Independent Researchers for Hire - Topics
Researchers Specializing in Census Related Records *
Note: To ensure fairness, this list displays in random order each time it is viewed.
Be sure to view the entire list.
4393 Kevin Walker Dr 228
Montclair, VA 22025
Telephone: (202) 498-4447
Fax: (703) 656-4851
Research Specialty: Modern military records; Genealogy; WWII; Korea; Vietnam; Cold War, Prisoners of War (POW); Missing in Action (MIA); Aerial imagery, cartography, still photos
Andre R. Grimard
Andre R. Grimard, M.Ed.
115 Mussey St
South Portland, ME 04106
Telephone: (207) 756-9695
Fax: (413) 581-3621
Research Specialty: US Census records, Vital records, Family genealogy, French Canadian families, State archives, Cemetary Searches, Newspapers, Canadian Census records, General research
About: Freelance Researcher
3200 Garfield St NW
Washington, DC 20008-3513
Telephone: (202) 669-7479
Research Specialty: Still picture research including photographs, cartographic records, microfilm, manuscripts, civilian and military textual records, and Presidential records.
About: 25+ years experience.
PO Box 9034
Columbia, MD 21044-9034
Telephone: (443) 280-9785
Fax: (202) 298-6937
Research Specialty: Civil War, Immigration, Census, Revolutionary War, Land Records, Genealogy and Family History Records, DNA consults.
Amanda L. Paige
Paige Historical Research and Consulting
1420 Breckenridge Dr 109
Little Rock, AR 72227
Telephone: (501) 515-4871
Research Specialty: Miitary, Native American, Census, Genealogy, Family History
Elizabeth Katheryn Gray
1606 Col-Mar Lane
Annapolis, MD 21409
Research Specialty: All research topics
About: Former National Archives employee with 20 years of service
3200 16th Street NW 806
Washington, DC 20010-3348
Telephone: (202) 361-5000
Fax: (202) 319-9150
Research Specialty: All records regardless of media from 1700s to present including United States and Russian intelligence, military, diplomatic and civilian records as well as captured German military and police records (1890s-1945).
About: Research can be carried out simultaneously by professional researchers in both the US and in Russian archives-or either one of the two-essential for any serious WWII or Cold War research. Open records laws (such as the US FOIA) can be used as an adjunct to archival research by declassifying responsive records directly from governments, where applicable.
Sadie Day Pasha
Sadie Day Pasha, Professional Genealogist and Low Country Family Historian
Silver Spring, MD 20904
Telephone: (240) 560-6139
Research Specialty: Family Histories, Oral Traditions, Biographical and Historical analysis, Southern Jews and Sephardim in colonial, reconstruction and post reconstruction eras in America. Native Cherokee and Smith descendants of Indian Territories in South Carolina and Georgia. West African "Geechee" on Rosemont (Pyatt) and various plantations in Georgetown County, South Carolina captured from Rice Coast of Sene-Gambia and Sierra Leone. Cohen surname of Sephardim, Portuguese Jews,
New Christians, Marranos, Crypto Jews, ladino language and culture. West Africans (Geechee/Kissi) and Gullah (Gola) trade language in Lowcountry of Georgia and South Carolina Sea Islands. Day (Daye/Dey) surname of (1) Middlesex County, Massachusetts, (2) James City County and Dinwiddie County, Virginia, and (4) Caswell County, North Carolina among West African and European descendants. Consultation and Lecture, Domestic and International Digital Archives (Libraries)
About: Genealogist, National Genealogical Society, Washington, DC
Genealogy Instructor, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission
Genealogist, Guild of One-Name Studies, "Cohen One Name Study", Region 5 USA
Author, "Cohen of Georgetown County, South Carolina 1760-1960", S. Pasha 2010.
Windover Historical Research and Genealogical Services
5901 Montrose Rd N 907
Rockville, MD 20852
Research Specialty: All Indian records (RG 75, RG 48, RG 279), All Indian Genealogy, General Genealogy
About: Specializing in difficult genealogical problems, documenting genealogies, and obscure research topics.
10241 W 56 Ter
Merriam, KS 66203
Telephone: (785) 249-7100
Research Specialty: Cold War, Congressional Records, Census Records, Court Records, Lighthouse\Customs Records, Genealogy and Family History, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization, President Nixon.
PO Box 50561
Provo, UT 84605
Telephone: (801) 836-1996
Research Specialty: A-HO. Native American; Cherokee; Choctaw, Sioux, Chickasaw, all Federally Recognized Tribes.
About: Research by a real Native American at americanancestors.info.
ASM Affiliates, Inc.
2034 Corte Del Nogal
Carlsbad, CA 92011
Telephone: (760) 804-0611
Fax: (760) 804-5755
Research Specialty: Census Records; Labor & Business History/ Transportation/Regulatory Agency Records; RG 115 & 181; Military Records; Navy Records; Cold War; and Science, Technology, Natural Resources, & Environmental Research.
Ryan M. Curtis
Archive Research & Consulting Group, LLC
133 Main Street, Suite 203
Epping, NH 03042
Telephone: (603) 433-9000
Research Specialty: Asbestos Litigation - Navy & Maritime Records
About: More than 15 years of research experience with an understanding of the ways asbestos was used on Mavy/Maritime ships. We have researchers at the Archives every day to meet your needs.
Kathleen Brandt, Professional Genealogist & Consultant
PO Box 414640
Kansas City, MO 64141
Fax: (816) 817-2146
Research Specialty: Military records, immigration/emigration and naturalization, Native American Relations Records, African American records, Captured German Records, Census Records, Genealogy and Family History Records, Navy Records. Media: Audio/Sound Recordings, Film and Video Recordings, Photographs/Pictures and Textual Records
Ancestry For Me
1735 N 1450 E
Provo, UT 84604
Telephone: (202) 568-4557
About: Anything you want, I can find it. But I am in high demand. Any difficult problem I can overcome.
3075 Emmitsburg Rd
Gettysburg, PA 17325
Research Specialty: General researcher; Genealogy and Family History; All international and US military research; House and building history; Corporate history; Congressional research, Legal (court records); Popular fact checking - Political, current events, quotes; Native American; Dual citizenship application assistance; Motion pictures and video; Still pictures and photographs; Research for documentary filmmakers, screenwrites, producers, and other filmmakers.
Teresa Shirra, Professional Genealogist
PO Box 634
Concord, MA 01742
Research Specialty: General research, vital records, Census, newspapers, immigration, passenger lists, record retrieval, deed, court records, land, naturalization, cemetery, wills, library and court house, NARA (Boston)
About: Research in Boston Library, NEHGS, local city and town archives.
PO Box 270933
Louisville, CO 80027
Telephone: (303) 641-8412
Research Specialty: Historical records for the Rocky Mtn West, Census Records, Genealogy and Family History, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization Records; Photographs and Pictures.
PO Box 22877
Sacramento, CA 95822
Telephone: (916) 893-1400
Research Specialty: I research immigration and naturalization records, military records, pension records, civil and church records, court records, census records, land records, state archives and library research, obituary and newspaper research, genealogy research.
About: Member of Association of Professional Genealogists. I come from a long line of family historians and was first introduced to genealogy at age 8 while growing up in the LDS church. I have been doing genealogy professionaly for over 10 years. I conduct full genealogical research and living relatives’ research. I have creative ways of finding documents and records which is a great asset for genealogical research. I like to dig deep into family lines and help individuals discover their true family origins.
Partners in History
950 NW Elford Dr
Seattle, WA 98177-4125
Telephone: (206) 354-0250
Research Specialty: Land use research and litigation support; Native American relations and family history.
About: More than 30 years of experience in Federal records research including BIA, USACE, USFS, Bureau of Reclamation as well as court and military record groups.
3925 Thistle Lane
Fort Worth, TX 76109
Telephone: (817) 924-0453
Research Specialty: Census, Family History, Military, Find Lost Heirs, Native American, Mineral Right Owners, and reverse genealogy.
Gina McNeely Picture Research
43657 Winthrop Court
Ashland, VA 20147
Telephone: (703) 723-6770; (703) 307-3122
Research Specialty: Military history, aviation, still photographs, motion pictures, arms and armament. All subject, all record groups.
About: 25+ years experience research still pictures and motion pictures. Former picture researcher for major military history magazine group. Books, films, museum exhibits and multimedia projects.
Gregory T. Smith, Chief Investigator
History Piquette LLC
2399 White Oak Trl
Oregon, WI 53575
Telephone: (608) 843-6633
Research Specialty: General Research, Military, Declassified Documents, Corporation History, Congressional Research, Aviation Research, FAA/NTSB, Naval, Maritime, Coast Guard, Harbor. Transportation, Film and Still photography.
Barbara J. Hockman
6927 Rene Ct
Shawnee, KS 66216-2353
304 State St
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Research Specialty: Family history and genealogy; Immigration, Naturalization, and Manifest; NYC birth, marriage death, and Manhattan wills.
1317 E Jefferson Ave
Fort Worth, TX 76104
Research Specialty: Political events and facts. Family history.
Taylor Research Group LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
3333 Connecticut Ave NW Ste 3
Washington, DC 20008
Telephone: (703) 822-4658
Fax: (703) 842-8656
Research Specialty: Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration & Naturalization; Labor & Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures
Dr. John Arnold
1316 Queen St Ste 2000
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone: (703) 684-4636
Fax: (703) 684-7335
Research Specialty: Experienced specialists in all areas of military and civil records; archival research.
About: NICOM, Inc., The National Information Co., has over 25 years experience in all areas of military and civilian archival research. Our website cleary outlines our services and rates. Our experienced researchers have helped veterans, individuals, authors, agencies, consulting firms, non-profits, large and small law firms, small businesses and Fortune 500 companies in the following research categories: military records, including Army, Marines, Navy, and Air Force, Deck Logs, Intelligence, Captured German Records, Cold War, Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records, Diplomatic Records, Court Records, Genealogy, Census, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization Records in all media formats.
My Ancestors Footsteps
291 Pleasant Ave Apt 3C
New York, NY 10029
Telephone: (917) 819-2993
Research Specialty: New England, New York, Immigration, Southeast genealogy, Irish, African-American
James M. Evans III
PO Box 644
Morrow, GA 30260
Telephone: (404) 797-9980
Research Specialty: All records located at the Southeast Region archival facility in Morrow, GA (Atlanta), especially those associated with genealogy and family history. Located within two miles of Southeast Region facility.
Barbara J. Seyler
387 Winding Valley Dr
Rockmart, GA 30153
Telephone: (678) 363-4894
Research Specialty: U.S. World War I Draft, U.S. Census, Military, and Georgia County and State Records
Research and Information Services
9160 S Bell Ave
Chicago, IL 60643
Research Specialty: Genealogy and Family History; photos; census records; sound recordings
About: Knowledge of and ability to translate German and French
Joan Kitchen Murray
PO Box 547
Peotone, IL 60468
About: Acquainted with all records held at this facility (Chicago). Census land, military, court records, bankruptcy, civil, criminal, divorce, church, lineage society research, genealogy and family history, Chicago, Northern Illinois-N.E. Iowa, southern Wisconsin.
Judith Langer-Surnamer Caplan
Up, Roots! Genealogy Research Services
27 West Penn St
Long Beach, NY 11561-4032
Telephone: (516) 889-7163
Research Specialty: U.S. Census; New York naturalizations; World War II Old Men’s draft registration; New York and Philadelphia passenger arrivals
Margaret R. Fortier
Margaret R. Fortier, CG
100 Station Landing #1012
Medford, MA 02155
Telephone: (508) 414-1595
Research Specialty: Immigration and Naturalization Records, French-Canadian, Italian-American research, New England.
About: Certified genealogist
Brophy Professional Genealogy and Heir Tracing
198 Patricia Dr
Abington, MA 02351-1047
Telephone: (781) 738-2671
Fax: (781) 878-0720
Research Specialty: Immigration &Naturalization, Census Records, Genealogy &Family History, Irish-American, New England.
Littlefield Historical Research
6207 Snake Rd
Oakland, CA 94611
Telephone: (510) 339-1017
Research Specialty: Water rights; Navigable waterwya; Native American history; Environmental history; Land use; Mining; Rivers; Forests; Public lands; National parks; Boundaries; Interstate conflicts; Transportation; Census records; Toxic waste
About: Water rights, navigabililty, Native American, environmental land use, mining, rivers, forests, public lands, national parks, boundaries, interstate conflicts, transportation, census, toxic waste
Jan A Campbell
A1 Positive Thought
PO Box 13877
Tallahassee, FL 32317-3877
Research Specialty: Military Records and Awards (Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Indian Wars/Treaties, Civil War, World War I, World War II, Korea, Vietnam), Pensions, VA benefits, NARA Records and Bounty Land, Native American Lineage Research including Dawes rolls. Genealogy and Family History Records including Census, Birth/Marriage/Death, Vital Records, Wills and Voter records. Passports, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization records. Ancestry.com Family Trees, Pedigree Charts, and Photographs. Preparation of lineage society applications for DAR, SAR, and Tribal citizenship by descent. Searches of International, National and State Digital Archives, and University Libraries. On-site searches of Florida, Georgia and Alabama Archives and electronic records.
About: Reasonable rates
Edward A. Singer
7512 Sweetbriar Dr
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone: (703) 203-7770
Research Specialty: General Research, All Topics, Find and Make Copies.
Donna H. Blinn
Heritage~Family History~Ancestry Research
12 Fairview Ave
Lincoln, RI 02865-1808
Telephone: (401) 474-3618
Research Specialty: Pedigree Charts; Locating Vital Records: Birth/Marriage/Death, Military, Immigration & Naturalization, Census & Voter Records, Court, Land, Wills & Financial Records; Historical Newspapers; Cemetery Searches; Designing your Family Album; Education in use of online sources of information; Workshops and individual consultation assistance.
Bruce D. Frail; Benjamin J. Frail D.B.A
American Civil War Ancestor
19 Briar Point Ave
Coventry, RI 02816-5601
Telephone: (401) 464-2119
Fax: (401) 823-9898
Research Specialty: Military Service Records, Pension Records, Deck Logs, Veterans Burial Locations, and any other area of general research of the American Civil War
About: We have 50+ years of professional and volunteer research experience and I am the current National Graves Registration Officer for the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War. Benjamin and I will research Military Service Records, Pension Records, Deck Logs, Veterans Burial Locations, and any other area of general research of the American Civil War. We also research Confederate Soldiers as well. We have done research for government (state and local city), commercial, private and non-profit groups. "We Reunite You With Your Past"
Satu Haase-Webb, Independent Historian and Researcher
1334 A St SE
Washington, DC 20003
Telephone: (202) 257-6915
Research Specialty: All media types-textual records, still images/photographs, video and audio recordings. World War II, captured German records, Holocaust, Diplomatic, military, intelligence records, African American History, Women, Immigration, Art, Social History (Labor, etc.), Cold War. Civil Rights.
About: On-site, 25 years of experience, former government historian. German speaker (native)
Elizabeth Terry Historical Research
220A Seven Trails Drive
St. Louis, MO 63011
Telephone: (314) 283-1779
Research Specialty: Genealogical and family history including but not limited to: immigration and naturalization records; census records; birth, death, marriage and other vital records; court and land records; military records; and church records.
Academic Historical Research
4469 Sedgwick St NW
Washington, DC 20016
Telephone: (202) 812-8466
Research Specialty: All textual, images and maps on WW2 and the Cold War. Special focus on diplomacy, the OSS (Office of Strategic Services), the FBI, the OWI (Office of War Information) and USIA (United States Information Agency). Many projects on Resistance in France and Italy. Also all military and Congressional records.
About: Former NARA volunteer and one of the compilers of OSS finding aids. 100% trilingual (with French and Italian) and able to research in other languages (Spanish, German, Swedish and Norwegian). Over 20 years of experience in customer satisfaction!
Richard J. Macon
PO Box 996
Bayonne, NJ 07002
Telephone: (201) 320-1927
Research Specialty: military, Immigration &; Naturalization, censuses, Catholic records
Shannon Bridget Murphy
2660 Petersborough St
Herndon, VA 20171-2443
Telephone: (703) 864-3099
Research Specialty: Asbestos: Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records; Diplomatic Records; Family History; Immigration and Naturalization; Intelligence; Labor and Transportation; Military Records - Military searches including lineage and patriotic applications; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental Records; Audio and Sound Recordings; Motion Pictures and Audio-Silent films; Film and Video; Photo Stills and Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures
About: Acknowledged in "From Arromanches to the Elbe," by Charles More, published by Pen and Sword Publishing for research.
PO Box 7165
McLean, VA 22106-7165
Telephone: (202) 320-2672
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, still photographs and textual records - all subjects.
About: Full time on site research.
Mountain Soul Searching
13474 Grouserun Lane
Bristow, VA 20136
Telephone: (571) 435-4615
Fax: (855) 462-0210
Research Specialty: Military records, pension files, land records, census records, medical records of asylum inmates, tax records, civil cases, county court records, African American research, plantation records and vital records.
About: Experienced professional genealogist. Request for simple record pulls or custom search packages are welcome and can be requested by email, phone, fax, or by form via my website.
Feet on the Ground New York City Genealogy Research
57 Montague St 4J
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Telephone: (718) 852-7205
Research Specialty: 19th and 20th century New Yorkers; Italian Americans; vital records handwritten in Italian; Catholics and Catholic churches (parish records, building design, construction, decoration); Academic-style art, artists, auctions, exhibits, catalogues, collections; cigar makers; orphanages; ballroom dancing; vital records, manifests, naturalizations, censuses, dual U.S.-Italian citizenshio applications.
The Leonard Group, Inc.
9364 Spring Water Path
Jessup, MD 20794
Telephone: (301) 776-9260
Fax: (301) 776-8962
Research Specialty: African-American history, American military history, WWI, WWII, US Navy, US Army, US Air Force, 20th century American History, asbestos, captured German records, census records, Cold War, congressional records, court records, Coast Guard/lighthouse/customs records, diplomatic records, genealogy and family history records, immigration and naturalization records, intelligence, labor & business history/transportation/regulatory agency records, military records, Native American relations records, President Nixon, science, technology, natural resources & the environment, audio/sound recordings, cartographic/architectural/ships plans records, film & video recordings, still photos.
Donal J. Lewis
PO Box 700512
Tulsa, OK 74170-0512
Research Specialty: Any records available through NARA. Will also do research in NARA affiliated archives.
PO Box 275
Craig, AK 99921-0275
Research Specialty: Chinook genealogy
The Horse Soldier Research Service
3506 Majestic Pine Ln
Fairfax, VA 22033
Telephone: (703) 904-9126
Fax: (703) 904-9126
Research Specialty: Military Service Records, Pension Files, Regimental Histories, Mil. Research dating from Rev. War to 1910. Civil War specialty, Navy, Federal Censuses, etc.
About: Over 20 years experience doing historic document research. Head of research department of family military artifact business in Gettysburg, The Horse Soldier.
Raymond W. Johnson
4237 Sunnyside Ave
Brookfield, IL 60513
Telephone: (708) 387-1884
Research Specialty: Census records; Naturalization records; Military records
Find a researcher by: