Presidential Libraries

Press Secretary Transition Interviews

This office is one of seven White House offices identified by the White House Transition Project. These oral history interviews explore the organization and activities of these offices within the Ford, Carter, Reagan, George H. W. Bush and Clinton administrations. They also describe the transition experiences of each office.

(All documents are in PDF format )

James Fetig (1949 - )
Assistant Press Secretary for Foreign Affairs, and Director, Public Affairs, National Security Council (NSC), 1995-1996, Clinton Administration.

Ray Jenkins (1930 - 2011)
Special Assistant to the President, White House Press Office, 1979-1981, Carter Administration.

Michael D. McCurry (1954 - )
Assistant to the President and White House Press Secretary, 1995-1998, Clinton Administration.

Roman Popadiuk (1950 - )
Special Assistant to President Ronald Reagan and Deputy Press Secretary for Foreign Affairs, Reagan administration; 1988-1989, and Deputy Assistant to the President and Deputy Press Secretary to President George H.W. Bush 1989-1993; Bush Administration.

Peter Roussel (1941 - )
Special Assistant to the President and Deputy Press Secretary, Press Office, 1981-1987, Reagan Administration.

Margita White (1937 - 2002)
Assistant to Herbert G. Klein, Director of the White House Office of Communications, 1969-1973; Assistant Director for Public Information, United States Information Agency, 1973-1975, Nixon Administration. Director of the Office of Communications and Assistant Press Secretary to President Ford, 1975; Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission, 1976; Ford Administration.