Independent Researchers for Hire - Locations
Researchers Specializing in Records held the National Archives at Chicago facility*
Note: To ensure fairness, this list displays in random order each time it is viewed. Be sure to view the entire list.
530 Lake Shore Dr
Chicago, IL 60611
Telephone: (312) 350-4370
Research Specialty: Document Retrieval, Family Trees, Immigration , Mayflower Society. We have Offices in Chicago, Peoria, IL + Kalamazoo, MI.
Record Click LLC
123 E Main St Ste 2 PMB 105
Denville, NJ 07834
Research Specialty: Ancestral Research, Find Family, Heir Searching, DNA Family Tree, Adoption Research, Military Research, also citizenship by descent applications.
Archive Research Associates
539 Calef Hwy Ste 206
Epping, NH 03042
Telephone: (603) 978-7456
Research Specialty: Environmental, Regulatory, Labor Records, and Military Records
M. L. ’Mel’ Gentry
The Hannah Family Foundation
PO Box 27
Point Lookout, MO 65726
Telephone: (866) 523-2993;(480) 778-0459
Fax: given upon request
Research Specialty: Little Shell Nation, Family genealogy, Turnbo papers Silas Turnbo, Historical data, maps, Native Indigenous American Indians, Military Records.
5379 W Dakin
Chicago, IL 60634-2606
Telephone: (773) 458-3484
Research Specialty: Biographical research; Genealogy; Chicago and Cook County history
About: Independent researcher specializing in biographical and genealogical research, Chicago and Cook County history.
Frank Evans;Lisa Hansen
VTS Investigations, LLC
79 W Monroe Ste 1122
Chicago, IL 60603-4947
Telephone: (800) 203-4160
Fax: (312) 782-2838
Research Specialty: Investigative
Daniel F. Giallombardo
6302 Londonberry Dr
Cary, IL 60013-1251
Research Specialty: American Civil War, World War I
Michael L. Lawson, Ph.D.
MLL Consulting, L.L.C.
8606 Battailles Ct
Annandale, VA 22003
Fax: (703) 503-5531
Research Specialty: General Research, Specific Document Search and Retrieval, Business Records, Census Records, Civilian Records, Congressional Records, Corps of Engineers Records, Court Records, Military Records, Environmental, Land and Water Rights, Native American Relations (RG75 and RG 48), Tribal History and Genealogy, Natural Resources, Presidential Libraries, Federal Records Centers. 40 Years Experience. Negotiable Rates.
About: 40 Years Experience. Negotiable Rates.
Jeanne Larzalere Bloom
Jeanne Larzalere Bloom, CD(SM), CG
2666 East 73rd St Apt 11-W
Chicago, IL 60649-2732
Telephone: (773) 221-4545
Fax: (773) 768-8034
Research Specialty: Genealogy, Military service
About: Jeanne Larzalere Bloom, CG(SM)is a full-time professional researcher specializing in Chicago and Cook County research, problem solving, and compiling multi-generational family histories. As a case manager for the Repatriation and Family Affairs Division of the Army Casualty and Memorial Affairs Operation she works on identifying family members eligible to provide Family Reference Samples (mtDNA) to aid in the possible identification of unaccounted for soldiers from World War II, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War and on the determination of Primary Next of Kin of the soldier. Her other clients include heir-search firms, authors, professional genealogists, and family researchers in the United States and internationally.
Littlefield Historical Research
6207 Snake Rd
Oakland, CA 94611
Telephone: (510) 339-1017
Research Specialty: Water rights; Navigable waterwya; Native American history; Environmental history; Land use; Mining; Rivers; Forests; Public lands; National parks; Boundaries; Interstate conflicts; Transportation; Census records; Toxic waste
About: Water rights, navigabililty, Native American, environmental land use, mining, rivers, forests, public lands, national parks, boundaries, interstate conflicts, transportation, census, toxic waste
Data Retrieval Services, Inc.
PO Box 1600
Jasper, GA 30143
Telephone: (800) 250-1665
Fax: (877) 389-5822
Research Specialty: Bankruptcy, Civil, Criminal from all Courts nationwide.
Associates at Nicklason Research
2217 N Harrison St
Arlington, VA 22205
Telephone: (703) 536-5180; (703) 946-7146
Research Specialty: African-American History; Congressional Records; Court Records (Supreme Court, Court of Claims); Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom Records; Labor & Business History/Transportation/Regulatory Agencies; Military-Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, National Guard, Veterans (Civil, WWI, WWII, Korea, Vietnam); Native American History; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental clean-up (CERCLA, FUDS, PRP, MMRP); State Department. Land Use, Water Rights, Mining, Forests. Textual, Cartographic, Photographs, Newspapers.
About: 40 years experience researching. Also does research at the Library of Congress, Smithsonian, and other repositories.
Mackinac Genealogy Native and Ethno History Association
6427 Black River Rd
Naubinway, MI 49762
Telephone: (906) 477-6619
Fax: (906) 477-6619
Research Specialty: Native American Indians; Microfilm; Letters Sent and Letters Received from RG 75 (BIA)
The Center for African American Genealogical Research, Inc. (CAAGRI)
225 Industrial Ct Ste 100
Fredericksburg, VA 22408
Telephone: (540) 785-9925
Research Specialty: African American, Native American, Census, Military, Court Records, Genealogy and Family History, Civil War, Slavery.
Dale A. Stirling
48 Alexis Ln
Coupeville, WA 98239
Telephone: (360) 678-1934
Research Specialty: Navigability; Environmental history
About: Navigability, Hazardous Waste, Pollution, Environmental Assessment, PRP Searches, Insurance.
735 Chicago Ave 343
Evanston, IL 60202
Telephone: (206) 745-2817
Research Specialty: Vietnam and Vietnam War, Southeast Asia, Film and Sound Archives, Presidential Media, Film Footage, Rights and Clearances, International Archives, CBS, NBC, ABC, ITN, Reuters, Radio and TV Archives.
Joan Kitchen Murray
PO Box 547
Peotone, IL 60468
About: Acquainted with all records held at this facility (Chicago). Census land, military, court records, bankruptcy, civil, criminal, divorce, church, lineage society research, genealogy and family history, Chicago, Northern Illinois-N.E. Iowa, southern Wisconsin.
PO Box 347751
Coral Gables, FL 33234-7751
Telephone: (305) 389-9134
Research Specialty: General historic records; All archival records
About: General Research. All subjects. Research in Spanish, Russian and English.
Morgan, Angel, and Associates
1601 Connecticut Ave NW Ste 600
Washington, DC 20009-1049
Telephone: (202) 265-1833
Fax: (202) 265-8022
Research Specialty: Native American issues and claims, federal Indian policy, tribal history and genealogy; primarily Record Groups 48 and 75
Christina A. Reynen, MLS, MA
21 W Goethe 4D
Chicago, IL 60610-8291
Telephone: (312) 335-0586
Research Specialty: Biography, court records, labor and business history, immigration/emigration, house and building history.
About: Independent archivist/researcher, specializing in Chicago and Cook County history. Former contributor and fact checker for the Encyclopedia of Chicago.
G. Russell Overton
Aarquives Unlimited, LLC
300 South Jenison Ave
Lansing, MI 48915-1130
Telephone: (517) 743-4733
Research Specialty: Native American relations; diplomatic records; Congressional records; Labor & business; environmental & natural resources; federal courts
9615 Sutherland Rd
Silver Spring, MD 20901
Telephone: (202) 236-2692
Research Specialty: Military Records, CIA Records, Native American Records, Record Group 75, Treaties
Ms. Karen Brown Gerdine
The Five Points Historic Association
PO Box 1413
Denver, CO 80201-1413
Telephone: (303) 695-8202;(303) 695-0822
Research Specialty: Western Exploration - Cultural Groups, Civil Rights Era
Gregory T. Smith, Chief Investigator
History Piquette LLC
2399 White Oak Trl
Oregon, WI 53575
Telephone: (608) 843-6633
Research Specialty: General Research, Military, Declassified Documents, Corporation History, Congressional Research, Aviation Research, FAA/NTSB, Naval, Maritime, Coast Guard, Harbor. Transportation, Film and Still photography.
9401 Owings Heights Cir 102
Owings Mills, MD 21117-6108
Telephone: (410) 356-6076
Research Specialty: 20th Century documents; General research
2922 Fairway Ct
Glenview, IL 60025-4046
Research Specialty: Jewish Genealogy
Research and Information Services
9160 S Bell Ave
Chicago, IL 60643
Research Specialty: Genealogy and Family History; photos; census records; sound recordings
About: Knowledge of and ability to translate German and French
73 Fendall Ave
Alexandria, VA 22304
Telephone: (703) 629-2118
Research Specialty: Military history; Department of State; FAA and CAB, OSS, CIA, other US government agencies
J. Marie Green
6330 Newtown Cir Apt B1
Tampa, FL 33615-3621
Telephone: (813) 854-3243
Research Specialty: Independent Scholar, Historian, African American History, Slavery, Reconstruction, WWI and WWII African American Soldiers, Courts-Martial UCMJ Records, Former Military Paralegal, Cemetery Preservation, Historical Surverys, African American Genealogy.
Legal Data Resources
2816 W Summerdale Ave
Chicago, IL 60625-3420
Telephone: (800) 735-9207;(773) 561-2468
Fax: (773) 561-2488
Research Specialty: Document search; Document retrieval; Civil court records; Criminal court records; Bankruptcy records; All archival records
About: Document Search and Retrieval, Civil and Criminal Court records; bankruptcy records; Any type of record that is held at the Archives.
Denese M. Neu, PhD.
1637 W Olive Ave 3
Chicago, IL 60660
Telephone: (773) 351-9269
Research Specialty: Chicago, Community development, economic development, housing, urban planning, urban history, social policy programs, social history, environment, land use, cultural resources, immigration, New Orleans, civil rights, transportation
2306 45th Ave
Greeley, CO 80634-3241
Telephone: (970) 405-9867
Research Specialty: Land, Environmental Issues, Corporate History, Native American, Legal Research
5801-F Nottoway Ct
Raleigh, NC 27609
Telephone: (919) 500-6097
Research Specialty: Intelligence, Military, Science, Inventions, Environmental Records, unexplained recorded occurrences.
Amanda L. Paige
Paige Historical Research and Consulting
1420 Breckenridge Dr 109
Little Rock, AR 72227
Telephone: (501) 515-4871
Research Specialty: Miitary, Native American, Census, Genealogy, Family History
DCW & Associates
7400 Center Ave Ste 209
Huntington Beach, CA 92647
Telephone: (800) 899-0442
Fax: (714) 892-3543
Research Specialty: Document Retrieval and Review: Civil and Criminal Court records; bankruptcy records; archived records; county, state & federal records.
About: National research company comprised of former federal investigators.
Dr. Jason Gart, Vice President
History Associates Incorporated
300 N Stonestreet Ave
Rockville, MD 20850-1655
Telephone: (301) 279-9697
Fax: (301) 279-9224
Research Specialty: African American history; Asbestos; Census; Congressional records; Court records; Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom records; Diplomatic records; Intelligence records; Labor and Business History; Legislative histories; Litigation-related researcher; Transportation records; Military records; Native American relations records
About: Litigation-related research into a wide range of textual and non-textual records. Environmental site history, legislative histories, and Holocaust related records research are only a few of the areas where we have focused.
Donal J. Lewis
PO Box 700512
Tulsa, OK 74170-0512
Research Specialty: Any records available through NARA. Will also do research in NARA affiliated archives.
Expeditions in History
4162 Charles St
La Mesa, CA 91941
Telephone: (619) 916-8134
Research Specialty: Oral History: Conduct recorded interviews of families, communities and corporations for the purpose of creating a permanent record and contribute to an understanding of the past.
Ms. Doris A. Thomas, M.Ed.
Obama Eduvision Corporation
4914 Cottage St
Philadelphia, PA 19124
Telephone: (215) 807-1885
Fax: (215) 807-1885
Research Specialty: Military Records for United States Armed Forces: Army, Navy, Air Forces, Marines, National Guard, Coast Guard, National Personnel Records Center, Mental Health Records, Medical Evidence.
J.G. Weiss Research & Retrieval, Inc.
