Information Security Oversight Office (ISOO)

Program of Events

Tuesday, October 18, 2005
9 A.M. - 1 P.M.

William G. McGowan Theater
National Archives Building
Constitution Ave NW at 7th St.
Washington, DC 20408

Administrative and Introductory Remarks 9-9:05 A.M.

Opening Remarks 9:05-9:10 A.M.
Professor Allen Weinstein, Archivist of the United States

Introduction of Keynote Speaker 9:10-9:15 A.M.

Keynote Address 9:15-9:45 A.M.
The Honorable Lee H. Hamilton

Break 9:45-10 A.M.

Panel One: Classification 10-11:25 A.M.

Moderator: Rebecca Carr, Cox Newspapers


Steven Aftergood, Senior Research Analyst, Federation of American Scientists
Lawrence J. Halloran, Staff Director and Counsel, Subcommittee on National Security, Emerging Threats and International Relations, House of Representatives
Charles S. Phalen, Jr., Federal Bureau of Investigation
Robert W. Rogalski, Department of Defense.

Break 11:25-11:35 A.M.

Panel Two: Declassification 11:35 A.M.-1 P.M.

Moderator: L. Britt Snider, formerly of the Central Intelligence Agency and currently the chair of the Public Interest Declassification Board


Thomas S. Blanton, Executive Director, The National Security Archives, The George Washington University
Edmund Cohen, Chief, ISC/IMS, Central Intelligence Agency
Margaret P. Grafeld, Department of State
Michael J. Kurtz, Assistant Archivist for the Office of Records Services-Washington, DC
Anna K. Nelson, American University and former board member of the United States Assassination Records Review Board.

Closing Remarks 1 P.M.