Research Our Records

Independent Researchers for Hire - Locations

Researchers Specializing in Records held at National Archives at New York City*

Note: To ensure fairness, this list displays in random order each time it is viewed. Be sure to view the entire list.

Richard J. Macon
PO Box 996
Bayonne, NJ 07002
Telephone: (201) 320-1927
E-mail: bayway1@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: military, Immigration &; Naturalization, censuses, Catholic records

Kevin Leonard
The Leonard Group, Inc.
9364 Spring Water Path
Jessup, MD 20794
Telephone: (301) 776-9260
Fax: (301) 776-8962
E-mail: info@theleonardgroupinc.com
Research Specialty: African-American history, American military history, WWI, WWII, US Navy, US Army, US Air Force, 20th century American History, asbestos, captured German records, census records, Cold War, congressional records, court records, Coast Guard/lighthouse/customs records, diplomatic records, genealogy and family history records, immigration and naturalization records, intelligence, labor & business history/transportation/regulatory agency records, military records, Native American relations records, President Nixon, science, technology, natural resources & the environment, audio/sound recordings, cartographic/architectural/ships plans records, film & video recordings, still photos.

Rebecca Witonsky
2032 Guildford B
Boca Raton, FL 33434
Telephone: 954-907-6716
E-mail: rebecca.witonsky22@gmail.com
Research Specialty: African-American genealogy; Genealogy and family history records; Immigration and naturalization records; Jewish genealogy; US Hispanic-Latino genealogy

Amanda L. Paige
Paige Historical Research and Consulting
1420 Breckenridge Dr 109
Little Rock, AR 72227
Telephone: (501) 515-4871
E-mail: paigehistorical@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Miitary, Native American, Census, Genealogy, Family History

Doug Littlefield
Littlefield Historical Research
6207 Snake Rd
Oakland, CA 94611
Telephone: (510) 339-1017
E-mail: drl@littlefieldhistoricalresearch.com
Research Specialty: Water rights; Navigable waterwya; Native American history; Environmental history; Land use; Mining; Rivers; Forests; Public lands; National parks; Boundaries; Interstate conflicts; Transportation; Census records; Toxic waste
About: Water rights, navigabililty, Native American, environmental land use, mining, rivers, forests, public lands, national parks, boundaries, interstate conflicts, transportation, census, toxic waste

John Taylor
Taylor Research Group LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
3333 Connecticut Ave NW Ste 3
Washington, DC 20008
Telephone: (703) 822-4658
Fax: (703) 842-8656
E-mail: johntaylor@taylorresearchgroup.com
Research Specialty: Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration & Naturalization; Labor & Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures

Jeff Shannahan
Ancestry For Me
1735 N 1450 E
Provo, UT 84604
Telephone: (202) 568-4557
E-mail: ancestryformenow@gmail.com
About: Anything you want, I can find it. But I am in high demand. Any difficult problem I can overcome.

Charles Niessner
304 State St
Brooklyn, NY 11201
E-mail: cniessner@msn.com
Research Specialty: Family history and genealogy; Immigration, Naturalization, and Manifest; NYC birth, marriage death, and Manhattan wills.

Rich Venezia
Rich Roots Genealogy
PO Box 110047
Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Telephone: 412-339-0602
E-mail: rich@richroots.net
Research Specialty: 20th Century immigration and immigrant records, especially: RG 85 Immigration & Naturalization Service records, RG59 Dept. of State records, and RG84 Foreign Service Post (Consular & Embassy) records.
About: Specializes in underutilized record sets, and consultations in where to find a specific immigrant across various record sets; Italian fluency, but able to search for immigrants in most ethnicities.

Michael Brophy
Brophy Professional Genealogy and Heir Tracing
198 Patricia Dr
Abington, MA 02351-1047
Telephone: (781) 738-2671
Fax: (781) 878-0720
E-mail: mbrophy@brophygen.com
Research Specialty: Immigration &Naturalization, Census Records, Genealogy &Family History, Irish-American, New England.

