Research Our Records

Independent Researchers for Hire - Topics

Researchers Specializing in OSS, CIA, and Other Intelligence Records Related Records *

Note: To ensure fairness, this list displays in random order each time it is viewed.
Be sure to view the entire list.

Jeremy Bigwood
Archival Research
3200 16th Street NW 806
Washington, DC 20010-3348
Telephone: (202) 361-5000
Fax: (202) 319-9150
E-mail: jeremybigwood@gmail.com
Research Specialty: All records regardless of media from 1700s to present including United States and Russian intelligence, military, diplomatic and civilian records as well as captured German military and police records (1890s-1945).
About: Research can be carried out simultaneously by professional researchers in both the US and in Russian archives-or either one of the two-essential for any serious WWII or Cold War research. Open records laws (such as the US FOIA) can be used as an adjunct to archival research by declassifying responsive records directly from governments, where applicable.

Katie Rasdorf
4393 Kevin Walker Dr 228
Montclair, VA 22025
Telephone: (202) 498-4447
Fax: (703) 656-4851
E-mail: krasdorf@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Modern military records; Genealogy; WWII; Korea; Vietnam; Cold War, Prisoners of War (POW); Missing in Action (MIA); Aerial imagery, cartography, still photos

Dieter Stenger
Stenger Historica
9506 Dabney Ct.
Fredericksburg, VA 22408
Telephone: (540) 604-3907
E-mail: stengerhistorica@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Captured German records (Berlin Document Collection), WWII and Holocaust-related records, Post-War Occupation records (OMGUS), OSS and Special Investigative Records. Specialize in SS, SD, and Gestapo records (RFSS), including officer and enlisted personnel records, RuSHA, SA, NSDAP records, but also Wehrmacht and SS combat formation/unit records.
About: 20+ years experience researching at NARA. German fluency. Translation services available. Veteran owned (USMC).

Dr. John Arnold
NICOM, Inc
1316 Queen St Ste 2000
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone: (703) 684-4636
Fax: (703) 684-7335
E-mail: seek@nicom.com
Research Specialty: Experienced specialists in all areas of military and civil records; archival research.
About: NICOM, Inc., The National Information Co., has over 25 years experience in all areas of military and civilian archival research. Our website cleary outlines our services and rates. Our experienced researchers have helped veterans, individuals, authors, agencies, consulting firms, non-profits, large and small law firms, small businesses and Fortune 500 companies in the following research categories: military records, including Army, Marines, Navy, and Air Force, Deck Logs, Intelligence, Captured German Records, Cold War, Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records, Diplomatic Records, Court Records, Genealogy, Census, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization Records in all media formats.

Dr. Jason Gart, Vice President
History Associates Incorporated
300 N Stonestreet Ave
Rockville, MD 20850-1655
Telephone: (301) 279-9697
Fax: (301) 279-9224
E-mail: jgart@historyassociates.com
Research Specialty: African American history; Asbestos; Census; Congressional records; Court records; Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom records; Diplomatic records; Intelligence records; Labor and Business History; Legislative histories; Litigation-related researcher; Transportation records; Military records; Native American relations records
About: Litigation-related research into a wide range of textual and non-textual records. Environmental site history, legislative histories, and Holocaust related records research are only a few of the areas where we have focused.

Kevin W. Martin
1736 13th St
Washington, DC 20009
Telephone: 812-361-5328
E-mail: kevinwmartin@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Cold War, US-Middle East relations, Syria

Thomas Culbert
73 Fendall Ave
Alexandria, VA 22304
Telephone: (703) 629-2118
E-mail: tcairc@mac.com
Research Specialty: Military history; Department of State; FAA and CAB, OSS, CIA, other US government agencies

Kevin Morrow
Ab Initio Archives Research, LLC
1403 Pathfinder Lane
McLean, VA 22101
Telephone: (703) 439-8789
E-mail: Kevin@abinitioresearch.net
Research Specialty: Specializing in textual military and federal contractor records related to environmental remediation cases involving hazardous chemicals, asbestos, etc.; academic research concentrating on all branches of the military (World War I through Vietname); diplomacy and intelligence (OSS, State Department, Army and Navy Intelligence); Native American claims; captured German records; veterans’ concernds (medals, action reports, deck logs, muster rolls); photos (all military and civilian); aerial photos; maps (all military and civilian).
About: Independent historian/researcher. Former National Archives employee. Conversant in German and French; some Arabic, Italian, Spanish

Jeff Shannahan
Ancestry For Me
1735 N 1450 E
Provo, UT 84604
Telephone: (202) 568-4557
E-mail: ancestryformenow@gmail.com
About: Anything you want, I can find it. But I am in high demand. Any difficult problem I can overcome.

Margaret Johnson
MMJ Research
3200 Garfield St NW
Washington, DC 20008-3513
Telephone: (202) 669-7479
E-mail: mmj@erols.com
Research Specialty: Still picture research including photographs, cartographic records, microfilm, manuscripts, civilian and military textual records, and Presidential records.
About: 25+ years experience.

Satu Haase-Webb
Satu Haase-Webb, Independent Historian and Researcher
1334 A St SE
Washington, DC 20003
Telephone: (202) 257-6915
E-mail: satuhw@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: All media types-textual records, still images/photographs, video and audio recordings. World War II, captured German records, Holocaust, Diplomatic, military, intelligence records, African American History, Women, Immigration, Art, Social History (Labor, etc.), Cold War. Civil Rights.
About: On-site, 25 years of experience, former government historian. German speaker (native)

Heather Steele
The World War II History Project
1131 Tolland Turnpike, 0174
Manchester, CT 06042
Telephone: 760-452-7240
Fax: 760-557-2070
E-mail: heather@ww2historyproject.org
Research Specialty: Army, Air Corps, Navy; POW records; captured German records; French Resistance and escape line files; war crimes; photos; videos; unit journals; after action reports; mission records
About: Fluent in German, nearly 10 years of experience in College Park

Edward A. Singer
7512 Sweetbriar Dr
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone: (703) 203-7770
E-mail: edward.a.singer@gmail.com
Research Specialty: General Research, All Topics, Find and Make Copies.

Shaun S. Udrea
Udrea Research
PO Box 700512
Tulsa, OK 74170-0512
Telephone: (918) 409-0374
Fax: (918) 764-9723
E-mail: shaun@udrearesearch.net
Research Specialty: Any records available through NARA.

Greg Murphy
613 Blick Dr
Colesville, MD 20904-2904
Telephone: (240) 614-3455
E-mail: gscmmurphy@verizon.net
Research Specialty: State Department; Presidential

Kevin Leonard
The Leonard Group, Inc.
9364 Spring Water Path
Jessup, MD 20794
Telephone: (301) 776-9260
Fax: (301) 776-8962
E-mail: info@theleonardgroupinc.com
Research Specialty: African-American history, American military history, WWI, WWII, US Navy, US Army, US Air Force, 20th century American History, asbestos, captured German records, census records, Cold War, congressional records, court records, Coast Guard/lighthouse/customs records, diplomatic records, genealogy and family history records, immigration and naturalization records, intelligence, labor & business history/transportation/regulatory agency records, military records, Native American relations records, President Nixon, science, technology, natural resources & the environment, audio/sound recordings, cartographic/architectural/ships plans records, film & video recordings, still photos.

Cyndi O’Hara
1499 Limeport Pike
Coopersburg, PA 18036
Telephone: (484) 506-3536
E-mail: cyndiohara@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Historical CIA database CREST, OSS and military intelligence, Grombach Organization, RG 263, military records

Steve Greene
4623 Quimby Ave
Beltsville, MD 20705
Telephone: (301) 842-8923
E-mail: sgreene820@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Stills, recorded sound, moving images. The Modern Presidency
About: Retired NARA archivist

Susan Strange
Strange Research
PO Box 7165
McLean, VA 22106-7165
Telephone: (202) 320-2672
E-mail: strangeresearch@mac.com
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, still photographs and textual records - all subjects.
About: Full time on site research.

Donal J. Lewis
Udrea Research
PO Box 700512
Tulsa, OK 74170-0512
Telephone: 918-409-0374
Fax: 918-764-9723
E-mail: cody@udrearesearch.net
Research Specialty: Any records available through NARA. Will also do research in NARA affiliated archives.

Elizabeth Katheryn Gray
1606 Col-Mar Lane
Annapolis, MD 21409
Telephone: 301-768-2167
E-mail: cavepearl@hotmail.com
Research Specialty: All research topics
About: Former National Archives employee with 20 years of service

Juli Turano
6980 S Bannock St Apt 8
Littleton, CO 80120
Telephone: (720) 335-1970
E-mail: juli.belle@live.com
Research Specialty: Government(All) - Economics, Financial, Congressional, Executive, Judicial; Corporate - SEC, Intelligence, Lobby, Patents, Trademarks; Real Estate - GeoSat, Civil-Land, Taxes, Liens; Popular Fact Checking - Political, Current Events, Quotes; Historical, Ancestry, World Events

Donna Bergstrom
9615 Sutherland Rd
Silver Spring, MD 20901
Telephone: (202) 236-2692
E-mail: dbergstrom1@mac.com
Research Specialty: Military Records, CIA Records, Native American Records, Record Group 75, Treaties

Mike Constandy
Westmoreland Research
PO Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320-9804
Telephone: (202) 421-5151
Fax: (703) 317-1709
E-mail: mjc@westmorelandresearch.org; mconstandy@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Naval and maritime research for law firms in defense of toxic tort claims, asbestos, admiralty, ships logs and plans, and sea lane and terrestrial UXO. Environmental investigation and remediation. Legal, Congressional, diplomatics, and commercial research. US Army, Navy, Coast Guard, OSS, allied and captured German records to include textual, still imagery, cartographic, and aerial research.
About: More than 30 years experience at NARA. Extensive field research on behalf of the US and foreign governments and an admitted professional researcher at more than 30 institutions worldwide.

Jean Kelley
Windover Historical Research and Genealogical Services
5901 Montrose Rd N 907
Rockville, MD 20852
E-mail: jmkelley04@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: All Indian records (RG 75, RG 48, RG 279), All Indian Genealogy, General Genealogy
About: Specializing in difficult genealogical problems, documenting genealogies, and obscure research topics.

John F. Stampfli
306 Douglas St
Bakersfield, CA 93308
Telephone: (424) 333-1012
Fax: (424) 333-1012
E-mail: counterspook@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Intelligence, Foreign policy, Geopolitics, All media types

Megan Baker
1463 Greenfield Ave
Burlington, WI 53105
Telephone: (262) 492-5597
E-mail: plmomm@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Genealogy, World Wars I and II, European and German history

Paul D. Watson
Watson Research Services
PO Box 004
Glen Dale, MD 20769
Telephone: (301) 966-7780
E-mail: watsonresearchservices@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Photographs, film, textual, and special media; military, civilian, and diplomatic agency records; labor, business, and regulatory history. Particular experience with records of the U.S. Information Agency, Adjutant General’s Office, Panama Canal, Civilian Conservation Corps, and Universal Newsreel; African-American history.
About: Expertise in conducting research at government and private archives in the Washington, DC area; former NARA employee; former Naval History Heritage Command (NHHC) staff; MLS-Archives Specialization; Certificate in Federal Records Management.

Sim Smiley
Academic Historical Research
4469 Sedgwick St NW
Washington, DC 20016
Telephone: (202) 812-8466
E-mail: sim.smiley@gmail.com
Research Specialty: All textual, images and maps on WW2 and the Cold War. Special focus on diplomacy, the OSS (Office of Strategic Services), the FBI, the OWI (Office of War Information) and USIA (United States Information Agency). Many projects on Resistance in France and Italy. Also all military and Congressional records.
About: Former NARA volunteer and one of the compilers of OSS finding aids. 100% trilingual (with French and Italian) and able to research in other languages (Spanish, German, Swedish and Norwegian). Over 20 years of experience in customer satisfaction!

Mike Constandy
Deck Logs
PO Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320-980
Telephone: (202) 421-5151
Fax: (703) 768-6609
E-mail: mjc@westmorelandresearch.org; mconstandy@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Naval and maritime research for law firms in defense of toxic tort claims, asbestos, admiralty, ships logs and plans, and sea lane and terrestrial UXO. Environmental investigation and remediation. Legal, Congressional, diplomatics, and commercial research. US Army, Navy, Coast Guard, OSS, allied and captured German records to include textual, still imagery, cartographic, and aerial research.
About: More than 30 years experience at NARA. Extensive field research on behalf of the US and foreign governments and an admitted professional researcher at more than 30 institutions worldwide.

Dirk Burgdorf
AAA Research
21515 Manor View Cir
Germantown, MD 20876
Telephone: (301) 922-9610
E-mail: contact@naraexpert.com
Research Specialty: Specialist in Aerial Imagery and Maps (both U.S. and foreign), American Military Records, Captured German Records (SS, Wehrmacht, NSDAP, War Diaries), and German technical Manuals.
About: 30+ years of historical research experience, complete fluency in German, partnered with specialists in both Russian and Germany. First hand experience from personal visits to battlefields on both the Eastern and Western Fronts.

Keiko Winsch
802 Chalfonte Dr
Alexandria, VA 22305
Telephone: (703) 548-2635
E-mail: keiko.winsch@erols.com
Research Specialty: Any records at NARA. Diplomatic records, military records, intelligence, World War II, occupation of Japan.
About: 20+ years experience researching at NARA. Fluent in English, Japanese, French.

Shannon Bridget Murphy
2660 Petersborough St
Herndon, VA 20171-2443
Telephone: (703) 864-3099
E-mail: shannoninpapertrails@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Asbestos: Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records; Diplomatic Records; Family History; Immigration and Naturalization; Intelligence; Labor and Transportation; Military Records - Military searches including lineage and patriotic applications; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental Records; Audio and Sound Recordings; Motion Pictures and Audio-Silent films; Film and Video; Photo Stills and Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures
About: Acknowledged in "From Arromanches to the Elbe," by Charles More, published by Pen and Sword Publishing for research.

Ryan M. Curtis
Archive Research & Consulting Group, LLC
133 Main Street, Suite 203
Epping, NH 03042
Telephone: (603) 433-9000
E-mail: rcurtis@ArchiveResearch.org
Research Specialty: Asbestos Litigation - Navy & Maritime Records
About: More than 15 years of research experience with an understanding of the ways asbestos was used on Mavy/Maritime ships. We have researchers at the Archives every day to meet your needs.

John J. Dawber, JrJohn Joseph Dawber
John Joseph Dawber
737 Cedar St
Walpole, MA 02081-1524
Telephone: (508) 668-0524
E-mail: johnjosephdawber@comcast.net
Research Specialty: Intelligence-Military. Military History-Government Documents (NISPOM) & Small Arms. Videos of Historic Nature & Record Copies Supplied


Find a researcher by:


*Note:   Researchers for hire are not NARA employees. Any individual or company that does research in our holdings on behalf of others is free
to join the listing. For information on how to get on the Independent Researchers for Hire lists,
see the Opportunity for Independent Researchers page.

Inclusion on the independent researcher lists should not be viewed as an endorsement of the
quality of the researchers' work, and NARA will not be responsible for any arrangement made
with independent researchers. Such arrangements, including the character, extent, and cost
of the work, are purely private, contractual matters between the independent researcher
and you. It also is up to you to determine whether or not the researcher's experience
and qualifications meet your needs. Comments or complaints received by NARA regarding
any individual independent researcher on the listing will be forwarded to that researcher
for resolution.

Top