Research Our Records

Independent Researchers for Hire - Locations

Researchers Specializing in Records held the National Archives at Boston facility*

Note: To ensure fairness, this list displays in random order each time it is viewed. Be sure to view the entire list.

Margaret R. Fortier
Margaret R. Fortier, CG
100 Station Landing #1012
Medford, MA 02155
Telephone: (508) 414-1595
E-mail: mrf@ourchateau.net
Research Specialty: Immigration and Naturalization Records, French-Canadian, Italian-American research, New England.
About: Certified genealogist

Myron A. Raney, Ph.D.
Kabalo Research, Inc.
2714 John Steven Way
Reynoldburg, OH 43068
Telephone: (800) 614-2130
Fax:
E-mail: mraney@kabalo.cc
Research Specialty: Interdisciplinary research in the Social Sciences. Areas of specialization include: Social Deviance, Government Failure Theory, Social Problems, Religious Implications, Faith-based Social Services, Social Entrepreneurship, and Vulnerable Population Research.
About:

Shaun S. Udrea
Udrea Research
1815 North Boomer Road, Apt. A23
Stillwater, OK 74075-3449
Telephone: (918) 409-0374
Fax: (918) 856-9003
E-mail: udrearesearch@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Any records available through the National Archives and Records Administration
About:

Cody J. Fisler
Udrea Research
1815 North Boomer Road, Apt. A23
Stillwater, OK 74075-3449
Telephone: (918) 409-0374
Fax: (918) 856-9003
E-mail: udrearesearch@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Any records available through the National Archives and Records Administration
About:

Derek Lawrence
TechLaw Consultants, Inc.
1726 Cole Boulevard, Building 22, Suite 115
Lakewood, CO 80401
Telephone: (303) 586-4912; (720) 207-3135
Fax:
E-mail: Derek.Lawrence@techlawinc.com
Research Specialty: General Research, Military Records, Federal Agency Records, Aerial Photos, Still Photographs
About:

Joseph P. Harris
Absolutely Archives
PO Box 922
Greenbelt, MD 20768-0922
Telephone: (703) 967-3070
Fax: (301) 474-8290
E-mail: info@absolutelyarchives.com
Research Specialty: Motion Pictures, Still Pictures, Sound Recordings, Video Recordings, Textual, Cartographic
About: Full-time, onsite researcher; former NARA staff; 25+ years of experience.

Donnie East
Data Retrieval Services, Inc.
PO Box 1600
Jasper, GA 30143
Telephone: (800) 250-1665
Fax: (877) 389-5822
E-mail: donnieeast@drsofga.com
Research Specialty: Bankruptcy, Civil, Criminal from all Courts nationwide.

John Taylor
Taylor Research Group LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
3333 Connecticut Ave NW Ste 3
Washington, DC 20008
Telephone: (703) 822-4658
Fax:
E-mail: johntaylor@taylorresearchgroup.com
Research Specialty: Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration & Naturalization; Labor & Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures
About:

Michael Brophy
Brophy Professional Genealogy and Heir Tracing
198 Patricia Dr
Abington, MA 02351-1047
Telephone: (781) 738-2671
Fax: (781) 878-0720
E-mail: mbrophy@brophygen.com
Research Specialty: Immigration &Naturalization, Census Records, Genealogy &Family History, Irish-American, New England.

A-Xhen-Bah
Native Ancestors
PO Box 50561
Provo, UT 84605
Telephone: (202) 568-4557
Fax:
E-mail: nativepreservation@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Native American relations records
About: Research by a real Native American who will be successful at finding your Native Ancestry. Call me if you want to find them. It is free to call!