Robb Hill
8805 Bradford Rd.
Silver Spring, MD 20901
Telephone: (773) 209-2628
E-mail: robb@robbhill.com
Research Specialty: Photo collecions Civil War through Civil Rights. All film and video. Civil War pension and enlistment records. Military tactics documents 1800-1900. Real Estate records 1900-1950.

John Schuttler
2306 45th Ave
Greeley, CO 80634-3241
Telephone: (970) 405-9867
E-mail: schuttlerj@hotmail.com
Research Specialty: Land, Environmental Issues, Corporate History, Native American, Legal Research

Jennifer Hadlock
My Ancestors Footsteps
291 Pleasant Ave Apt 3C
New York, NY 10029
Telephone: (917) 819-2993
E-mail: myancestorsfootsteps@gmail.com
Research Specialty: New England, New York, Immigration, Southeast genealogy, Irish, African-American

John B. Ulrich
350 Carpenter Dr Apt 311
Atlanta, GA 30328
Telephone: 617-620-7844
E-mail: ulrichjohn2000@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: All types of historical research are done, with the exception of complex genealogical work.

Roger Guy
Legal Document Retrieval, Inc.
308 Main St Ste 300
Houston, TX 77002
Telephone: (646) 496-3226
E-mail: legaldocusa@aol.com
Research Specialty: All archival records; Civil court; Criminal court; Bankruptcy records and all governmental agencies.
About: Digital or hard copies provided. Complete Service of Process statewise and abroad. Great service since 1979!

Elizabeth McCall
3822 Bailey Ave 3C
Bronx, NY 10463-2516
Telephone: (347) 427-2406
Fax: (347) 427-2406
E-mail: emccall@optonline.net
Research Specialty: Immigration/Naturalization, Irish in America, Military Records, Patent/Copyright/Trademark, Genealogy.

Kostastina Fotiou
Shared Alternatives
603 Creekwood Dr
Stroudsburg, PA 18360
Telephone: (646) 512-6873; (646) 257-2177; 1-888-720-0992 ex 7
E-mail: usadvocates@live.com
Research Specialty: All inservice wars 1935 - Present, Military Research for Servicemen

Frankie Davis
Native Ancestors
PO Box 50561
Provo, UT 84605
Telephone: (801) 836-1996
E-mail: americanancestors@gmail.com
Research Specialty: A-HO. Native American; Cherokee; Choctaw, Sioux, Chickasaw, all Federally Recognized Tribes. Research by a real Native American at americanancestors.info

Thomas C. Ankner
109 Hamilton St Unit 109
Newark, NJ 07105
Telephone: (973) 752-6533
E-mail: tankner@hotmail.com
Research Specialty: Genealogical, historical, and legal research
About: Experienced in genealogical, historical, and legal research. Reference librarian for 18 years in both public and private sectors, including 10 years with one of the nation’s largest newspapers. Most recently employed in the New Jersey Information Center at the Newark Public Library.

Jack R. Lopez
Archival Research Service
12624 Orchard Brook Ter
Potomac, MD 20854-2326
Telephone: (240) 432-0038
E-mail: archivalresearchservice@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Military Records for World War I and thereafter: all the service branches and civilian records that apply; Veterans service records; Asbestos
About: We are a research company with many years of experience at the National Archives and other major sources of records in the Metropolitan Washington DC area. We have conducted research in Military Records for World War I and thereafter. Our efforts cover all the service branches and civilian records that apply. We provide paper copies from originals, microfilm, photographs and motion film and video. We are a fee based company, providing a service to relatives and families of veterans who want to preserve and honor the past. We also assist in support of legal research for the purpose of validating service records and attorney client asbestos cases.

Christine M. Cacace
315 W 106th St Ste 16-A
New York, NY 10025-3445
Telephone: (212) 865-9083
E-mail: cmc@uprootsgenealogy.com
Research Specialty: Genealogy and Family History
About: Has over 25 years experience researching Federal, State and City civil and religious records; conducts research in Italian, Irish, German and Eastern European civil and religious records. Aids in Dual Citizenship research qualification and Applications. Also conducts heir research

Joan M. Mathys
MJM Picture and Film Research
2801 Quebec St NW 222
Washington, DC 20008-1242
Telephone: (202) 537-3256
Fax: (202) 966-5816
E-mail: joanmathys@msn.com
Research Specialty: Motion Picture (moving images) and sound (audio recordings); Still Picture and Graphics; Textual materials; Cartographic materials

Mike Constandy
Westmoreland Research
PO Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320-9804
Telephone: (202) 421-5151
Fax: (703) 317-1709
E-mail: mjc@westmorelandresearch.org; mconstandy@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Naval and maritime research for law firms in defense of toxic tort claims, asbestos, admiralty, ships logs and plans, and sea lane and terrestrial UXO. Environmental investigation and remediation. Legal, Congressional, diplomatics, and commercial research. US Army, Navy, Coast Guard, OSS, allied and captured German records to include textual, still imagery, cartographic, and aerial research.
About: More than 30 years experience at NARA. Extensive field research on behalf of the US and foreign governments and an admitted professional researcher at more than 30 institutions worldwide.

Donnie East
Data Retrieval Services, Inc.
PO Box 1600
Jasper, GA 30143
Telephone: (800) 250-1665
Fax: (877) 389-5822
E-mail: donnieeast@drsofga.com
Research Specialty: Bankruptcy, Civil, Criminal from all Courts nationwide.

Shaun S. Udrea
Udrea Research
PO Box 700512
Tulsa, OK 74170-0512
Telephone: (918) 409-0374
Fax: (918) 764-9723
E-mail: shaun@udrearesearch.net
Research Specialty: Any records available through NARA.

Janice Carapellucci
Feet on the Ground New York City Genealogy Research
57 Montague St 4J
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Telephone: (718) 852-7205
E-mail: janice@feetonthegroundnyc.com
Research Specialty: 19th and 20th century New Yorkers; Italian Americans; vital records handwritten in Italian; Catholics and Catholic churches (parish records, building design, construction, decoration); Academic-style art, artists, auctions, exhibits, catalogues, collections; cigar makers; orphanages; ballroom dancing; vital records, manifests, naturalizations, censuses, dual U.S.-Italian citizenshio applications.

Margie Ellis
PO Box 541121
Waltham, MA 02454
Telephone: (617) 528-8543
E-mail: nyresearch@live.com
Research Specialty: Immigration and Irish history, Naturalizations, Land Records, genealogy, general NARA holdings research, cemetery searches, state archives.

Richard Kroll
Richard Kroll Research
108 Castle Heights Ave
Upper Nyack, NY 10960
Telephone: 845-353-5258
Fax: 917-697-0371
E-mail: krollresearch@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Video, photo, film, illustrations, cartographic, architectural, archival info.

Mike Constandy
Deck Logs
PO Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320-980
Telephone: (202) 421-5151
Fax: (703) 768-6609
E-mail: mjc@westmorelandresearch.org; mconstandy@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Naval and maritime research for law firms in defense of toxic tort claims, asbestos, admiralty, ships logs and plans, and sea lane and terrestrial UXO. Environmental investigation and remediation. Legal, Congressional, diplomatics, and commercial research. US Army, Navy, Coast Guard, OSS, allied and captured German records to include textual, still imagery, cartographic, and aerial research.
About: More than 30 years experience at NARA. Extensive field research on behalf of the US and foreign governments and an admitted professional researcher at more than 30 institutions worldwide.

Donal J. Lewis
Udrea Research
PO Box 700512
Tulsa, OK 74170-0512
Telephone: 918-409-0374
Fax: 918-764-9723
E-mail: cody@udrearesearch.net
Research Specialty: Any records available through NARA. Will also do research in NARA affiliated archives.

Steven B. Rogers, Ph.D.
Steven B. Rogers, Ph.D., Archival Research Consultant
3201 Taylor St
Mount Rainier, MD 20712
Telephone: (301) 367-3905
E-mail: derholzer@aol.com
Research Specialty: U.S. military and captured German records, WWII and Holocaust-related records, Nuremburg and US military tribunal records, looted Nazi gold, Holocaust assets, US agency records turned over under Nazi War Crimes disclosure Act, diplomatic records, OMGUS, DOJ and INS records, Displaced Persons Commisssion, audio/prints/film records.
About: Retired DOJ historian with 30+ years experience researching at NARA. Fluent in German.

Bruce D. Frail; Benjamin J. Frail D.B.A
American Civil War Ancestor
19 Briar Point Ave
Coventry, RI 02816-5601
Telephone: (401) 464-2119
Fax: (401) 823-9898
E-mail: acwa@acwancestor.org
Research Specialty: Military Service Records, Pension Records, Deck Logs, Veterans Burial Locations, and any other area of general research of the American Civil War
About: We have 50+ years of professional and volunteer research experience and I am the current National Graves Registration Officer for the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War. Benjamin and I will research Military Service Records, Pension Records, Deck Logs, Veterans Burial Locations, and any other area of general research of the American Civil War. We also research Confederate Soldiers as well. We have done research for government (state and local city), commercial, private and non-profit groups. "We Reunite You With Your Past"

M. L. ’Mel’ Gentry
The Hannah Family Foundation
PO Box 27
Point Lookout, MO 65726
Telephone: (870) 577-5825
Fax: given upon request
E-mail: thehannahfamilyfoundation@safe-mail.net;hannahfamilyfoundation@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Little Shell Nation, Family genealogy, Turnbo papers Silas Turnbo, Historical data, maps, Native Indigenous American Indians, Military Records.

Douglas C. McVarish
West Jersey Historical Research
18 East Palmer Avenue
Collingswood, NJ 08108-1221
Telephone: (856) 745-3835
E-mail: info@westjerseyhistoricalresearch.com
Research Specialty: Military records (particularly RG181, RG19, and RG77); railroad records (RG134); USCG records (especially RG262); cartographic records and photographs

Kevin Morrow
Ab Initio Archives Research, LLC
1403 Pathfinder Lane
McLean, VA 22101
Telephone: (703) 439-8789
E-mail: Kevin@abinitioresearch.net
Research Specialty: Specializing in textual military and federal contractor records related to environmental remediation cases involving hazardous chemicals, asbestos, etc.; academic research concentrating on all branches of the military (World War I through Vietname); diplomacy and intelligence (OSS, State Department, Army and Navy Intelligence); Native American claims; captured German records; veterans’ concernds (medals, action reports, deck logs, muster rolls); photos (all military and civilian); aerial photos; maps (all military and civilian).
About: Independent historian/researcher. Former National Archives employee. Conversant in German and French; some Arabic, Italian, Spanish

Judith Langer-Surnamer Caplan
Up, Roots! Genealogy Research Services
27 West Penn St
Long Beach, NY 11561-4032
Telephone: (516) 889-7163
E-mail: Judith27@aol.com
Research Specialty: U.S. Census; New York naturalizations; World War II Old Men’s draft registration; New York and Philadelphia passenger arrivals

Ryan M. Curtis
Archive Research & Consulting Group, LLC
133 Main Street, Suite 203
Epping, NH 03042
Telephone: (603) 433-9000
E-mail: rcurtis@ArchiveResearch.org
Research Specialty: Asbestos Litigation - Navy & Maritime Records
About: More than 15 years of research experience with an understanding of the ways asbestos was used on Mavy/Maritime ships. We have researchers at the Archives every day to meet your needs.

Dr. Jason Gart, Vice President
History Associates Incorporated
300 N Stonestreet Ave
Rockville, MD 20850-1655
Telephone: (301) 279-9697
Fax: (301) 279-9224
E-mail: jgart@historyassociates.com
Research Specialty: African American history; Asbestos; Census; Congressional records; Court records; Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom records; Diplomatic records; Intelligence records; Labor and Business History; Legislative histories; Litigation-related researcher; Transportation records; Military records; Native American relations records
About: Litigation-related research into a wide range of textual and non-textual records. Environmental site history, legislative histories, and Holocaust related records research are only a few of the areas where we have focused.

