2014 Press Releases

Freedom of Information Act Advisory Committee to Hold Inaugural Meeting at the National Archives on June 24, 2014
Media Alert · Friday, June 20, 2014

Washington, DC

More Information


The newly established Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Advisory Committee will host an open meeting to discuss improvements to FOIA administration, develop consensus and recommendations for improving FOIA administration and proactive disclosures, and solicit public comments. The initial meeting will prioritize the FOIA issues and topics that the Committee will address over the coming two years.


David S. Ferriero, Archivist of the United States
Miriam Nisbet, FOIA Advisory Committee Chair
Current FOIA Advisory Committee Members


Tuesday, June 24, 2014, 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.


National Archives Building
700 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C.

NOTE: The meeting has filled to capacity. Individuals who did not receive registration confirmation will not be able to attend the meeting in person, but may access the video of the full meeting afterward at https://ogis.archives.gov/foia-advisory-committee.htm. Members of the media who wish to attend should contact Christa Lemelin in NARA’s Office of Government Services at 202-741-5773 or christa.lemelin@nara.gov.


The FOIA Advisory Committee was established in accordance with the second United States Open Government National Action Plan released on December 5, 2013, and the directive in the Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552(h)(1)(C), that the Office of Government Information Services within the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) "recommend policy changes…to improve" the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) administration. This Committee is governed by the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act and serves as a deliberative body to advise on improvements to the administration of FOIA. The Committee will study the current FOIA landscape across the Executive Branch and may recommend legislative action, policy changes or executive action, among other matters.

The 20 Committee members, appointed by the Archivist of the United States, include:

Dave Bahr, Bahr Law Offices, P.C.
Delores Barber, U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Andrew Becker, The Center for Investigative Reporting
Karen Finnegan, U.S. Department of State
Eric Gillespie, Govini
Larry Gottesman, Environmental Protection Agency
James Hogan, U.S. Department of Defense
Clay Johnson, The Department of Better Technology
Nate Jones, National Security Archive
Ginger McCall, Electronic Privacy Information Center
Michele Meeks, Central Intelligence Agency
Martin Michalosky, U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
Maggie Mulvihill, Boston University
Miriam Nisbet, National Archives and Records Administration
Ramona Branch Oliver, U.S. Department of Labor
Melanie Ann Pustay, U.S. Department of Justice
David S. Reed, Federal Communications Commission
Anne Weismann, Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington
Lee White, National Coalition for History
Mark S. Zaid, Law Office of Mark S. Zaid, P.C.

For more information see: https://ogis.archives.gov/foia-advisory-committee.htm

# # #

Press inquiries should go to Miriam Nisbet, Chair of the Committee and Director of the Office of Government Information Services, at 202-741-5771 or miriam.nisbet@nara.gov.


This page was last reviewed on November 27, 2018.
Contact us with questions or comments.