Betty Ann Tyson
87 Pierce Rd
Watertown, MA 02472-3033
Telephone: (617) 659-5009
Fax:
E-mail: ba_tyson@comcast.net
Research Specialty: Genealogy, census records, naturalization records - New England; ship passenger lists for NY, Boston, Philadelphia; Canadian border crossings
About:

Elizabeth Khan
Record Click LLC
123 E Main St Ste 2 PMB 105
Denville, NJ 07834
Telephone: 1-866-632-9291
E-mail: info@recordclick.com
Research Specialty: Ancestral Research, Find Family, Heir Searching, DNA Family Tree, Adoption Research, Military Research, also citizenship by descent applications.

Gregory T. Smith, Chief Investigator
History Piquette LLC
W10298 Wells Road
Lodi, WI 53555
Telephone: (608) 843-6633
Fax:
E-mail: chief@historypiquette.com
Research Specialty: General Research, Military, Declassified Documents, Corporation History, Congressional Research, Aviation Research, FAA/NTSB, Naval, Maritime, Coast Guard, Harbor. Transportation, Film and Still photography.
About:

Sarah Katz
Katz Tale Media
309 Otterville Road, #631
New London, NH 03257
Telephone: (207) 653-8163
Fax:
E-mail: sarah@katztale.com
Research Specialty: All topics and themes within the motion picture, sound, and video recording collections including but not limited to Vietnam War, WWI, WWII and Cold War; Presidential libraries; photographic collections; regional archives. Specialties in navigating complex copyright.
About: Twenty years of experience managing research and rights for thousands of archival media assets. Extensive experience with premium broadcasters, film distributors, independent documentaries, museum exhibits and more. Fluent in legal deliverables.

Mark Leutbecker
Associates at Nicklason Research
2217 N Harrison St
Arlington, VA 22205
Telephone: (703) 536-5180; (703) 946-7146
Fax: (703)536-5180
E-mail: mleutbecker@nicklason.com
Research Specialty: African-American History; Congressional Records; Court Records (Supreme Court, Court of Claims); Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom Records; Labor & Business History/Transportation/Regulatory Agencies; Military-Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, National Guard, Veterans (Civil, WWI, WWII, Korea, Vietnam); Native American History; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental clean-up (CERCLA, FUDS, PRP, MMRP); State Department. Land Use, Water Rights, Mining, Forests. Textual, Cartographic, Photographs, Newspapers.
About: 40 years experience researching. Also does research at the Library of Congress, Smithsonian, and other repositories.

Donna H. Blinn
Heritage~Family History~Ancestry Research
12 Fairview Ave
Lincoln, RI 02865-1808
Telephone: (401) 474-3618
E-mail: heritage.blinn@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Pedigree Charts; Locating Vital Records: Birth/Marriage/Death, Military, Immigration & Naturalization, Census & Voter Records, Court, Land, Wills & Financial Records; Historical Newspapers; Cemetery Searches; Designing your Family Album; Education in use of online sources of information; Workshops and individual consultation assistance.

Bruce D. Frail; Benjamin J. Frail D.B.A
American Civil War Ancestor
19 Briar Point Ave
Coventry, RI 02816
Telephone: (401) 464-2119
Fax:
E-mail: poppahazmat@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Military Service Records, Pension Records, Deck Logs, Veterans Burial Locations, and any other area of general research of the American Civil War
About: We have 50+ years of professional and volunteer research experience, 20+ years at NARA and 16+ years in Graves Registration.

Ryan M. Curtis
Archive Research & Consulting Group, LLC
133 Main Street, Suite 203
Epping, NH 03042
Telephone: (603) 433-9000
Fax:
E-mail: rcurtis@ArchiveResearch.org
Research Specialty: Asbestos Litigation - Navy & Maritime Records
About: More than 15 years of research experience with an understanding of the ways asbestos was used on Navy/Maritime ships. We have researchers at the Archives every day to meet your needs.

Harry H. Kelso, Esq.
Base Closure Partners
12809 Pennmardel Lane
Henrico, VA 23233
Telephone: (804) 337-3929
Fax: (703) 995-0707
E-mail: harrykelso@baseclosures.com
Research Specialty: U.S. military bases, industrial facilities & civilian govt. agencies since Civil War: land use, cleanup, energy, utilities, public health and safety
About: Historic military research, legal counsel, and expert witness services for over 30 years regarding active or closed, Federal and State military and national security-operated installations (airports, shipyards, industrial plants, industrial buildings and plants, MWR, Major Defense Contractors), as well as civilian federal, state, and local government facilities, dating to World War I and II.

Christine M. Cacace
Uproots Genealogy
315 W 106th St Ste 16-A
New York, NY 10025-3445
Telephone: (212) 865-9083
Fax:
E-mail: cmc@uprootsgenealogy.com
Research Specialty: Genealogy and Family History
About: Has over 25 years experience researching Federal, State and City civil and religious records; conducts research in Italian, Irish, German and Eastern European civil and religious records. Aids in Dual Citizenship research qualification and Applications. Also conducts heir research

Steve Swanson
TLI Solutions, Inc.
560 Golden Ridge Rd Ste 130
Golden, CO 80401-9569
Telephone: (303) 763-7188; (800)873-7411
Fax: (303) 763-8889
E-mail: sswanson@tlisolutions.com
Research Specialty: All Record Groups, especially military history. Documents, Microfilm, Aerial Photographs (No Genealogical Research)

Mike Constandy
Westmoreland Research
PO Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320-9804
Telephone: (202) 421-5151
Fax: (703) 317-1709
E-mail: mjc@westmorelandresearch.org; mconstandy@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Naval and maritime research for law firms in defense of toxic tort claims, asbestos, admiralty, ships logs and plans, and sea lane and terrestrial UXO. Environmental investigation and remediation. Legal, Congressional, diplomatics, and commercial research. US Army, Navy, Coast Guard, OSS, allied and captured German records to include textual, still imagery, cartographic, and aerial research.
About: More than 30 years experience at NARA. Extensive field research on behalf of the US and foreign governments and an admitted professional researcher at more than 30 institutions worldwide.

Dr. Jason Gart, Vice President
History Associates Incorporated
300 N Stonestreet Ave
Rockville, MD 20850-1655
Telephone: (301) 279-9697
Fax: (301) 279-9224
E-mail: jgart@historyassociates.com
Research Specialty: African American history; Asbestos; Census; Congressional records; Court records; Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom records; Diplomatic records; Intelligence records; Labor and Business History; Legislative histories; Litigation-related researcher; Transportation records; Military records; Native American relations records
About: Litigation-related research into a wide range of textual and non-textual records. Environmental site history, legislative histories, and Holocaust related records research are only a few of the areas where we have focused.

Roger Guy
Legal Document Retrieval, Inc.
308 Main St Ste 300
Houston, TX 77002
Telephone: (646) 496-3226
E-mail: legaldocusa@aol.com
Research Specialty: All archival records; Civil court; Criminal court; Bankruptcy records and all governmental agencies.
About: Digital or hard copies provided. Complete Service of Process statewise and abroad. Great service since 1979!

Andre R. Grimard
Andre R. Grimard, M.Ed.
115 Mussey St
South Portland, ME 04106
Telephone: (207) 756-9695
Fax: (413) 581-3621
E-mail: andre_grimard@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: US Census records, Vital records, Family genealogy, French Canadian families, State archives, Cemetary Searches, Newspapers, Canadian Census records, General research
About: Freelance Researcher

Henry Buckley
Henry Randolph Buckley
235 Lincoln Street
Hingham, MA 02043
Telephone: (339) 236-1443
Fax:
E-mail: HenryRBuckley@gmail.com
Research Specialty:
About:

Steven B. Rogers, Ph.D.
Steven B. Rogers, Ph.D., Archival Research Consultant
3201 Taylor St
Mount Rainier, MD 20712
Telephone: (301) 367-3905
E-mail: derholzer@aol.com
Research Specialty: U.S. military and captured German records, WWII and Holocaust-related records, Nuremburg and US military tribunal records, looted Nazi gold, Holocaust assets, US agency records turned over under Nazi War Crimes disclosure Act, diplomatic records, OMGUS, DOJ and INS records, Displaced Persons Commisssion, audio/prints/film records.
About: Retired DOJ historian with 30+ years experience researching at NARA. Fluent in German.

Liz Barnett, MA
MA Pilgrim

, MA
Telephone: (508) 317-4718
Fax:
E-mail: ma.pilgrim@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Mayflower, Irish, Portuguese, European ethnic groups. Research in Massachusetts State Archives, NEHGS, TIARA, local city and town archives in New England.
About: Twenty years of genealogy work for individuals, genealogy companies, title companies. Quick turnaround and free initial consultation.

Mr. Fabien Lecler
La Taveliere - 13 Route de Husson
50640 Le Teilleul,
Telephone: +33 233 909 542
Fax:
E-mail: Contact@NikolaTesla.fr
Research Specialty: Life and works of Nikola Tesla (1856-1943), Collection of period documents related to Nikola Tesla (currently over 18,000) and Replication of Nikola Tesla’s inventions
About:

Bradley Greenland
Greenland Genealogy
510 Daniel Webster Hwy, Box 1467
Merrimack, NH 03054
Telephone: (603) 320-4902
E-mail: greenlandgenealogy@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Family tree creation, immigration, record retrieval, Jewish, England, Ireland, misc.

John B. Ulrich
350 Carpenter Dr Apt 311
Atlanta, GA 30328
Telephone: 617-620-7844
E-mail: ulrichjohn2000@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: All types of historical research are done, with the exception of complex genealogical work.

John Schuttler
2306 45th Ave
Greeley, CO 80634-3241
Telephone: (970) 405-9867
E-mail: schuttlerj@hotmail.com
Research Specialty: Land, Environmental Issues, Corporate History, Native American, Legal Research

Mike Constandy
Deck Logs
PO Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320-980
Telephone: (202) 421-5151
Fax: (703) 768-6609
E-mail: mjc@westmorelandresearch.org; mconstandy@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Naval and maritime research for law firms in defense of toxic tort claims, asbestos, admiralty, ships logs and plans, and sea lane and terrestrial UXO. Environmental investigation and remediation. Legal, Congressional, diplomatics, and commercial research. US Army, Navy, Coast Guard, OSS, allied and captured German records to include textual, still imagery, cartographic, and aerial research.
About: More than 30 years experience at NARA. Extensive field research on behalf of the US and foreign governments and an admitted professional researcher at more than 30 institutions worldwide.

Warren Hower
American Historical Research
1927 Hillside Dr
Falls Church, VA 22043
Telephone: (703) 517-3977
E-mail: warren.hower@howerresearch.com
Research Specialty: Includes: 1) Environmental cleanup litigation (included but not limited to - identifying "potentially responsible parties-PRP’s", and 3rd party liabilities, historical operations and processes; 2) Academic Historical Research, specializing in US diplomatic relations 1800-1900’s, WWII military history; 3) Corporate Histories specializing in contract research, product development histories, change in ownership, etc.; 4) Cartographic Research.
About: Former military/government contractor and experienced researcher. In addition, I have access to wide pool of researchers and historians who specialize in a variety of topics. If you need specific topic researched and you don’t see it listed, please ask.

David Williams
DCW & Associates
16691 Gothard Street, Suite D
Huntington Beach, CA 92647
Telephone: (800) 899-0442
Fax: (714) 274-9103
E-mail: info@dcwpi.com
Research Specialty: Cover all types of research and retrieval: civil, criminal, bankruptcy, historical, military, etc.
About: We are a national research firm comprised of former federal investigators.

Amber Brown
Legacy Tree Genealogists
50 W. Broadway, Suite 303
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Telephone: (800) 818-1476
E-mail: info@legacytree.com; amber.brown@legacytree.com
Research Specialty: Worldwide team of researchers specializing in genealogy brick walls, genetic genealogy (DNA), tracing family trees, immigrant ancestor research, writing family biographies, translating documents, probate research

Lilly Cleveland, Genealogist
Your Family Search
PO Box 509
Norwell, MA 02061-0509
Telephone: (774) 454-0363
E-mail: lilly.cleveland@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Lineage society applications, document retrieval, colonial era research, probate and court house research, NARA and NEHGS Library, Mass Archives.

Rebecca Witonsky
2032 Guildford B
Boca Raton, FL 33434
Telephone: 954-907-6716
E-mail: rebecca.witonsky22@gmail.com
Research Specialty: African-American genealogy; Genealogy and family history records; Immigration and naturalization records; Jewish genealogy; US Hispanic-Latino genealogy

Diane M. Boucher

Sandwich, MA 02563
Telephone: (978) 340-6424
Fax:
E-mail: dianem.boucher@gmail.com
Research Specialty: African American history, Colonial and Early American history, New England, Freedmen’s bureau, Civil Rights, social and cultural history
About:

Kris Kaszuba
3857 Pell Pl Ste 301
San Diego, CA 92130-4141
Telephone: (858) 353-6279
E-mail: kris002@hotmail.com
Research Specialty: Immigration and Naturalization Records, Military Records, Service Records, Morning Reports, Personnel Files, DD214, Unit rosters, Payroll records, Medical Records, Family Genealogy, Citizenship Records

J. James Simonson
Massachusetts Document Retrieval
300 Main St, Unit 529
North Easton, MA 02356
Telephone: (877) 286-2773
Fax:
E-mail: services@mass-doc.com
Research Specialty: Census records; Court records; Genealogy & Family History; Immigration, Emigration, and Naturalization; Military Records; Coast Guard; Navy; New England Lighthouses
About: Website orders only.

Margie Ellis
PO Box 541121
Waltham, MA 02454
Telephone: (617) 528-8543
E-mail: nyresearch@live.com
Research Specialty: Immigration and Irish history, Naturalizations, Land Records, genealogy, general NARA holdings research, cemetery searches, state archives.

Jennifer Hadlock
My Ancestors Footsteps
291 Pleasant Ave Apt 3C
New York, NY 10029
Telephone: (917) 819-2993
E-mail: myancestorsfootsteps@gmail.com
Research Specialty: New England, New York, Immigration, Southeast genealogy, Irish, African-American

Geoff Gentilini
Golden Arrow Research
7372 Northmoor Dr.
St. Louis, MO 63105
Telephone:
Fax:
E-mail: info@goldenarrowresearch.com
Research Specialty:
About: We offer affordable research services at archives nationwide. With decades of combined research experience our team can customize your project to fit your specific needs. Let us know what you need and we will respond promptly to your inquiry.

Matthew J. Goguen, Environmental Historian
Geosyntec Consultants, Inc.
10211 Wincopin Circle, 4th Floor
Columbia, MD 21044
Telephone: (410) 910-7669
Fax:
E-mail: mgoguen@geosyntec.com
Research Specialty: Environmental Litigation; Superfund; Toxic Tort; Remediation; Potentially-Responsible-Party; Wartime Manufacturing; Railroad; Asbestos; TCE; PCBs; PFAS/PFOA
About:


Find a researcher by:


*Note:   Researchers for hire are not NARA employees. Any individual or company that does research in our holdings on behalf of others is free
to join the listing. For information on how to get on the Independent Researchers for Hire lists,
see the Opportunity for Independent Researchers page.

Inclusion on the independent researcher lists should not be viewed as an endorsement of the
quality of the researchers' work, and NARA will not be responsible for any arrangement made
with independent researchers. Such arrangements, including the character, extent, and cost
of the work, are purely private, contractual matters between the independent researcher
and you. It also is up to you to determine whether or not the researcher's experience
and qualifications meet your needs. Comments or complaints received by NARA regarding
any individual independent researcher on the listing will be forwarded to that researcher
for resolution.

Top