Dale A. Stirling
Stirling Consulting
48 Alexis Ln
Coupeville, WA 98239
Telephone: (360) 678-1934
E-mail: stirlingconsulting@frontier.com
Research Specialty: Navigability; Environmental history
About: Navigability, Hazardous Waste, Pollution, Environmental Assessment, PRP Searches, Insurance.

Gregory T. Smith, Chief Investigator
History Piquette LLC
2399 White Oak Trl
Oregon, WI 53575
Telephone: (608) 843-6633
E-mail: chief@historypiquette.com
Research Specialty: General Research, Military, Declassified Documents, Corporation History, Congressional Research, Aviation Research, FAA/NTSB, Naval, Maritime, Coast Guard, Harbor. Transportation, Film and Still photography.

Kris Kaszuba
3857 Pell Pl Ste 301
San Diego, CA 92130-4141
Telephone: (858) 353-6279
E-mail: kris002@hotmail.com
Research Specialty: Immigration and Naturalization Records, Military Records, Service Records, Morning Reports, Personnel Files, DD214, Unit rosters, Payroll records, Medical Records, Family Genealogy, Citizenship Records

Jeannette Remak;Joseph Ventolo
Phoenix Aviation Research
41-41 41st Street 1-M
Sunnyside, NY 11104-3243
Telephone: (718) 937-7436
Fax: (718) 784-4682
E-mail: valkyr1097@aol.com
Research Specialty: Military, historical, government; record groups media, series, subjects

Toby Sanchez
3320 Avenue H, Apt. 3E
Brooklyn, NY 11210
Telephone: (347) 702-6284
E-mail: tobysanchez34@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Genealogy, Brooklyn history, Jewish organizations

Minda Novek
27-16 12th St., #3C
Astoria, NY 11102
Telephone: (718) 781-4190
E-mail: mindanovek@gmail.com; minda@meaninginforms.com
Research Specialty: American history, world history, people, cultural events, scientific discovery; NARA photographs and pictures, film and video recordings

Mark Leutbecker
Associates at Nicklason Research
2217 N Harrison St
Arlington, VA 22205
Telephone: (703) 536-5180; (703) 946-7146
Fax: (703)536-5180
E-mail: mleutbecker@nicklason.com
Research Specialty: African-American History; Congressional Records; Court Records (Supreme Court, Court of Claims); Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom Records; Labor & Business History/Transportation/Regulatory Agencies; Military-Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, National Guard, Veterans (Civil, WWI, WWII, Korea, Vietnam); Native American History; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental clean-up (CERCLA, FUDS, PRP, MMRP); State Department. Land Use, Water Rights, Mining, Forests. Textual, Cartographic, Photographs, Newspapers.
About: 40 years experience researching. Also does research at the Library of Congress, Smithsonian, and other repositories.

Elizabeth Khan
Record Click LLC
123 E Main St Ste 2 PMB 105
Denville, NJ 07834
Telephone: 1-866-632-9291
E-mail: info@recordclick.com
Research Specialty: Ancestral Research, Find Family, Heir Searching, DNA Family Tree, Adoption Research, Military Research, also citizenship by descent applications.

Greg Murphy
613 Blick Dr
Colesville, MD 20904-2904
Telephone: (240) 614-3455
E-mail: gscmmurphy@verizon.net
Research Specialty: State Department; Presidential


Find a researcher by:


*Note:   Researchers for hire are not NARA employees. Any individual or company that does research in our holdings on behalf of others is free
to join the listing. For information on how to get on the Independent Researchers for Hire lists,
see the Opportunity for Independent Researchers page.

Inclusion on the independent researcher lists should not be viewed as an endorsement of the
quality of the researchers' work, and NARA will not be responsible for any arrangement made
with independent researchers. Such arrangements, including the character, extent, and cost
of the work, are purely private, contractual matters between the independent researcher
and you. It also is up to you to determine whether or not the researcher's experience
and qualifications meet your needs. Comments or complaints received by NARA regarding
any individual independent researcher on the listing will be forwarded to that researcher
for resolution.

Top