Independent Researchers for Hire - Topics
Researchers Specializing in African-American Related Records *
Note: To ensure fairness, this list displays in random order each time it is viewed.
Be sure to view the entire list.
Dr. John Arnold
1316 Queen St Ste 2000
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone: (703) 684-4636
Fax: (703) 684-7335
Research Specialty: Experienced specialists in all areas of military and civil records; archival research.
About: NICOM, Inc., The National Information Co., has over 25 years experience in all areas of military and civilian archival research. Our website cleary outlines our services and rates. Our experienced researchers have helped veterans, individuals, authors, agencies, consulting firms, non-profits, large and small law firms, small businesses and Fortune 500 companies in the following research categories: military records, including Army, Marines, Navy, and Air Force, Deck Logs, Intelligence, Captured German Records, Cold War, Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records, Diplomatic Records, Court Records, Genealogy, Census, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization Records in all media formats.
Satu Haase-Webb, Independent Historian and Researcher
1334 A St SE
Washington, DC 20003
Telephone: (202) 257-6915
Research Specialty: All media types-textual records, still images/photographs, video and audio recordings. World War II, captured German records, Holocaust, Diplomatic, military, intelligence records, African American History, Women, Immigration, Art, Social History (Labor, etc.), Cold War. Civil Rights.
About: On-site, 25 years of experience, former government historian. German speaker (native)
Elizabeth Katheryn Gray
1606 Col-Mar Lane
Annapolis, MD 21409
Research Specialty: All research topics
About: Former National Archives employee with 20 years of service
Ancestry For Me
1735 N 1450 E
Provo, UT 84604
Telephone: (202) 568-4557
About: Anything you want, I can find it. But I am in high demand. Any difficult problem I can overcome.
Donal J. Lewis
PO Box 700512
Tulsa, OK 74170-0512
Research Specialty: Any records available through NARA. Will also do research in NARA affiliated archives.
2032 Guildford B
Boca Raton, FL 33434
Research Specialty: African-American genealogy; Genealogy and family history records; Immigration and naturalization records; Jewish genealogy; US Hispanic-Latino genealogy
Marc D. Thompson
708 Enfield Rd
Delray Beach, FL 33444-2625
Telephone: (561) 676-6179
E-mail: email@example.com; firstname.lastname@example.org
Research Specialty: Genealogy
PO Box 7165
McLean, VA 22106-7165
Telephone: (202) 320-2672
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, still photographs and textual records - all subjects.
About: Full time on site research.
Mountain Soul Searching
13474 Grouserun Lane
Bristow, VA 20136
Telephone: (571) 435-4615
Fax: (855) 462-0210
Research Specialty: Military records, pension files, land records, census records, medical records of asylum inmates, tax records, civil cases, county court records, African American research, plantation records and vital records.
About: Experienced professional genealogist. Request for simple record pulls or custom search packages are welcome and can be requested by email, phone, fax, or by form via my website.
4393 Kevin Walker Dr 228
Montclair, VA 22025
Telephone: (202) 498-4447
Fax: (703) 656-4851
Research Specialty: Modern military records; Genealogy; WWII; Korea; Vietnam; Cold War, Prisoners of War (POW); Missing in Action (MIA); Aerial imagery, cartography, still photos
Academic Historical Research
4469 Sedgwick St NW
Washington, DC 20016
Telephone: (202) 812-8466
Research Specialty: All textual, images and maps on WW2 and the Cold War. Special focus on diplomacy, the OSS (Office of Strategic Services), the FBI, the OWI (Office of War Information) and USIA (United States Information Agency). Many projects on Resistance in France and Italy. Also all military and Congressional records.
About: Former NARA volunteer and one of the compilers of OSS finding aids. 100% trilingual (with French and Italian) and able to research in other languages (Spanish, German, Swedish and Norwegian). Over 20 years of experience in customer satisfaction!
Shannon Bridget Murphy
2660 Petersborough St
Herndon, VA 20171-2443
Telephone: (703) 864-3099
Research Specialty: Asbestos: Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records; Diplomatic Records; Family History; Immigration and Naturalization; Intelligence; Labor and Transportation; Military Records - Military searches including lineage and patriotic applications; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental Records; Audio and Sound Recordings; Motion Pictures and Audio-Silent films; Film and Video; Photo Stills and Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures
About: Acknowledged in "From Arromanches to the Elbe," by Charles More, published by Pen and Sword Publishing for research.
Ryan M. Curtis
Archive Research & Consulting Group, LLC
133 Main Street, Suite 203
Epping, NH 03042
Telephone: (603) 433-9000
Research Specialty: Asbestos Litigation - Navy & Maritime Records
About: More than 15 years of research experience with an understanding of the ways asbestos was used on Mavy/Maritime ships. We have researchers at the Archives every day to meet your needs.
3356 Pennsylvania Ave SE
Washington, DC 20020-2407
Telephone: (202) 584-3994
Research Specialty: Motion Picture, Video, and Sound Recordings, and Still Picture Research. Particular experience in Popular Culture, African-American history, Civil Rights, Women’s history.
About: Full-time, on-site research. Thirty years visual research experience in the Washington, DC area.
Dr. Jason Gart, Vice President
History Associates Incorporated
300 N Stonestreet Ave
Rockville, MD 20850-1655
Telephone: (301) 279-9697
Fax: (301) 279-9224
Research Specialty: African American history; Asbestos; Census; Congressional records; Court records; Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom records; Diplomatic records; Intelligence records; Labor and Business History; Legislative histories; Litigation-related researcher; Transportation records; Military records; Native American relations records
About: Litigation-related research into a wide range of textual and non-textual records. Environmental site history, legislative histories, and Holocaust related records research are only a few of the areas where we have focused.
Paul D. Watson
Watson Research Services
PO Box 004
Glen Dale, MD 20769
Telephone: (301) 966-7780
Research Specialty: Photographs, film, textual, and special media; military, civilian, and diplomatic agency records; labor, business, and regulatory history. Particular experience with records of the U.S. Information Agency, Adjutant General’s Office, Panama Canal, Civilian Conservation Corps, and Universal Newsreel; African-American history.
About: Expertise in conducting research at government and private archives in the Washington, DC area; former NARA employee; former Naval History Heritage Command (NHHC) staff; MLS-Archives Specialization; Certificate in Federal Records Management.
Documents on Wheels
6904 Carleton Ter
College Park, MD 20740-3621
Telephone: (301) 277-2115
Fax: (301) 277-2115
Research Specialty: Civil War, Abraham Lincoln, abolitionism, slave trade; RGs 59, 60, 217
6980 S Bannock St Apt 8
Littleton, CO 80120
Telephone: (720) 335-1970
Research Specialty: Government(All) - Economics, Financial, Congressional, Executive, Judicial; Corporate - SEC, Intelligence, Lobby, Patents, Trademarks; Real Estate - GeoSat, Civil-Land, Taxes, Liens; Popular Fact Checking - Political, Current Events, Quotes; Historical, Ancestry, World Events
Sadie Day Pasha
Sadie Day Pasha, Professional Genealogist and Low Country Family Historian
Silver Spring, MD 20904
Telephone: (240) 560-6139
Research Specialty: Family Histories, Oral Traditions, Biographical and Historical analysis, Southern Jews and Sephardim in colonial, reconstruction and post reconstruction eras in America. Native Cherokee and Smith descendants of Indian Territories in South Carolina and Georgia. West African "Geechee" on Rosemont (Pyatt) and various plantations in Georgetown County, South Carolina captured from Rice Coast of Sene-Gambia and Sierra Leone. Cohen surname of Sephardim, Portuguese Jews,
New Christians, Marranos, Crypto Jews, ladino language and culture. West Africans (Geechee/Kissi) and Gullah (Gola) trade language in Lowcountry of Georgia and South Carolina Sea Islands. Day (Daye/Dey) surname of (1) Middlesex County, Massachusetts, (2) James City County and Dinwiddie County, Virginia, and (4) Caswell County, North Carolina among West African and European descendants. Consultation and Lecture, Domestic and International Digital Archives (Libraries)
About: Genealogist, National Genealogical Society, Washington, DC
Genealogy Instructor, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission
Genealogist, Guild of One-Name Studies, "Cohen One Name Study", Region 5 USA
Author, "Cohen of Georgetown County, South Carolina 1760-1960", S. Pasha 2010.
Diane M. Boucher, Ph.D.
65 Graham St
Gardner, MA 01440
Telephone: (978) 630-3968
Research Specialty: Colonial and early America, Freedman’s Bureau, African-American history, court records, Civil rights, slavery, Reconstruction, State Department, Social and cultural history.
Bonnie G. Rowan
Bonnie G. Rowan Film Research
1849 California Street NW
Washington, DC 20009-1808
Telephone: (202) 265-1081; (202) 580-9933
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, video, recorded sound, still pictures, textual records; 20th century world history, World War II, black history, POWs, sports, humor, air and space, children, arts, presidents, technology, and family history.
About: Full-time, on-site research. Thirty years research experience. Credits on over 500 documentaries, exhibits, publications.
Edward A. Singer
7512 Sweetbriar Dr
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone: (703) 203-7770
Research Specialty: General Research, All Topics, Find and Make Copies.
Bruce D. Frail; Benjamin J. Frail D.B.A
American Civil War Ancestor
19 Briar Point Ave
Coventry, RI 02816-5601
Telephone: (401) 464-2119
Fax: (401) 823-9898
Research Specialty: Military Service Records, Pension Records, Deck Logs, Veterans Burial Locations, and any other area of general research of the American Civil War
About: We have 50+ years of professional and volunteer research experience and I am the current National Graves Registration Officer for the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War. Benjamin and I will research Military Service Records, Pension Records, Deck Logs, Veterans Burial Locations, and any other area of general research of the American Civil War. We also research Confederate Soldiers as well. We have done research for government (state and local city), commercial, private and non-profit groups. "We Reunite You With Your Past"
Find a researcher by: