenets of the NISP are:

Achieving uniformity in security procedures.

Implementing the reciprocity principle in security procedures, particularly with regard to facility and personnel clearances.

Eliminating duplicative or unnecessary requirements, particularly agency inspections.

Achieving reductions in security costs.

The NISP affects all executive branch agencies. The major signatories to the program are the Department of Energy, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, the Department of Defense, and the Central Intelligence Agency.

The NISP Memorandum of Understanding (MOU's) Members- Professional Industrial Security organizations


Aerospace Industries Association (AIA)
Steven Kipp


American Society for Industrial Security (ASIS) International
Robert Lilje


Contractor Special Security Working Group (CSSWG)
Brian G. Mackey (US SSA)


The NISPPAC created under section 103 of E.O. 12829 is a true partnership between Government and industry in policy making. With representation from Government and industry, they advise the ISOO Director, who serves as its Chair, on all matters concerning the policies of the NISP. This includes recommending changes to those policies as reflected in the Order, and its implementing directives. The NISPPAC also serves as a forum to discuss policy issues in dispute.

The ISOO Director appoints 13 representatives from executive branch agencies and eight representatives from industry. They meet twice a year and the meetings are open to the public.

 Federally Funded Research and Development Centers (FFRDC)/University Affiliated Research Centers (UARC) 
Shawn Daley 


Industrial Security Working Group (ISWG)
Marc T. Ryan


Intelligence and National Security Alliance (INSA)
Larry Hanauer


National Classification Management Society (NCMS)
Dennis Arriaga


National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA)
Mitch Lawrence


Kirk Poulsen