National Archives News

2021 Federal Holidays and Research Room Closings

National Archives research rooms are closed or close early on the days listed below. Normal hours will resume the following business day. You can access some NARA holdings online.

See our nationwide network of facilities to check research room hours at each location.

The Museum at the National Archives Building in Washington, DC, is open every day except Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.

Date

Holiday

Friday, January 1

New Year’s Day

Monday, January 18

Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Wednesday, January 20

Inauguration Day

Monday, February 15

Washington’s Birthday*

Monday, May 31

Memorial Day

Monday, July 5

Independence Day Observed

Monday, September 6

Labor Day

Monday, October 11

Columbus Day

Thursday, November 11

Veterans Day

Thursday, November 25

Thanksgiving Day

Friday, December 24

Christmas Day Observed

* This holiday is designated as "Washington's Birthday." Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is Federal policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

**In-Service Day devoted to staff training and project work for the agency in our Research Facilities. If you have questions or concerns about this closure, please contact a Research Room supervisor.

Top