National Archives News

Federal Holidays and Research Room Closings

National Archives research rooms are closed or close early on the days listed below. Normal hours will resume the following business day. You can access some NARA holdings online.

See our nationwide network of facilities to check research room hours at each location.

The Museum at the National Archives Building in Washington, DC, is open every day except Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.

Date

Holiday

Tuesday, January 1

New Year’s Day

Monday, January 21

Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Monday, February 18

Washington’s Birthday*

Wednesday, April 10

Research Rooms closed for In-Service Day**

Monday, May 27

Memorial Day

Thursday, July 4

Independence Day

Monday, September 2

Labor Day

Wednesday, September 11

Research Rooms closed for In-Service Day**

Monday, October 14

Columbus Day

Monday, November 11

Veterans Day

Wednesday, November 27, 12 p.m.

Research Rooms close early for Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 28

Thanksgiving Day

Tuesday, December 24, 12 p.m.

Research Rooms close early for Christmas Day

Wednesday, December 25

Christmas Day

Tuesday, December 31, 12 p.m.

Research Rooms close early for New Year’s Day

* This holiday is designated as "Washington's Birthday." Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is Federal policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

**In-Service Day devoted to staff training and project work for the agency in our Research Facilities.

If you have questions or concerns about this closure, please contact a Research Room supervisor.

Top