Research Our Records

Independent Researchers for Hire - Locations

Researchers Specializing in Records held at the National Archives at San Francisco (San Bruno) facility*

Note: To ensure fairness, this list displays in random order each time it is viewed. Be sure to view the entire list.

A-Xhen-Bah
Native Ancestors
PO Box 50561
Provo, UT 84605
Telephone: (202) 568-4557
Fax:
E-mail: nativepreservation@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Native American relations records
About: Research by a real Native American who will be successful at finding your Native Ancestry. Call me if you want to find them. It is free to call!

John Schuttler
2306 45th Ave
Greeley, CO 80634-3241
Telephone: (970) 405-9867
E-mail: schuttlerj@hotmail.com
Research Specialty: Land, Environmental Issues, Corporate History, Native American, Legal Research

Amber Brown
Legacy Tree Genealogists
50 W. Broadway, Suite 303
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Telephone: (800) 818-1476
E-mail: info@legacytree.com; amber.brown@legacytree.com
Research Specialty: Worldwide team of researchers specializing in genealogy brick walls, genetic genealogy (DNA), tracing family trees, immigrant ancestor research, writing family biographies, translating documents, probate research

Matthew J. Goguen, Environmental Historian
Geosyntec Consultants, Inc.
10211 Wincopin Circle, 4th Floor
Columbia, MD 21044
Telephone: (410) 910-7669
Fax:
E-mail: mgoguen@geosyntec.com
Research Specialty: Environmental Litigation; Superfund; Toxic Tort; Remediation; Potentially-Responsible-Party; Wartime Manufacturing; Railroad; Asbestos; TCE; PCBs; PFAS/PFOA
About:

Rebecca Witonsky
2032 Guildford B
Boca Raton, FL 33434
Telephone: 954-907-6716
E-mail: rebecca.witonsky22@gmail.com
Research Specialty: African-American genealogy; Genealogy and family history records; Immigration and naturalization records; Jewish genealogy; US Hispanic-Latino genealogy

Stephen Harris
Stephen G. Harris, Ph.D.
45 Live Oak Road
Berkeley, CA 94705
Telephone: (510) 848-4606
Fax:
E-mail: info@genresearch.net
Research Specialty: American urban and rural genealogy, including New York City and the San Francisco Bay Area; immigration and naturalization
About:

Scott Miltenberger, Ph.D.
JRP Historical Consulting, LLC
2850 Spafford St
Davis, CA 95618
Telephone: (530) 757-2521
Fax: (530) 757-2566
E-mail: smiltenberger@jrphistorical.com
Research Specialty: Records regarding federal reserved water rights, Western water rights/stream adjudications under the McCarran Act, navigability/susceptibility to navigation, levee operations/flood control, public roads/RS2477, and CERCLA/Superfund
About: JRP has more than 30 years of research experience in federal military and civilian records.

Marisa Louie Lee
55 Trumbull St Unit 16
San Francisco, CA 94112
Telephone: (650) 303-3111
E-mail: marisalouie@gmail.com
Research Specialty: General researcher; Federal Court cases - Bankruptcy, Civil, Criminal, Appeals (RG 21, 276, 578) and US Attorneys (RG 118), Immigration and Naturalization (RG 21, 85, 566) Bureau of Prisons/Alcatraz (RG 129), Native Americans in CA, NV (RG 75), Labor history (RG69, 96, 171)
About: I worked as an archivist at the National Archives at San Francisco for five years and am very familiar with the records at that facility. I have a personal and professional interest in Asian American genealogy and have presented workshops throughout the San Francisco Bay Area for community history and genealogy interest groups.

Mark Leutbecker
Associates at Nicklason Research
2217 N Harrison St
Arlington, VA 22205
Telephone: (703) 536-5180; (703) 946-7146
Fax: (703)536-5180
E-mail: mleutbecker@nicklason.com
Research Specialty: African-American History; Congressional Records; Court Records (Supreme Court, Court of Claims); Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom Records; Labor & Business History/Transportation/Regulatory Agencies; Military-Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, National Guard, Veterans (Civil, WWI, WWII, Korea, Vietnam); Native American History; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental clean-up (CERCLA, FUDS, PRP, MMRP); State Department. Land Use, Water Rights, Mining, Forests. Textual, Cartographic, Photographs, Newspapers.
About: 40 years experience researching. Also does research at the Library of Congress, Smithsonian, and other repositories.

Ned Reed
PO Box 265
Bandon, OR 97411-0265
Telephone: (541) 347-3735
Fax:
E-mail: ned@nedreed.com
Research Specialty: Shipwrecks and transportation history
About: I am building a data base of shipwrecks covering the North Pacific, South Pacific, Asian waters and western lakes and rivers. It now covers over 20,000 shipwrecks.

Mike Constandy
Westmoreland Research
PO Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320-9804
Telephone: (202) 421-5151
Fax: (703) 317-1709
E-mail: mjc@westmorelandresearch.org; mconstandy@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Naval and maritime research for law firms in defense of toxic tort claims, asbestos, admiralty, ships logs and plans, and sea lane and terrestrial UXO. Environmental investigation and remediation. Legal, Congressional, diplomatics, and commercial research. US Army, Navy, Coast Guard, OSS, allied and captured German records to include textual, still imagery, cartographic, and aerial research.
About: More than 30 years experience at NARA. Extensive field research on behalf of the US and foreign governments and an admitted professional researcher at more than 30 institutions worldwide.

Joseph P. Harris
Absolutely Archives
PO Box 922
Greenbelt, MD 20768-0922
Telephone: (703) 967-3070
Fax: (301) 474-8290
E-mail: info@absolutelyarchives.com
Research Specialty: Motion Pictures, Still Pictures, Sound Recordings, Video Recordings, Textual, Cartographic
About: Full-time, onsite researcher; former NARA staff; 25+ years of experience.

David Williams
DCW & Associates
16691 Gothard Street, Suite D
Huntington Beach, CA 92647
Telephone: (800) 899-0442
Fax: (714) 274-9103
E-mail: info@dcwpi.com
Research Specialty: Cover all types of research and retrieval: civil, criminal, bankruptcy, historical, military, etc.
About: We are a national research firm comprised of former federal investigators.

Ryan M. Curtis
Archive Research & Consulting Group, LLC
133 Main Street, Suite 203
Epping, NH 03042
Telephone: (603) 433-9000
Fax:
E-mail: rcurtis@ArchiveResearch.org
Research Specialty: Asbestos Litigation - Navy & Maritime Records
About: More than 15 years of research experience with an understanding of the ways asbestos was used on Navy/Maritime ships. We have researchers at the Archives every day to meet your needs.

Jerry Leslie
4469 Palo Verde Dr
Pittsburg, CA 94565
E-mail: inquire1@usnavyresearch.com
Research Specialty: RG 181 Naval Districts and Shore Establishments: 12th and 14th Districts, 1854-1975; RG 313 Naval Operating Forces: Pacific Ocean Area, South Pacific and Southwest Pacific areas, 1921-1959; RG 392 US Army Coast Artillery Districts and Defenses, 1901-1942; RG178 US Maritime Commission, 1942-1947; RG36 US Customs Service, 1849-1991.

Christopher P. Herfel, CEO; Clancy B. Cornwall, COO
McCaffery & Associates, Inc
7240 Parkway Drive, Suite 360
Hanover, MD 21076
Telephone: (703) 548-6144
E-mail: info@mccafferyassoc.com
Research Specialty: We conduct Naval, maritime and aviation research for the defence in toxic tort claims. We research asbestos, Coast Guard, military, labor, business, science, technology, regulatory and transportation records; photographs; and ship, architectural and cartographic plans.

Roger Guy
Legal Document Retrieval, Inc.
308 Main St Ste 300
Houston, TX 77002
Telephone: (646) 496-3226
E-mail: legaldocusa@aol.com
Research Specialty: All archival records; Civil court; Criminal court; Bankruptcy records and all governmental agencies.
About: Digital or hard copies provided. Complete Service of Process statewise and abroad. Great service since 1979!

Shaun S. Udrea
Udrea Research
1815 North Boomer Road, Apt. A23
Stillwater, OK 74075-3449
Telephone: (918) 409-0374
Fax: (918) 856-9003
E-mail: udrearesearch@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Any records available through the National Archives and Records Administration
About:

Mr. Fabien Lecler
La Taveliere - 13 Route de Husson
50640 Le Teilleul,
Telephone: +33 233 909 542
Fax:
E-mail: Contact@NikolaTesla.fr
Research Specialty: Life and works of Nikola Tesla (1856-1943), Collection of period documents related to Nikola Tesla (currently over 18,000) and Replication of Nikola Tesla’s inventions
About:

Elizabeth Khan
Record Click LLC
123 E Main St Ste 2 PMB 105
Denville, NJ 07834
Telephone: 1-866-632-9291
E-mail: info@recordclick.com
Research Specialty: Ancestral Research, Find Family, Heir Searching, DNA Family Tree, Adoption Research, Military Research, also citizenship by descent applications.

Dr. Jason Gart, Vice President
History Associates Incorporated
300 N Stonestreet Ave
Rockville, MD 20850-1655
Telephone: (301) 279-9697
Fax: (301) 279-9224
E-mail: jgart@historyassociates.com
Research Specialty: African American history; Asbestos; Census; Congressional records; Court records; Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom records; Diplomatic records; Intelligence records; Labor and Business History; Legislative histories; Litigation-related researcher; Transportation records; Military records; Native American relations records
About: Litigation-related research into a wide range of textual and non-textual records. Environmental site history, legislative histories, and Holocaust related records research are only a few of the areas where we have focused.

Gregory T. Smith, Chief Investigator
History Piquette LLC
W10298 Wells Road
Lodi, WI 53555
Telephone: (608) 843-6633
Fax:
E-mail: chief@historypiquette.com
Research Specialty: General Research, Military, Declassified Documents, Corporation History, Congressional Research, Aviation Research, FAA/NTSB, Naval, Maritime, Coast Guard, Harbor. Transportation, Film and Still photography.
About:

Kris Kaszuba
3857 Pell Pl Ste 301
San Diego, CA 92130-4141
Telephone: (858) 353-6279
E-mail: kris002@hotmail.com
Research Specialty: Immigration and Naturalization Records, Military Records, Service Records, Morning Reports, Personnel Files, DD214, Unit rosters, Payroll records, Medical Records, Family Genealogy, Citizenship Records

Derek Lawrence
TechLaw Consultants, Inc.
1726 Cole Boulevard, Building 22, Suite 115
Lakewood, CO 80401
Telephone: (303) 586-4912; (720) 207-3135
Fax:
E-mail: Derek.Lawrence@techlawinc.com
Research Specialty: General Research, Military Records, Federal Agency Records, Aerial Photos, Still Photographs
About:

John Taylor
Taylor Research Group LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
3333 Connecticut Ave NW Ste 3
Washington, DC 20008
Telephone: (703) 822-4658
Fax:
E-mail: johntaylor@taylorresearchgroup.com
Research Specialty: Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration & Naturalization; Labor & Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures
About:

Myron A. Raney, Ph.D.
Kabalo Research, Inc.
2714 John Steven Way
Reynoldburg, OH 43068
Telephone: (800) 614-2130
Fax:
E-mail: mraney@kabalo.cc
Research Specialty: Interdisciplinary research in the Social Sciences. Areas of specialization include: Social Deviance, Government Failure Theory, Social Problems, Religious Implications, Faith-based Social Services, Social Entrepreneurship, and Vulnerable Population Research.
About:

Autumn Baccellia
PO Box 22877
Sacramento, CA 95822
Telephone: (916) 893-1400
E-mail: autumn.baccellia@gmail.com
Research Specialty: I research immigration and naturalization records, military records, pension records, civil and church records, court records, census records, land records, state archives and library research, obituary and newspaper research, genealogy research.
About: Member of Association of Professional Genealogists. I come from a long line of family historians and was first introduced to genealogy at age 8 while growing up in the LDS church. I have been doing genealogy professionaly for over 10 years. I conduct full genealogical research and living relatives’ research. I have creative ways of finding documents and records which is a great asset for genealogical research. I like to dig deep into family lines and help individuals discover their true family origins.

Mike Constandy
Deck Logs
PO Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320-980
Telephone: (202) 421-5151
Fax: (703) 768-6609
E-mail: mjc@westmorelandresearch.org; mconstandy@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Naval and maritime research for law firms in defense of toxic tort claims, asbestos, admiralty, ships logs and plans, and sea lane and terrestrial UXO. Environmental investigation and remediation. Legal, Congressional, diplomatics, and commercial research. US Army, Navy, Coast Guard, OSS, allied and captured German records to include textual, still imagery, cartographic, and aerial research.
About: More than 30 years experience at NARA. Extensive field research on behalf of the US and foreign governments and an admitted professional researcher at more than 30 institutions worldwide.

Cody J. Fisler
Udrea Research
1815 North Boomer Road, Apt. A23
Stillwater, OK 74075-3449
Telephone: (918) 409-0374
Fax: (918) 856-9003
E-mail: udrearesearch@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Any records available through the National Archives and Records Administration
About:

Donnie East
Data Retrieval Services, Inc.
PO Box 1600
Jasper, GA 30143
Telephone: (800) 250-1665
Fax: (877) 389-5822
E-mail: donnieeast@drsofga.com
Research Specialty: Bankruptcy, Civil, Criminal from all Courts nationwide.


Find a researcher by:


*Note:   Researchers for hire are not NARA employees. Any individual or company that does research in our holdings on behalf of others is free
to join the listing. For information on how to get on the Independent Researchers for Hire lists,
see the Opportunity for Independent Researchers page.

Inclusion on the independent researcher lists should not be viewed as an endorsement of the
quality of the researchers' work, and NARA will not be responsible for any arrangement made
with independent researchers. Such arrangements, including the character, extent, and cost
of the work, are purely private, contractual matters between the independent researcher
and you. It also is up to you to determine whether or not the researcher's experience
and qualifications meet your needs. Comments or complaints received by NARA regarding
any individual independent researcher on the listing will be forwarded to that researcher
for resolution.

Top