5433 S Dorchester Ave 1-N
Chicago, IL 60615
Telephone: (773) 241-6923;(773) 655-4142
Fax: (773) 241-5012
Research Specialty: Document search; Document retrieval; Civil court records; Criminal court records; Bankruptcy Records; Federal records; State records; County records; All archival records
Gerry G. Norman, J.D.
Norman Legal Services
1619 McGovern Box 101
Highland Park, IL 60035
Telephone: (224) 430-1681
Fax: (847) 433-5792
Research Specialty: Document retrieval; Court records
About: Court Research and Document Retrieval Conducted at the Federal, County, and State Levels.
Jaime Gomez, M.D
Jaime C. Gomez
19031 SE Outrigger Ln
Jupiter, FL 33458-1087
Research Specialty: Biographies; Hispanic physicians
PO Box 50561
Provo, UT 84605-0561
Telephone: (801) 836-1996
Research Specialty: Military records, Native American Relations Records, Census records, and Genealogy and Family History Records
About: American Ancestors not only consults large clients like Ancestry.com and Family Search, but also many individuals.
4048 Barker Rd
West Valley City, UT 84119
Telephone: (801) 215-9409
Research Specialty: General research; Document search
About: We have over 200 professional genealogists located around the world and specialize in providing documents from over 600 archives and libraries around the world.
PO Box 1301
Crown Point, IN 46308-1301
Research Specialty: Motion pictures and video; Still pictures and photographs; Researcher for documentary filmmakers, screenwriters, producers, and other filmmakers; Declassified documents; Architecture; Chicago; City planning; Military records; Middle East; Labor history; Sports history; Women’s history; Special media (non-text) records
About: Film and still images (photographs). Research for documentations, screenwriters, producers, and other filmakers. Declassified documents. Areas of interest/specialty: Architecture, Chicago, city planning, Military, Middle East, Labor Politics, and Sports Women.
1501 E Park Ave
Gilbert, AZ 85234-1004
Research Specialty: Military; Genealogy
Legal Document Retrieval & Research, Inc.
308 Main St Ste 300
Houston, TX 77002
Telephone: (800) 487-2245;(713) 222-2244
Fax: (888) 222-0304
Research Specialty: All archival records; Civil court records; Criminal court records; Bankruptcy records
About: Retrieve copies of closed files from Archives and all governmental agencies. Digital and hard copies of CV, BK, CR from all courts. Lien & Title search. Individual & Commercial asset search. Complete Service of Process statewide and abroad. Great Service since 1979!
Tangela L. Mingo
10930 NW 14th Ave A10
Miami, FL 33167
Telephone: (786) 350-0381;(305) 696-2255
Research Specialty: Economic history; Financial history
About: Economic Finance, International Finance/Comparative
John H. Whitfield
10 Sunset Dr
Tallassee, AL 36078-1230
Telephone: (334) 283-4100
Research Specialty: African-American historical and genealogical research-early colonial to 20th century; military experience-American and African American, 1700s to present; Civil War research-pension records search and analysis; antebellum slavery specialities - individual and family research.
Paul M. Klekner
160 Lincoln Oaks Dr Apt 1215
Willowbrook, IL 60527-3293
Telephone: (773) 791-6279
Research Specialty: Tax Court; Taxation history; Taxation legislation
Raymond W. Johnson
4237 Sunnyside Ave
Brookfield, IL 60513
Telephone: (708) 387-1884
Research Specialty: Census records; Naturalization records; Military records
Lawanda V. Cox
Library Consultant Services LLC
24081 Ithaca St
Oak Park, MI 48237-3511
Telephone: (248) 629-7774
Fax: (248) 629-7775
Research Specialty: African-American history; American history
About: Online search and retrieval on American History and African American documents and literature, Editing and Proofreading manuscripts for Historical books and electronic literature, Abstract writing for historical articles and literature, Content writing for history related newsletters, websites.
John Taylor - Senior Researcher
Taylor & Hammel LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
1240 N Pitt St Ste 200
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone: (703) 822-4658
Fax: (703) 842-8656
Research Specialty: Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration & Naturalization; Labor & Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures
Find a researcher by: