National Historical Publications & Records Commission

NHPRC Commission Members

The National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC) is a 15-member body, chaired by the Archivist of the United States, and composed of representatives of the three branches of the Federal government and of professional associations of archivists, historians, documentary editors, and records administrators.

Archivist of the United States, Chair David S. Ferriero
Representing the United States Supreme Court John S. Cooke, Director, Federal Judicial Center 
U.S. Senate Daniel Sullivan, Alaska
U.S. House of Representatives VACANT
Presidential Appointee Rebecca Hankins, Associate Professor, Curator, and Librarian for Africana Studies, Women’s and Gender Studies, and Arabic Language, Texas A&M University
Presidential Appointee Naomi Nelson, Associate University Librarian, Duke University
Department of Defense Karen F. Meyers, Director of the Executive Services Directorate
Library of Congress Nicole Saylor, Head, American Folklife Center Archive
State Department Adam Howard, Director, Office of the Historian
Association for Documentary Editing Michael Stevens, State Historian of Wisconsin emeritus and past president of the Association for Documentary Editing
American Association for State and Local History W. Eric Emerson, Director, South Carolina Department of Archives and History
American Historical Association William G. Thomas, III, Chairman, Department of History, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
National Association of Government Archives and Records Administrators Kaye Lanning Minchew, former Director, Troup County (GA) Archives
Organization of American Historians George Miles, Curator, Western Americana Collection at the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University
Society of American Archivists Dennis Meissner, former Deputy Director, Minnesota Historical Society and Past President of the Society of American Archivists

Read the Commission's Conflict of Interest Policy