Independent Researchers for Hire - Media Types
Researchers Specializing in Audio and Sound Records*
Note: To ensure fairness, this list displays in random order each time it is viewed.
Be sure to view the entire list.
Donal J. Lewis
PO Box 700512
Tulsa, OK 74170-0512
Research Specialty: Any records available through NARA. Will also do research in NARA affiliated archives.
20 Covina Ave
Long Beach, CA 90803
Telephone: (562) 433-2312
Research Specialty: The Nixon presidency and administration, including staff, cabinet departments, domestic policies, foreign relations, politics, campaigns, publicity. Experienced with all media collections (documents, tapes, photos, film/video). The Reagan presidency and administration.
About: Experienced with multiple textual collections at the Reagan Library.
Elisabeth M. Hartjens
6101 Utah Ave NW
Washington, DC 20015-2461
Telephone: (202) 244-4456
Fax: (202) 244-3237
Research Specialty: Motion picture, sound, and video; still images; textual records, including Congressional, Coast Guard and lighthouse, diplomatic, military, Navy, immigration and naturalization, and Nixon related records
Bonnie G. Rowan
Bonnie G. Rowan Film Research
1849 California Street NW
Washington, DC 20009-1808
Telephone: (202) 265-1081; (202) 580-9933
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, video, recorded sound, still pictures, textual records; 20th century world history, World War II, black history, POWs, sports, humor, air and space, children, arts, presidents, technology, and family history.
About: Full-time, on-site research. Thirty years research experience. Credits on over 500 documentaries, exhibits, publications.
Shannon Bridget Murphy
2660 Petersborough St
Herndon, VA 20171-2443
Telephone: (703) 864-3099
Research Specialty: Asbestos: Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records; Diplomatic Records; Family History; Immigration and Naturalization; Intelligence; Labor and Transportation; Military Records - Military searches including lineage and patriotic applications; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental Records; Audio and Sound Recordings; Motion Pictures and Audio-Silent films; Film and Video; Photo Stills and Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures
About: Acknowledged in "From Arromanches to the Elbe," by Charles More, published by Pen and Sword Publishing for research.
Research and Information Services
9160 S Bell Ave
Chicago, IL 60643
Research Specialty: Genealogy and Family History; photos; census records; sound recordings
About: Knowledge of and ability to translate German and French
Ryan M. Curtis
Archive Research & Consulting Group, LLC
133 Main Street, Suite 203
Epping, NH 03042
Telephone: (603) 433-9000
Research Specialty: Asbestos Litigation - Navy & Maritime Records
About: More than 15 years of research experience with an understanding of the ways asbestos was used on Mavy/Maritime ships. We have researchers at the Archives every day to meet your needs.
Joseph P. Harris
PO Box 922
Greenbelt, MD 20768-0922
Telephone: (703) 967-3070
Fax: (301) 474-8290
Research Specialty: Motion Pictures, Still Pictures, Sound Recordings, Video Recordings
Elizabeth Katheryn Gray
1606 Col-Mar Lane
Annapolis, MD 21409
Research Specialty: All research topics
About: Former National Archives employee with 20 years of service
4117 Woodbine St
Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Research Specialty: Newsreels, Motion Picture and Sound Recordings, Still Pictures, Video
John F. Stampfli
306 Douglas St
Bakersfield, CA 93308
Telephone: (424) 333-1012
Fax: (424) 333-1012
Research Specialty: Intelligence, Foreign policy, Geopolitics, All media types
Joan M. Mathys
MJM Picture and Film Research
2801 Quebec St NW 222
Washington, DC 20008-1242
Telephone: (202) 537-3256
Fax: (202) 966-5816
Research Specialty: Motion Picture (moving images) and sound (audio recordings); Still Picture and Graphics; Textual materials; Cartographic materials
4623 Quimby Ave
Beltsville, MD 20705
Telephone: (301) 842-8923
Research Specialty: Stills, recorded sound, moving images. The Modern Presidency
About: Retired NARA archivist
3200 Garfield St NW
Washington, DC 20008-3513
Telephone: (202) 669-7479
Research Specialty: Still picture research including photographs, cartographic records, microfilm, manuscripts, civilian and military textual records, and Presidential records.
About: 25+ years experience.
3356 Pennsylvania Ave SE
Washington, DC 20020-2407
Telephone: (202) 584-3994
Research Specialty: Motion Picture, Video, and Sound Recordings, and Still Picture Research. Particular experience in Popular Culture, African-American history, Civil Rights, Women’s history.
About: Full-time, on-site research. Thirty years visual research experience in the Washington, DC area.
30 Triple Crown Ct
Windsor Mill, MD 21244
Telephone: (410) 265-6214
E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org; email@example.com
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, sound, and video; genealogy
About: I have retired from the National Archives after 30 years in reference. I had the pleasure of working in textual for thirteen, Motion Picture, Sound and Video branch for fifteen the Education Branch for two years.
I received my undergraduate degree from Mid-American University in Oklahoma and I’m currently working on my Masters at the University of Southern California.
I’ve had the honor to work with some of the top companies in media: ESPN, HBO, BET, Ken Burns and Florentine Films’ "Jazz". I also worked on films for exhibits for the Muhammad Ali Center, as well as documentary with Dr. Mina Chow of the University of Southern California’s School of Architecture. I have also work with Genealogy records while working at Archives 1.
I have compiled several finding aids in Motion Pictures. My field of expertise are African American History, Jazz, Sports and World War II. I have contributed to the National Archives Rediscovering African American History blogs
I live in Columbia, Maryland with is not far from the National Archives in College Park.
Edward A. Singer
7512 Sweetbriar Dr
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone: (703) 203-7770
Research Specialty: General Research, All Topics, Find and Make Copies.
2107 Tanglewood Dr
Waldorf, MD 20601-5263
Telephone: (408) 309-9682
Fax: (202) 265-1234
Research Specialty: General
About: Worked in Motion Picture, Sound and Video Branch in the National Archives at College Park.
27-16 12th St., #3C
Astoria, NY 11102
Telephone: (718) 781-4190
E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org; email@example.com
Research Specialty: American history, world history, people, cultural events, scientific discovery; NARA photographs and pictures, film and video recordings
Museum, Media, and History Services
PO Box 412081
Kansas City, MO 64141
Research Specialty: 20th century history, audiovisual records, presidential archives.
About: A historian, curator, public programmer, and certified archivist, Elizabeth Hansen provides program planning, curation, and digital strategy services to museums and archives as well as proxy research services to filmmakers, television producers, authors, curators, and scholars.
Gina McNeely Picture Research
43657 Winthrop Court
Ashland, VA 20147
Telephone: (703) 723-6770; (703) 307-3122
Research Specialty: Military history, aviation, still photographs, motion pictures, arms and armament. All subject, all record groups.
About: 25+ years experience research still pictures and motion pictures. Former picture researcher for major military history magazine group. Books, films, museum exhibits and multimedia projects.
313 Highland Ter
Prince Frederick, MD 20678-4425
Telephone: (410) 610-2685
Research Specialty: Film, video, still photograph and audio research
3200 16th Street NW 806
Washington, DC 20010-3348
Telephone: (202) 361-5000
Fax: (202) 319-9150
Research Specialty: All records regardless of media from 1700s to present including United States and Russian intelligence, military, diplomatic and civilian records as well as captured German military and police records (1890s-1945).
About: Research can be carried out simultaneously by professional researchers in both the US and in Russian archives-or either one of the two-essential for any serious WWII or Cold War research. Open records laws (such as the US FOIA) can be used as an adjunct to archival research by declassifying responsive records directly from governments, where applicable.
Taylor Research Group LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
3333 Connecticut Ave NW Ste 3
Washington, DC 20008
Telephone: (703) 822-4658
Fax: (703) 842-8656
Research Specialty: Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration & Naturalization; Labor & Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures
The Leonard Group, Inc.
9364 Spring Water Path
Jessup, MD 20794
Telephone: (301) 776-9260
Fax: (301) 776-8962
Research Specialty: African-American history, American military history, WWI, WWII, US Navy, US Army, US Air Force, 20th century American History, asbestos, captured German records, census records, Cold War, congressional records, court records, Coast Guard/lighthouse/customs records, diplomatic records, genealogy and family history records, immigration and naturalization records, intelligence, labor & business history/transportation/regulatory agency records, military records, Native American relations records, President Nixon, science, technology, natural resources & the environment, audio/sound recordings, cartographic/architectural/ships plans records, film & video recordings, still photos.
Academic Historical Research
4469 Sedgwick St NW
Washington, DC 20016
Telephone: (202) 812-8466
Research Specialty: All textual, images and maps on WW2 and the Cold War. Special focus on diplomacy, the OSS (Office of Strategic Services), the FBI, the OWI (Office of War Information) and USIA (United States Information Agency). Many projects on Resistance in France and Italy. Also all military and Congressional records.
About: Former NARA volunteer and one of the compilers of OSS finding aids. 100% trilingual (with French and Italian) and able to research in other languages (Spanish, German, Swedish and Norwegian). Over 20 years of experience in customer satisfaction!
Mary Jane Williams
Archival and Public Domain Research
4224 Military Rd NW
Washington, DC 20015
Telephone: (978) 835-0440
Research Specialty: Videos, films, audio and photos for documentaries, period films and books. Specialties: American history, Europe. Art, literature, politics, animals, architecture, energy, the environment, captured German records.
About: Know French, German, some Italian.
Jeannette Remak;Joseph Ventolo
Phoenix Aviation Research
41-41 41st Street 1-M
Sunnyside, NY 11104-3243
Telephone: (718) 937-7436
Fax: (718) 784-4682
Research Specialty: Military, historical, government; record groups media, series, subjects
21515 Manor View Cir
Germantown, MD 20876
Telephone: (301) 922-9610
Research Specialty: Specialist in Aerial Imagery and Maps (both U.S. and foreign), American Military Records, Captured German Records (SS, Wehrmacht, NSDAP, War Diaries), and German technical Manuals.
About: 30+ years of historical research experience, complete fluency in German, partnered with specialists in both Russian and Germany. First hand experience from personal visits to battlefields on both the Eastern and Western Fronts.
Paul D. Watson
Watson Research Services
PO Box 004
Glen Dale, MD 20769
Telephone: (301) 966-7780
Research Specialty: Photographs, film, textual, and special media; military, civilian, and diplomatic agency records; labor, business, and regulatory history. Particular experience with records of the U.S. Information Agency, Adjutant General’s Office, Panama Canal, Civilian Conservation Corps, and Universal Newsreel; African-American history.
About: Expertise in conducting research at government and private archives in the Washington, DC area; former NARA employee; former Naval History Heritage Command (NHHC) staff; MLS-Archives Specialization; Certificate in Federal Records Management.
4393 Kevin Walker Dr 228
Montclair, VA 22025
Telephone: (202) 498-4447
Fax: (703) 656-4851
Research Specialty: Modern military records; Genealogy; WWII; Korea; Vietnam; Cold War, Prisoners of War (POW); Missing in Action (MIA); Aerial imagery, cartography, still photos
316 Pytchley Run
Annapolis, MD 21403
Telephone: (443) 254-1634
Research Specialty: Textual, photographs and motion picture records primarily for WW2.
About: Have completed a thorough collection and presentation of seven WW2 veterans including unit reports, photos and movie footage. Expert at photo collection.
Gregory T. Smith, Chief Investigator
History Piquette LLC
2399 White Oak Trl
Oregon, WI 53575
Telephone: (608) 843-6633
Research Specialty: General Research, Military, Declassified Documents, Corporation History, Congressional Research, Aviation Research, FAA/NTSB, Naval, Maritime, Coast Guard, Harbor. Transportation, Film and Still photography.
American Research Associates
147 Payson Rd
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
Telephone: (617) 680-2356
Research Specialty: Federal Court records, New England; Maritime, Lighthouses, Shipwreck reports, New England; Coast Guard records, New England; Congressional Records, New England; Science, Technology, Natural Resources, Environmental Records, New England; John F. Kennedy Library records, including the Ernest Hemingway Collection; some Harvard University libraries, including the HBS Baker Library. Special Media: Audio/Sound Recordings; Film + Video Recordings; Photographs + Pictures.
PO Box 7165
McLean, VA 22106-7165
Telephone: (202) 320-2672
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, still photographs and textual records - all subjects.
About: Full time on site research.
Satu Haase-Webb, Independent Historian and Researcher
1334 A St SE
Washington, DC 20003
Telephone: (202) 257-6915
Research Specialty: All media types-textual records, still images/photographs, video and audio recordings. World War II, captured German records, Holocaust, Diplomatic, military, intelligence records, African American History, Women, Immigration, Art, Social History (Labor, etc.), Cold War. Civil Rights.
About: On-site, 25 years of experience, former government historian. German speaker (native)
Find a researcher by: